We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Des Moines Downtown

Save
Share
Traveller (52)
Room & Suite (103)
Dining (69)
Overview
  • Excellent19%
  • Very good30%
  • Average26%
  • Poor17%
  • Terrible8%
Travellers talk about
AMENITIES
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Breakfast Buffet
Air Conditioning
Pool
Non-Smoking Hotel
Restaurant
3 Star Hotel
All hotel details
Additional information
Offers from Holiday Inn Des Moines Downtown
Special Offer: Book Direct and Save
Hotel deals
Offers from Holiday Inn Des Moines Downtown
Special Offer: Book Direct and Save
Hotel deals
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (296)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Des Moines Downtown
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
290 results
Traveller rating
59
80
76
49
26
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
59
80
76
49
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmercy hospitalstay at holiday innsconvention centerwedding receptionwells fargo arenapleasant stayonsite restaurantbed and pillowsfree shuttlean older propertylobby arearoom was largedowntownexpresswayihgconcertballroom
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
21 - 25 of 290 reviews
Reviewed 20 August 2017 via mobile

Stayed two night so we could attend the fair. Room average. The front desk nice but the bar service was terrible. We were waiting at a table to get service and the waitress never came by. She saw us and that was about it so...More

Thank sbezzole
Response from IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Des Moines DowntownResponded 18 September 2017

Hi sbezzole, Thank you for contacting us about your experience at the Holiday Inn Des Moines DTWN - Mercy Area. I am sorry to learn about your disappointment in the level of service received from some of our bar staff. IHG sincerely cares about your...More

Reviewed 4 August 2017

We were in town for a wedding and the guests of the wedding stayed at this property. Although the reception wasn't at the hotel, they were very accommodating to the large group of people staying at the hotel and provided shuttles to us to our...More

Thank gailpet5
Reviewed 24 July 2017

The room was facing the freeway and it was noisy all night long. The A/C worked but it pulsed on and off all night long and it was very loud, so had to get to sleep. We do not think the room was worth $150.00...More

Thank Major50
Response from IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Des Moines DowntownResponded 8 August 2017

Hello Major50, Thanks for opting to stay with us and leaving feedback. I am glad that you found our location to be nice based on your ratings and found our breakfast to be good. However, I regret to know that the air conditioning unit in...More

Reviewed 19 July 2017 via mobile

On a recent solo trip I unexpectedly felt very sick! With 600 miles in my trip left, I knew I needed to stop somewhere. I wanted somewhere that had a good name and a place where I felt safe. This place was it!! As soon...More

Thank sarahfrazier13
Reviewed 26 June 2017 via mobile

We were in town for a show and everything went well. We didn't spend a lot of time at the hotel so I can't speak to amenities or anything of that nature but their 2 room suite was amazing and made for a great nightcap.

Thank TKEIG847
View more reviews
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Pool
Room Service
Restaurant
Free Parking
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar/Lounge
Hotel Amenities
Room Service
Free Parking
Business Centre with Internet Access
Shuttle Bus Service
Wheelchair Access
Airport Transportation
Meeting Rooms
Laundry Service
Banquet Room
Multilingual Staff
Conference Facilities
Non-Smoking Hotel
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Dry Cleaning
Self-Serve Laundry
Room amenities
Air Conditioning
Microwave
Things to do
Pool
Restaurant
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar/Lounge
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Details
Price range
US$105 - US$208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Details
Price range
US$105 - US$208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (52)
Room & Suite (103)
Dining (69)
Pool & Beach (10)
Business Centre & Event Rooms (113)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
ronsus
26 June 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Bonnie B | Reviewed this property |
Parking is free if you are a hotel guest. There is a LARGE lot. I don't know where the arena is.
1
Vote
Eridy J
9 December 2016|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Denise S | Reviewed this property |
There is no hot tub. The pool is a decent sized standard hotel pool. I would guess that it was originally outdoors, but was enclosed several years ago.
0
Votes
Room Tips
"Elevators are slow so ask for a 1st or 2nd floor room facing the interstate which has the best view. Get..."
Read review
"Request room without the city view for a quieter room"
Read review
"I was in room 317 facing the parking lot, so if a view is important ask for something different."
Read review
"Avoid the freeway side on the south"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing