We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Des Moines Downtown

290 reviews
Save
Traveller (52)
Room & Suite (50)
Dining (21)
Overview
  • Excellent20%
  • Very good26%
  • Average29%
  • Poor17%
  • Terrible8%
Travellers talk about
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Air Conditioning
Pool
Non-Smoking Hotel
Restaurant
Free Airport Transportation
3.0 Star Hotel
All hotel details
Offers from Holiday Inn Des Moines Downtown
Special Offer: Save on Hotel Packages!
Hotel deals
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (290)Write a Review
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Des Moines Downtown
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
284 results
Traveller rating
58
77
77
48
24
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
58
77
77
48
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmercy hospitalstay at holiday innsthe shuttle driverwedding receptionconvention centerwells fargo arenaonsite restaurantfree shuttlepleasant staylobby areaan older propertynice lobbydown townroom was clean and comfortableroom was largestaff was friendlydowntown
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
11 - 15 of 284 reviews
Reviewed 5 September 2017

Noisy guests, beds sucks (slanted to the middle), bad pillows, guests were smoking in their rooms, dirty, and the management was very unhelpful/unfriendly after reporting loud guests partying in the hallway at 3am. Stay clear of this one! Wow, it was bad.More

1  Thank msifuentes
Response from GretchenT81, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Des Moines DowntownResponded 9 October 2017

Dear msifuentes, I am so sorry to hear that you were not pleased with your experience at our hotel. What you have described is not the type of stay we strive to provide every guest every day, and it does not meet our expectations. I...More

Reviewed 4 September 2017

We stayed at this hotel and found management entirely unresponsive to calls for help with a large and unruly group of guests. There was marijuana, swearing and fighting in the halls. After asking the hotel for help three times we finally called the police who...More

Thank David N
Response from IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Des Moines DowntownResponded 19 September 2017

Hi David N, Thank you for leaving feedback about your recent stay with us. Your thoughts are valued. I feel concerned that the service from our hotel staff fell below your expectations. It is our goal to meet your needs as a guest and I...More

Reviewed 25 August 2017 via mobile

Ceckin staff were friendly. We stayed in a suite which was massive and had two bathrooms. Room was clean and had a comfy bed. Breakfast buffet was standard selection and was very tasty and the hot items were actually hot. Overall the hotel could do...More

Thank Neil P
Reviewed 20 August 2017 via mobile

Stayed two night so we could attend the fair. Room average. The front desk nice but the bar service was terrible. We were waiting at a table to get service and the waitress never came by. She saw us and that was about it so...More

Thank sbezzole
Response from IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Des Moines DowntownResponded 18 September 2017

Hi sbezzole, Thank you for contacting us about your experience at the Holiday Inn Des Moines DTWN - Mercy Area. I am sorry to learn about your disappointment in the level of service received from some of our bar staff. IHG sincerely cares about your...More

Reviewed 4 August 2017

We were in town for a wedding and the guests of the wedding stayed at this property. Although the reception wasn't at the hotel, they were very accommodating to the large group of people staying at the hotel and provided shuttles to us to our...More

Thank gailpet5
View more reviews
PreviousNext
12345657
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Pool
Room Service
Restaurant
Free Parking
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Bar/Lounge
Hotel Amenities
Room Service
Free Parking
Business Centre with Internet Access
Shuttle Bus Service
Airport Transportation
Meeting Rooms
Laundry Service
Banquet Room
Multilingual Staff
Conference Facilities
Dry Cleaning
Self-Serve Laundry
Room amenities
Air Conditioning
Microwave
Things to do
Pool
Restaurant
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar/Lounge
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Details
Price range
US$116 - US$203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Details
Price range
US$116 - US$203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (52)
Room & Suite (50)
Dining (21)
Pool & Beach (7)
Business Centre & Event Rooms (22)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
ronsus
26 June 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Bonnie B | Reviewed this property |
Parking is free if you are a hotel guest. There is a LARGE lot. I don't know where the arena is.
1
Vote
Eridy J
9 December 2016|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Denise S | Reviewed this property |
There is no hot tub. The pool is a decent sized standard hotel pool. I would guess that it was originally outdoors, but was enclosed several years ago.
0
Votes
PreviousNext
12
Room Tips
"Request room without the city view for a quieter room"
Read review
"I was in room 317 facing the parking lot, so if a view is important ask for something different."
Read review
"Avoid the freeway side on the south"
Read review
"Ask for the parking lot rooms"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing