We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Des Moines - Northwest

Booking.comUS$123*
View Deal
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$164*
US$123*
US$164*
US$124*
US$164*
US$124*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Des Moines - Northwest
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

135 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Des Moines - Northwest
See the most recent reviews
Showing 135: English reviews
Burr Ridge, Illinois
Reviewed 8 April 2016

We just traveled through Des Moines and following a long day in the car we stopped at this Holiday Inn for the night. It was very clean, newly remodeled with access to a restaurant within the building. It was a very enjoyable stay, and we will definitely return. And easy on and off to I 80.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank deeda c
MikeH4Hol-Inn, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Des Moines - Northwest, responded to this review

Dear deeda c, Thanks for your wonderful comments. I am very glad we were here to take car of your hotel needs. Our Bennigans Restaurant is a hotel gem. And the hotel is so well situated for anything in Des Moines, as well as passing thru. We look forward to your next stay Warm regards, Mike GM

Denver, Colorado
Reviewed 5 April 2016

Clean and comfortable room. Very good free internet. Lots of parking. Bathrooms a bit small but adequate. This HI does not offer a free breakfast. Convenient location, lots of food choices in the area.

Review collected in partnership with Country Inns & Suites By Carlson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank k b
MikeH4Hol-Inn, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Des Moines - Northwest, responded to this review

Dear k b Thank Your for your comments - we enjoy reading and reviewing them. I'm very happy you found our Holiday Inn & Suites to be a great choice and everything was great for you. As a full service Holiday Inn we do offer our award winning Best for breakfast menu, just as all Holiday Inn's do. As far...

Seoul, South Korea
Reviewed 31 March 2016

The rooms at this hotel were average. The internet was really bad, and the "business center" was functionally useless. I needed to print a couple of sheets of paper, but sat there for about 30 minutes because the internet connection was so poor, the computers were slow, the printer was out of ink so had to start over on another...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank fojane
MikeH4Hol-Inn, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Des Moines - Northwest, responded to this review

Dear fojane Thanks so much for your comments, and appreciate your feedback, and heads-up on the business center computers. I have alerted the provider and the stations are now re-configured to the recent internet upgrade we just completed. Unfortunately that occurred during your stay with us. I apologize for the the inconvenience that it may have caused. Thanks again for...

Elgin, Illinois
Reviewed 20 March 2016

Stayed on 5th floor. Poor lighting in bathroom and room area. Bathroom sink area extremely small. No place to set down toilet articles. Price paid for very high for quality of room. Both the sink and tub/shower did not drain. Wouldn't recommend.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ladypatches2016
MikeH4Hol-Inn, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Des Moines - Northwest, responded to this review

Dear ladypatches, Thank you very much for taking the time to post your comments. We appreciate all feedback and take your comments to heart. I am very pleased that you found our service and sleep quality to be excellent. That is so nice to hear. With our recent 100% room renovation we did increase the lighting in both the bedroom...

Reviewed 12 March 2016 via mobile

My husband and I did a business show at the hotel. Our room was very nice with lots off storage. It was a fantastic bed...stress just melted away, great sleep! Pillows were wonderful! Really enjoyed our stay! Breakfast at adjoining bennigan's resturant really helped.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kathy N
Charlotte, North Carolina
Reviewed 22 February 2016

Have called down 2 times to complain about the slamming of doors and hall traffic noise. This will not be my choice in 6 weeks when I am back here in Urbandale.. Simply to many under age kids staying here with no supervision.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CDB492
MikeH4Hol-Inn, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Des Moines - Northwest, responded to this review

Dear CBD492 Thanks very much for your feedback. Yes there were a lot of High School kids in the hotel that night attending a workshop and conference here at the hotel. I will certainly pass your comments along to the teacher/supervisors that were charged with the responsibility of insuring their behavior. We certainly will take precautions before we would book...

Reviewed 25 November 2015

The staff were competent and friendly. The bathroom was small for a suite hotel. Window were dirty. The common areas and elevators had litter. Overall not a good value compared to other suite hotels we have stayed at.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Giacomo P
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Des Moines - Northwest, responded to this review

Dear Giacomo P, Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay. I am pleased to know that you found our hotel staff friendly. On the other hand, allow me to apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced, particularly with our housekeeping service. Please be assured that this concern will be looked into. Although...

Midwest
Reviewed 29 October 2015

We were traveling through the area, on our way home and had been on the road long enough for one day. I looked on Trip Advisor for a hotel in the area and found this one. I called to make reservations since we were only an hour away and that was an easy and painless process. Check in was smooth...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 4Meows
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Des Moines - Northwest, responded to this review

Dear 4Meows, Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We appreciate your nice comment about the pillow selection and check in experience. However, we’re sorry about the flies in your room during your stay. We will address this concern. We take all reviews positive and negative...

Buffalo, New York
Reviewed 23 September 2015

We stayed at this property 9/14, 9/15 this year. Our room was a king room on the second floor. Room was clean, bed was very comfy, nice big pillows, nice linens. We did have many issues during our stay: faucets nearly falling off, room not serviced while we were out, toilet backing up, tub drain running slow. Every issue was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CARLYBuffalo_NewYork
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 12 September 2015 via mobile

Had an overnighter here. Got to experience 3 rooms because of an unfortunate issue with the hvac system ( will be resolved, so don't let this keep you away from this really excellent property). I can tell you the rooms are beautiful, spotless and the beds are really comfortable. Everything about this property actually exceeded my expectations. Also, there is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Zentraveler_too

76 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (63)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (14)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Des Moines
0.6 km away
AmericInn Hotel & Suites Johnston
9.8 km away
Holiday Inn Express and Suites Des Moines Downtown
0.3 km away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#27 of 48 in Des Moines
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 km away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#30 of 48 in Des Moines
105 reviews
0.3 km away
Days Inn Des Moines Merle Hay
Days Inn Des Moines Merle Hay
#29 of 48 in Des Moines
452 reviews
3.2 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Des Moines/Urbandale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Des Moines - Northwest is located in the heart of Iowa, 1/2 block from Interstates 80/35 and Merle Hay Road in the Des Moines suburbs of Johnston and Urbandale. Within minutes of corporate locations such as John Deere Credit, Pioneer Hi-Bred, Iowa Public Television and Camp Dodge. Enjoy our indoor pool, hot tub and recreation area until midnight! Nearly 200 guestrooms and suites feature quilt-top mattresses, triple sheets and pillow menu. Executive-class suites are offered in several styles, from Junior Kings to the stunning Presidential Whirlpool with Rosewood conference table, bar and entertainment center. Hotel offers over 12,000 square feet of conference space, including 18 breakout meeting rooms. Meet in the elegant Iowa Boardroom or the Heartland Ballroom, which can accommodate up to 600 guests. From technical assistance and creative menu planning, to just a bit of reassurance, our meeting professionals can assist with the planning of your next best event! Enjoy complimentary High-Speed Wireless Internet service anywhere in the Hotel or restaurant. Local guests enjoy the extensive menu and friendly Irish hospitality of our Bennigan's restaurant. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Des Moines - Northwest

Address: 4800 Merle Hay Rd, Des Moines, IA 50322-1900
Region: United States > Iowa > Des Moines
Price Range: €104 - €186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Des Moines - Northwest 3*
Number of rooms: 198
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, IHG, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Hotel.de and HotelsClick so you can book your Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Des Moines - Northwest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Hotel And Suites Des Moines - Northwest
Holiday Inn Des Moines
Des Moines Holiday Inn
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Des Moines - Northwest staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Warsaw, Indiana

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Des Moines - Northwest staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Reservations insure quick check in”
yoshih853, 16 Mar 2017 | Read review
“great paring in the back. very safe area of town”
ChrisG00, 10 Feb 2017 | Read review
“This property is attached to a Bennigan's restaurant and has a pool and workout area...”
billw168, 1 Feb 2017 | Read review
“The pool and hot tub area is very relaxing”
cynderl2017, 23 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a ground floor if you need to walk pets.”
90kmeyer, 29 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$123* /night
View Deal
TravelocityUS$124
Hotwire.comUS$124
HotelQuicklyUS$164
View all 11 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates