We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Des Moines - Northwest

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Des Moines - Northwest
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

128 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Des Moines - Northwest
See the most recent reviews
Showing 128: English reviews
Glendale, Arizona
Reviewed 26 September 2016 via mobile

Great price, nice and clean. Close to all areas. AC works great in room. Not humid at all. Two easy entrances. Lots of restaurants close by. Freeway close for Ames, KC, Minneapolis and Davenport. Located on main thorough way. At at Mariano's.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chriss P
Batavia, Illinois
Reviewed 26 September 2016

We were on our way to Des Moines for a quick 2 day trip. This hotel popped up in Priceline and seemed to be the best choice. It was a very comfortable stay and quiet. The staff was nice, and there is a Bennigan's restaurant attached and you don't have to go outside to get there, definitely nice since it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JonBenditz
Iowa
Reviewed 22 September 2016 via mobile

We stayed here for our visit to the Iowa State Fair. It being a little farther away, we were banking on a pretty quiet stay, and it was, for the most part. Our room faced the pool patio and there were some late night party people making some noise. I chalk it up to the fact that it comes with...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank JessicaLeigh615
Poland
Reviewed 30 August 2016 via mobile

We just checked out of the hotel a couple of hours ago. I booked the hotel last Friday through the hotel central reservations system by phone. The lady was nice n helped us make a reservation for a room with 2 queen-size bed at $160 plus tax( member's rate) for the 3 of us including a 91-yr old MIL. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bunnybun
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Des Moines - Northwest, responded to this review

Dear Bunnybun, Thank you for being an IHG Rewards Club member and for leaving us a feedback. Please accept our sincerest apology for the experience you had during check-in and the noise coming from the air-conditioners affected your stay negatively. We understand the discomfort his has caused you. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide...

Saint Louis, Missouri
Reviewed 23 August 2016

We stayed in a family suite, which was very spacious and clean. Inside was a sink area, refrigerator, dining table, sofa-sleeper, chairs, TV and entertainment center. In the next room were 2 Queens, wardrobe, dresser, TV and bathroom. The bathroom was modern, however, the tub stopper was broken. Towels were always an issue, the inside could use some updating and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mipiace73
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Des Moines - Northwest, responded to this review

Dear mipiace73, Thank you for taking the time to convey your comments regarding your recent experience with your stay. It is wonderful to know that you were satisfied with the cleanliness of the room received and liked our pool facility. However, it is regrettable if the level of services received fell below your expectations. Your feedback is important to us...

Dubuque, Iowa
Reviewed 13 August 2016 via mobile

Rooms have been renovated, but poorly done with little thought to common sense and clean up. Paint drips everywhere, shower curtains too long and caused slip in tub, filthy grounds, no morning continental breakfast like less expensive Express, and NO QUALITY CONTROL. I took 2 minutes to wash the bath light switch that still hand paint and appeared to have...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Robert F
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Des Moines - Northwest, responded to this review

Dear Robert_Felderman, Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at Holiday Inn Hotel & Stes Des Moines - Northwest, IA. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We appreciate your nice comment about our front desk and room amenities. However, we’re sorry we fell below your expectation regarding the paint...

Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 8 August 2016 via mobile

I had a great room with a lounge area room with couch and tv separate from the bedroom. Nice fridge/freezer and micro. Also featured was a keurig. Nice room and clean. The fitness area was a little small but all machines worked and they also had free weights. Nice little room. Pool area was also pretty good. I liked that...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hostman1
Bismarck, North Dakota
Reviewed 22 June 2016

Block of rooms reserved for a wedding almost a year in advance...I confirmed them 3 times, every couple of months...got there and they were not near each other, never could confirm rooms for the entire party, and people with pets were treated poorly and placed on the 3rd floor. One of the groomsmen confirmed a late arrival...and they gave away...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank qbert_12
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Des Moines - Northwest, responded to this review

Dear qbert_12, Thank you for taking time to share your experience with us. I am sorry to hear that you did not fully enjoy your time in our hotel. We take comments such as these very seriously and would like to follow up with you. I have sent you a private message in an effort to obtain more information. I...

Omaha, Nebraska
Reviewed 26 May 2016 via mobile

Convenient location to restaurants and shopping, clean rooms. Pool is decent size, but not enough chairs for seating Enough area in lobby for people to gather. Breakfast is just ok and expensive!! Nice that there is a restaurant on site.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tiffanybrasch
Brecon, Wales
Reviewed 9 May 2016

As soon as you walk in to the hotel you realise this is a dated and old hotel. The carpet in the lifts was never clean during our stay and the room was in poor condition with fixtures loose or falling off the wall. Bathroom was dirty and bedroom was small and not fully suitable for a wheelchair user despite...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brecon_Man
MikeH4Hol-Inn, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Des Moines - Northwest, responded to this review

Dear Breton man, Thank you for your comments. I sorry to hear your stay was not up to par. The design and construction of our accessible rooms are submitted are initially reviewed by the local permitting authority, but then also submitted to our brand franchise for further validation, then subsequently inspected by both. The design and construction has been affirmed...

71 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (63)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (14)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Des Moines
0.6 km away
AmericInn Hotel & Suites Johnston
0.3 km away
Days Inn Des Moines Merle Hay
Days Inn Des Moines Merle Hay
#30 of 49 in Des Moines
435 reviews
8.2 km away
Super 8 Clive/W Des Moines
Super 8 Clive/W Des Moines
#12 of 49 in Des Moines
547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 km away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#26 of 49 in Des Moines
101 reviews
9.8 km away
Holiday Inn Express and Suites Des Moines Downtown
3.2 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Des Moines/Urbandale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Des Moines - Northwest is located in the heart of Iowa, 1/2 block from Interstates 80/35 and Merle Hay Road in the Des Moines suburbs of Johnston and Urbandale. Within minutes of corporate locations such as John Deere Credit, Pioneer Hi-Bred, Iowa Public Television and Camp Dodge. Enjoy our indoor pool, hot tub and recreation area until midnight! Nearly 200 guestrooms and suites feature quilt-top mattresses, triple sheets and pillow menu. Executive-class suites are offered in several styles, from Junior Kings to the stunning Presidential Whirlpool with Rosewood conference table, bar and entertainment center. Hotel offers over 12,000 square feet of conference space, including 18 breakout meeting rooms. Meet in the elegant Iowa Boardroom or the Heartland Ballroom, which can accommodate up to 600 guests. From technical assistance and creative menu planning, to just a bit of reassurance, our meeting professionals can assist with the planning of your next best event! Enjoy complimentary High-Speed Wireless Internet service anywhere in the Hotel or restaurant. Local guests enjoy the extensive menu and friendly Irish hospitality of our Bennigan's restaurant. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Des Moines - Northwest

Address: 4800 Merle Hay Road, Des Moines, IA 50322
Region: United States > Iowa > Des Moines
Price Range: €111 - €174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Des Moines - Northwest 3*
Number of rooms: 198
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, IHG, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Des Moines - Northwest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Hotel And Suites Des Moines - Northwest
Holiday Inn Des Moines
Des Moines Holiday Inn
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Des Moines - Northwest staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Warsaw, Indiana

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Des Moines - Northwest staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“great paring in the back. very safe area of town”
 of 5 bubbles ChrisG00, 10 Feb 2017 | Read review
“This property is attached to a Bennigan's restaurant and has a pool and workout area...”
 of 5 bubbles billw168, 1 Feb 2017 | Read review
“The pool and hot tub area is very relaxing”
 of 5 bubbles cynderl2017, 23 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a ground floor if you need to walk pets.”
 of 5 bubbles 90kmeyer, 29 Dec 2016 | Read review
“We stayed in a room facing away from Merle Hay Road -- very quiet”
 of 5 bubbles A1045IVjeanp, 18 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5