We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Des Moines Downtown

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Des Moines Downtown
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

952 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 944: English reviews
Start your review of Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Des Moines Downtown
 Click to rate
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Repeat customer, stayed many times here with my family. Great front desk, cleaning staff and breakfast. Only wish the self parking was still available across the street. They are doing construction and we used the valet instead. There is usually street parking available in the evening if there is not a big event going on in town that day. They...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank travelplanner2010_10
shammerman, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Des Moines Downtown, responded to this review

Dear travelplanner2010_10 - Thank you very much for the great review - truly appreciated! Sincerely, Skip Hammerman General Manager

Iowa
HOTEL’S FAVOURITE REVIEW
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I try to stay at Embassy Suites whenever I travel and this location did not disappoint. Centrally located in downtown Des Moines, it is within walking distance to many attractions and eateries. I was especially impressed with the customer service. Kudos to the entire staff. Our room was clean and comfortable and the bed provided a peaceful nights sleep. Our...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CubsFan-TA
About Hotel's Favourite Review
shammerman, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Des Moines Downtown, responded to this review

Dear CubsFan-TA - Thank you for taking the time to write a detailed review of your stay with us. Greatly appreciated! I am glad that you found all of our staff hospitable and that we provided outstanding service to you. I am glad that you also had the opportunity to enjoy our complimentary cooked to order breakfast as well as...

United States
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

service staff throughout hotel were very friendly. The flavor and quality of food at breakfast was great .. .omelet bar was delicious and flavor of biscuits and gravy was super. rooms were spacious too .....

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels
 Report
Helpful?
Thank John N
shammerman, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Des Moines Downtown, responded to this review

Dear John - Thank you for your business and the nice comments. We all look forward to serving you in the future when your travel plans bring you back to Des Moines. Sincerely, Skip Hammerman General Manager

Phoenix, Arizona
Reviewed 1 week ago

Overall a very good place to stay my only issue was valet parking is now the only option and it is $23 and parking is outside seems high considering its not even covered. Breakfast staff was friendly which was not the case in past stays at this hotel.

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Robert C
shammerman, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Des Moines Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Robert C - I am glad that you enjoyed our breakfast staff and the friendly service they provided. I am sorry about the parking being somewhat difficult due to the construction and development of the new city parking garage on the lot where we used to have our lower cost option self-parking lot. The valet parking we offer is...

Cedar Rapids
Reviewed 1 week ago

The amenities are great and the breakfast/reception is well worth the the little extra you may spend. Definitely recommend this hotel or any other Embassy Suites to other travelers. You will be happy.

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Angela L
shammerman, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Des Moines Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Angela L - Thank you for your business and recommendation. Greatly appreciated! Sincerely, Skip Hammerman General Manager

Walnut, United States
Reviewed 1 week ago

Great location for a date night. Enjoyed the complimentary cocktails and walked to a restaurant. Nice, clean, and comfortable rooms. Needed to leave early and they provided us with to go containers so we could partake in the complimentary breakfast.

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 647gwenb
shammerman, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Des Moines Downtown, responded to this review

Dear 647gwenb - Thank you for staying with us! I am glad you had a great stay and that our staff provided you with individualized service so that you could enjoy all of our amenities. Sincerely, Skip Hammerman General Manager

Des Moines, United States
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Pull out was dirty and new sheets for it were also wet and dirty. Beds hard as a rock. Charged valet and parked on street where we can park for free. Cleanliness could be much better. Hot water takes awhile to heat up. Closed hot tub but still advertised they had it.

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels
 Report
Helpful?
Thank amandawB320MD
shammerman, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Des Moines Downtown, responded to this review

Dear amandawB320MD - Thank you very much for your comments and feedback. Please accept my apologies for the poor Housekeeping Service you received. The is no excuse we simply should have provided much better service as we usually do. We continue to update all booking channels regarding the hot tub and have done our best to insure that no one...

Omaha
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

When booking our stay we were encouraged to book as many nights as we "may" need. Our schedule was not known until Andrea our booking. When we canceled the nights we didn't need our rates went through the roof. However, when booking, there was no mention of this possibility. The agent simply said, book what you need and cancel what...

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jori T
shammerman, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Des Moines Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Jori T - Thank you very much for your feedback. I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. The room rates of the hotel do change often and a change in plans and travel patterns and dates quite often does have an impact on the rates (up or down). We take great pride in providing...

Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Great hotel, Great Location! Very accommodating staff all very pleasant. Only thing was I thought it was a little pricey for the location it was in. Being in the Des Moines area I was surprised at how expensive the hotel was. However the cleanliness and hotel at least was amazing

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels
 Report
Helpful?
Thank juliasO5290VH
shammerman, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Des Moines Downtown, responded to this review

Dear juliasO5290VH - Thank you for the review! I am glad that you found our staff to be great as we take great pride in providing outstanding service to all of our guests. Sincerely, Skip Hammerman General Manager

Council Bluffs, Iowa
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at this hotel. It is conveniently located near everything that I needed while in downtown Des Moines. The accommodations were excellent, and I greatly appreciated being able to use the Digital Key feature at this property.

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels
 Report
Helpful?
Thank fletchman67
shammerman, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Des Moines Downtown, responded to this review

Dear fletchman67 - I am glad that you enjoy the Digital Key feature that we now offer for our Hilton Honors Members and that you also enjoyed all the aspects of your stay. I greatly appreciate your business and frequent stays. Sincerely, Skip Hammerman General Manager

205 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (131)
Viewed
Room/Suite (36)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (31)
Viewed
View from Room (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Other (35)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (74)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (21)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (8)
Viewed
Other (23)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Des Moines hotels
0.8 km away
Hyatt Place Des Moines Downtown
0.5 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Des Moines Downtown
1.0 km away
Des Lux Hotel
Des Lux Hotel
#7 of 49 in Des Moines
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Staybridge Suites Des Moines Downtown
0.9 km away
Des Moines Marriott Downtown
Des Moines Marriott Downtown
#11 of 49 in Des Moines
415 reviews
0.5 km away
Residence Inn Des Moines Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Relax in the comfort of the spacious two-room suites at the Embassy Suites Des Moines Downtown. Located close to the Iowa State Capitol, explore the trendy shopping and dining opportunities of the Historic East Village. Enjoy complimentary cooked-to-order breakfast and a nightly Manager's Reception. Elegant banquet facilities are available for weddings, business meetings and other special events. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Des Moines Downtown

Address: 101 East Locust Street, Des Moines, IA 50309 (Formerly Embassy Suites Hotel Des Moines-On The River)
Region: United States > Iowa > Des Moines
Price Range: €146 - €312 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Des Moines Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 234
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Des Moines Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Des Moines
Des Moines Embassy Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Des Moines
#3 Business Hotel in Des Moines
#3 Family Hotel in Des Moines
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Des Moines Downtown staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Des Moines Downtown staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“away from main lobby is quiter. Above floor 3”
681freds, 24 Feb 2017 | Read review
“top floor if you would like a good view of the city”
jessenaj, 22 Feb 2017 | Read review
“There are great views from the top floor!”
  • Nicely appointed kitchenette!
  • Very comfortable bed!
  • Comfy, cozy living area!
LakeshoreLady, 26 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Don't pay extra for the largest suites.”
cedmark3, 30 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Higher the floor, the better. Also, try getting a room facing the river or the State Capitol.”
Kashbcn, 16 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5