We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Days Inn Des Moines Merle Hay

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Days Inn Des Moines Merle Hay
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

421 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Days Inn Des Moines Merle Hay
See the most recent reviews
Showing 421: English reviews
Melbourne
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 December 2015

Room was clean and looked like it was just renovated. Has a indoor pool and hot tub. Free breakfast was good. Breakfast could use a couple more choices. Check in and check out were fast and both clerks were nice.

Helpful?
Thank John E
aminalka0403, General Manager at Days Inn Des Moines Merle Hay, responded to this review

The entire team at Days Inn Merle Hay-Des Moines, IA would like to thank you for your comments and business. Our goal is to provide a full-service experience with an emphasis on providing excellent guest service and creating an exceptional experience for our guests. We are very pleased and grateful for such a positive feedback surrounding our services and great... More 

Forsyth, Missouri
Level Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed 29 November 2015

We booked for four nights two double rooms adjoining, we arrived a day early and had no problems checking in right away. Check in was pleasant, front desk staff members were very nice. Rooms were very clean and comfortable, hotel is older but going through renovations now. Indoor pool and hot tub were great! Breakfast was alright, really helps save... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rachel W
aminalka0403, General Manager at Days Inn Des Moines Merle Hay, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of our Days Inn Merle Hay in Des Moines, Iowa. We are very pleased and grateful for such a positive feedback surrounding our services and great amenities that our hotel offers. Our greatest compliment is for you to return to us for the best Value under the sun. We hope to see you soon. Alma... More 

Arthur, Iowa
1 review
Reviewed 16 November 2015

Stunk, cigarette butts in hallways, garbage everywhere, light in bathroom didnt work. Cancelled our room for no reason and didn't notify us thankfully got that worked out. Arcade stole my money internet didn't work

Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Helpful?
Thank 967caitlinm
aminalka0403, General Manager at Days Inn Des Moines Merle Hay, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experiences. We are truly sorry to hear of your unsatisfactory experience during your stay. It is unfortunate when situations like this arise. I am sorry that we did not get a notification about these issues and missed the opportunity to correct these issues during your stay. Our team members and management are always willing and... More 

Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 1 November 2015 via mobile

Family was having a gift opening after a wedding the following morning and the front desk told all of us to "get out" because they "needed to clean the lounge". I don't recomend Days Inn, Des Moines where they are rude to paying customers and put other priorities infront of making their customers happy.

Helpful?
Thank Anonymous2024
aminalka0403, General Manager at Days Inn Des Moines Merle Hay, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. I apologize for your dissatisfaction with our guest service. We strive to exceed our guest’s expectations. However, we also realize that some of our guests may not be completely impressed and this is why our operations team continuously review service opportunities to evolve our processes so we may exceed our guest service and customer expectations.... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 October 2015

The staff that checked us in couldn't have been nicer..Went shopping,came up for doctor appointment.Got to our room around 10 p.m. stayed up,took showers,had my granddaughter and her mom with me.I ALWAYS sleep with my T.V. on at home,in my bedroom.And always have a window open.Did a glove test on a few things in the room,and it was not very... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank 559dennisd
aminalka0403, General Manager at Days Inn Des Moines Merle Hay, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback and comments. This hotel is a 100% non- smoking facility and unfortunately when those rooms or public areas are smoked in, we must get them professional cleaned so the next guest would not have to endure the smell of cigarette. As discussed during those several conversations with you, those cleaning services cost lot of money... More 

Emporia, Kansas
1 review
Reviewed 18 October 2015

I booked the room on line for a specific price for a non smoking room and one queen bed, when I arrived, there were no rooms with one queen bed left. I was told that there is a non smoking room with two queen beds but it costs more. I explained that I didn't think I should have to pay... More 

Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Helpful?
Thank rosieb85
aminalka0403, General Manager at Days Inn Des Moines Merle Hay, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We apologize for the dissatisfaction of your stay. We take the time to listen to constructive comments so we can continually improve our services. When reservations are made at third party websites, it is not in hotel's control to make any changes. I am not sure why that third party... More 

20 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Des Moines
0.3 km away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#26 of 48 in Des Moines
92 reviews
0.7 km away
AmericInn Hotel & Suites Johnston
8.0 km away
Travelodge Des Moines IA
Travelodge Des Moines IA
#30 of 48 in Des Moines
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.0 km away
Days Inn & Suites Des Moines Airport
8.0 km away
Baymont Inn & Suites Des Moines North
0.3 km away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Des Moines - Northwest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Conveniently Located 1 Mile From Merle Hay Hall And Close To Restaurants And Theatres Enjoy your Heartland stop at our Days Inn Des Moines / Merle Hay hotel near Living History Farms. Located just off Interstate 35 / 80 in the northwestern corner of the city, our Des Moines, IA, hotel offers easy access to Saylorville Lake and downtown while providing comfortable accommodations at a great rate. Swim in the indoor pool, soak in the whirlpool or play games in the two-story game room before grabbing an evening drink in the on-site lounge, Derry's. In-room amenities include free Wi-Fi Internet access, microwave and refrigerator. Handicapped-accessible rooms are available, and kids 17 and under stay free with an adult at our hotel in Des Moines, Iowa. Start your day with free Daybreak continental breakfast before heading out. LOCAL ATTRACTIONS From our Des Moines, IA, hotel, you can stroll The Principal Riverwalk - a recently completed project that includes trails, a garden and skating plaza along the Des Moines River - or walk through Pappajohn Sculpture Park. Slide down the water rides and roller coasters at Adventureland amusement park, just 15 minutes west of our hotel in Altoona, or indulge in some adult fun at Prairie Meadows racetrack and casino, also in Altoona. Spend a day on the water at Saylorville Lake or Grays's lake for slower-paced activities like fishing, hiking and boating. DINING OPTIONS There are over a dozen restaurants to choose from within a mile of our Des Moines, IA, hotel, including Bennigan's, Perkins, Felix & Oscars and Carlos O'Kelly's Mexican Cafe. Head to downtown hotspots in the revitalized East Village area or near the Iowa Events center for dozens more options. BUSINESS AND EVENT FACILITIES We offer meeting space for your upcoming event, as well as copy and fax services. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Days Inn Des Moines Merle Hay

Address: 4845 Merle Hay Rd, Des Moines, IA 50322-1949
Region: United States > Iowa > Des Moines
Price Range: €56 - €83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Des Moines Merle Hay 2*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Days Inn Des Moines Merle Hay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn - Des Moines Merle Hay Hotel Des Moines
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Days Inn Des Moines Merle Hay staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Lake Geneva, Wisconsin
5 months ago
Waterloo, Iowa

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Days Inn Des Moines Merle Hay staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Recommend on the far side, away from the highway.”
 of 5 bubbles TravellingGiulia, 28 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Only as a last resort. Breakfast is a redeeming quality!”
 of 5 bubbles 453genea, 6 Sep 2016 | Read review
“If you want the low prices, book early so you can request a room away from the lounge.”
 of 5 bubbles 52scotte, 30 May 2016 | Read review
“Our room was next to vending and still very quiet”
 of 5 bubbles ColemanRanch, 5 May 2016 | Read review
“Inspect the room before unpacking the family”
 of 5 bubbles FantasticFourLG, 30 Aug 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay