We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sterling Hotel and Suites

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Sterling Hotel and Suites
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

196 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Sterling Hotel and Suites
See the most recent reviews
Showing 196: English reviews
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 9 October 2016

We travelled across the country, NY to CA in 6 days and this was one of the better hotels we stayed at. The common areas felt fresh and newly decorated and although the rooms felt a little tired, they were fresh and clean. The only drawback was room location for me as looking out on the 80 made it a... More 

Helpful?
Thank iabug
Matt E, Manager at Sterling Hotel and Suites, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. We are glad to read that you enjoyed your stay, the local restaurants and the partnership we have with a local fitness center. We hope to welcome you back during your next trip to the area. More 

Odessa, Missouri
1 review
Reviewed 8 October 2016

This motel is easy access from the freeway and 10 minutes from the Des Moines event center. The staff is friendly and accommodating. The facility is very clean and well kept for an older building. The complimentary breakfast good, and all suites are equipped with a full size refrigerator, stove, microwave, cooking and eating utensils. The large flat screen TV... More 

Helpful?
Thank dtillytwo
Matt E, Manager at Sterling Hotel and Suites, responded to this review

Good Morning, We are glad that we were able to make your your day. We hope that we can welcome you again during your next trip to the area. More 

Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
261 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2016

This place had good reviews, but let me start with the basics: this isn't a hotel. This is a former apartment complex that is now rented out nightly. So basically imagine a suburban apartment complex that was built in the early 80s, and you basically have this place. Is that a bad thing? Not if you're traveling with family and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jsleos
Matt E, Manager at Sterling Hotel and Suites, responded to this review

Good Morning, We apologize that we were unable to meet your expectations. We hope that during the stay you reached out to our front desk so that we had a change to move you to a different room. We always have been and exterior hotel and this location never was a apartment complex. More 

Travellers are raving about these Clive hotels

Lawrence, Kansas
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2016 via mobile

We picked this hotel based on reviews-but found the decision a mistake. We could have been in a bad room but based on the overall complex being run down I don't believe our room was an isolated case. As other posters have mentioned the furnishings are very outdated in the rooms. We first walked into the room and found a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Chairman_Wevy
Matt E, Manager at Sterling Hotel and Suites, responded to this review

Good Morning, Please accept my apologize for your stay. It's sounds like this room should have never been placed by our maintenance and housekeeping department in vacant and clean. I will take the proper actions to prevent this from happening again. More 

1 review
Reviewed 29 August 2016

we had a wonderful room across from the dinning room which was so nice for two old folgies with bad knees and back. the breakfast was delicious and the worker Saturday morning was so friendly. It makes our stay so enjoyable when we have nice people to deal with. Thank-you for allowing us to stay there. We look forward to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Connie V
Matt E, Manager at Sterling Hotel and Suites, responded to this review

Connie, we would like to thank you for selecting our hotel. We really appreciated you as a guest and we hope to welcome you back during your next visit to the Des Moines Area. More 

IA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 August 2016 via mobile

Great place to stay, definitely exceeded our expectations! The room was large and in great shape. Very clean, the bed was very comfortable. Our kids enjoyed the outdoor pool. Breakfast was good. A lot of choices to eat close by. We will definitely be staying here again, as we are in the area often.

Helpful?
Thank ggg3IA
Matt E, Manager at Sterling Hotel and Suites, responded to this review

Good morning, We are glad to read that you enjoyed your stay and the area. We hope to welcome you back soon and have a wonderful day. More 

Van Horne, Iowa
Level Contributor
41 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2016 via mobile

I liked the layout of my room. Full sized fridge and stove. This bed was was most comfortable. The internet is the only thing that was subpar. I like to use Netflix and Vudu but movies wouldn't load. All other browsing was slow too. Applebee's and Chilis nearby.

Helpful?
Thank johnie226
Matt E, Manager at Sterling Hotel and Suites, responded to this review

Good Morning, We apologize that our WiFi speeds were to low for the use of netflix and Vudu. Due to the high volumes of data user we were unable to keep the internet speeds up . More 

Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
99 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2016

This place was very unique in terms of hotels, in a good way. First of all the layout is very cool with many little buildings and a really nice outdoor pool/hot tub. The rooms were excellent for the price. Full kitchen with stove, fridge, massive counter tops. you have a nice living room / bedroom. The only thing that was... More 

Helpful?
Thank TrooperMax
Matt E, Manager at Sterling Hotel and Suites, responded to this review

Good Morning Troopermax, Thank you so much for your feedback. I will share your review with our owners. We hope to welcome you back in the near future. More 

Rahway, New Jersey
Level Contributor
63 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2016

You could either say this is a nice size hotel room or a small studio. Its good for a long term or short stay. Its better to stay weekly cause you'll get a better deal. I would definately recommend this spot. Close to all shopping/restaurants, nice comfortable room, pleasant courteous staff and very good wifi

Helpful?
Thank TOMMY C
Matt E, Manager at Sterling Hotel and Suites, responded to this review

Good Morning Tommy, we are glad to read that you had a pleasant stay with us. We hope you will select us again in the near future. More 

Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2016

We booked this hotel based on the picture of the lovely bedroom scene, price and location. Upon arrival, the reality became apparent. This is at best a one-star, perhaps 1.5 star venue. The suites are very old and poorly maintained (our first clue was the very dirty, stained door with the wood-rotted frame. We encountered deeply water-stained carpeting, stained bedcovers,... More 

Helpful?
Thank beaner1138
Matt E, Manager at Sterling Hotel and Suites, responded to this review

Good Morning, We sincerely apologize for any convenience during your stay and we hope that you reached out to our front desk after you checked in, so that we had the change to move you to a different room. I will share you review with our owners. More 

122 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (66)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (43)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (56)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (30)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clive
0.5 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Des Moines West
0.1 km away
Wildwood Lodge
Wildwood Lodge
#3 of 8 in Clive
243 reviews
0.1 km away
Super 8 Clive/W Des Moines
Super 8 Clive/W Des Moines
#10 of 48 in Des Moines
532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Des Moines-West-Clive
0.3 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Des Moines West Inn & Suites
0.1 km away
Courtyard Des Moines West/Clive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Sterling Hotel and Suites guests can expect excellent service and superior amenities. Relax in our spacious suites with the amenities that will provide both business and leisure travelers all the comforts of home. We include a complimentary hot breakfast, high-speed wireless internet service, on-site laundry facility and fully equipped kitchens. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sterling Hotel and Suites

Address: 11428 Forest Ave, Clive, IA 50325 (Formerly Chase Suite Hotel Des Moines)
Region: United States > Iowa > Clive
Price Range: €64 - €88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sterling Hotel and Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 112
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Sterling Hotel and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chase Hotel Clive
Chase Hotel Des Moines
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Sterling Hotel and Suites staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Sterling Hotel and Suites staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Check for groupons”
 of 5 bubbles intheknowtoo, 17 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Stay away from rooms facing the i-80”
 of 5 bubbles iabug, 9 Oct 2016 | Read review
“very quiet neighborhood with dining options within walking distance, but the upper floor is not accesable by elevator, stairs only.”
 of 5 bubbles dtillytwo, 8 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Stay away from the pool”
 of 5 bubbles Jsleos, 12 Sep 2016 | Read review
“friendly people and we liked the kitchenetts in our room for our cold things.”
 of 5 bubbles conniev565, 29 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay