We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Sterling Hotel and Suites

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Sterling Hotel and Suites
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

203 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 203: English reviews
Start your review of Sterling Hotel and Suites
 Click to rate
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here with my mom because I had a doctor appointment in the area. We had previously stayed at the Homewood Suites and couldn't afford it for this trip. We loved this cute little place. Loved the studio apartment feel. Loved the price. Needed some updates but would definitely stay here again!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shauna S
Matt E, Manager at Sterling Hotel and Suites, responded to this review

Good morning, thank you so much for your review and we would like to wish you a wonderful day.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Wonderful!! We were amazed with the king size suite. Well worth the money. A bdrm, living room,fireplace, kitchen,and full bathroom. Plus an upatairs bedroom with another full bathroom. Will definetly be coming to stay again soon.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Danny D
Matt E, Manager at Sterling Hotel and Suites, responded to this review

Good morning Danny, Thank you so much for your wonderful review and have a great day.

iowa
Reviewed 2 January 2017

Had not stayed for several years. Not as nice as I remembered. We had two Penthouse suites. One recently remodeled was wonderful. Other one not so much. Holes in furniture, food on wall, needs new paint and flooring. Very poor condition. Front staff was great on phone and in person. Problem was one of our room was not ready until...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kennedy05Iowa
Matt E, Manager at Sterling Hotel and Suites, responded to this review

Good Morning Kennedy, Please accept our apologize for the inconvenience you had with the room. It took our staff longer to clean all the rooms due to extreme high last minute volume of reservation around New Years Eve. Our owners are finalizing a remodel plan for the hotel and we will start shortly with the remodel process for the next...

Frisco, Texas
Reviewed 28 December 2016

Booked this hotel through Hotwire as a 3 star suite hotel in Clive. This is an old apartment complex made into 'hotel suites'. First impression was the threshold, very nasty looking, looked moldy - not clean. The room had an odor, the carpet had a big rip in the middle of the room. This is more of a 2 star...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kakkck
Matt E, Manager at Sterling Hotel and Suites, responded to this review

Good Morning Kakkck, we are sorry to hear that we were unable to meet your expectations. Our owners are finalizing a renovation plan for the hotel and we hope that you will give us another change after the renovation.

Reviewed 27 December 2016 via mobile

We stayed here last weekend for 4 nights. Great rate for a spacious room. Kitchen was a big plus. We made Christmas dinner and had the family over. Hotel is showing its age a little but still very clean and comfy. Location next to the interstates made it very convient to get to Ankeny and downtown to visit family. This...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Soonergolfer
Matt E, Manager at Sterling Hotel and Suites, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review and we would like to wish you a happy New Year.

Charlotte Amalie, null, United States
Reviewed 20 December 2016

The property was clean and situated conveniently to interstates, shopping and restaurants. The weekly free breakfast was nice but nothing special. There was eggs or biscuits and gravy on the weekends. Coffee and cookies were available 24/7 . We had a two bedroom which was perfect for our extended family and nice to have a living room and kitchen to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Debra G
Matt E, Manager at Sterling Hotel and Suites, responded to this review

Good morning Debra, Thank you so much for your review. I will share your review with our operation manager and housekeeping manager so that we can make the proper changes in our housekeeping department. The hotel is under going a lot of changes to improve the services since it's under new management. We would like to wish you a wonderful...

Saint Paul, Minnesota
Reviewed 14 December 2016

This hotel was more than adequate for the price and location. The staff was excellent and was very responsive and helpful when we had a major medical emergency. That fact alone makes this hotel above average. The property was originally a Residence Inn - that fact is obvious by the building styles. It is older, has changed owners/management a few...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank artm1
Matt E, General Manager at Sterling Hotel and Suites, responded to this review

Good Morning, I would like to thank you for your review. We did what we had to do as management during an major medical emergency and we were glad to see that the guest with the emergency walked in the club house the next day. We hope to welcome you all back in the hotel and we would like to...

Des Moines, Iowa
Reviewed 2 December 2016

Stayed for 1.5 months in April/May 2016 while between homes. Hard to beat for the price at about $62/night, although was hoping for better rate for long term stay. Nice room with plenty of room, comfortable bed, kitchen, & small couch/chair that wasn't very comfortable, but swivel TV allowed me to lay in bed and watch. Overall quite satisfied. Breakfast...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Warren J
Matt E, Manager at Sterling Hotel and Suites, responded to this review

Good Morning Warren, Thank you so much for your review. The hotel is under new management and we have made some staffing and policy changes to increase our services level. We would like to wish you a great holiday season.

Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 18 November 2016

Walked into the room and although it looked fairly clean, it didn't "feel" clean, which was then evidenced by the 2AM wakeup from being bitten dozens of times. Flipped the lights on and pulled the sheets back and saw several bedbugs. Night clerk apparently wasn't able to give a refund, he said to call back the next day. No real...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 9lennon9
Matt E, Manager at Sterling Hotel and Suites, responded to this review

Good Afternoon 9lennon9, We sincerely apologize for for what happened to you. Our Front Desk should have directly refunded you for your stay and I apologize that they didn't we tried to reach out to you and directly refunded the stay before we received the request from the third party, because we understand that this should never happen to one...

Amana, Iowa
Reviewed 13 November 2016 via mobile

We are in town for tax class and always stay here. Great price and value. It is not really a motel, more like studio apartment. Stove fridge small kitchen living room sofas king bedroom and bathroom. Clean and nice. Great value.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AmanaSH
Matt E, Manager at Sterling Hotel and Suites, responded to this review

Good Morning, thank you so much for your wonderful review. We are glad to hear that you really enjoy staying with us.

125 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (69)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (43)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (56)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (30)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clive
0.5 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Des Moines West
0.1 km away
Wildwood Lodge
Wildwood Lodge
#3 of 8 in Clive
255 reviews
0.1 km away
Super 8 Clive/W Des Moines
Super 8 Clive/W Des Moines
#12 of 49 in Des Moines
547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Des Moines-West-Clive
0.4 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Des Moines West Inn & Suites
0.2 km away
Courtyard Des Moines West/Clive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Sterling Hotel and Suites guests can expect excellent service and superior amenities. Relax in our spacious suites with the amenities that will provide both business and leisure travelers all the comforts of home. We include a complimentary hot breakfast, high-speed wireless internet service, on-site laundry facility and fully equipped kitchens. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sterling Hotel and Suites

Address: 11428 Forest Ave, Clive, IA 50325 (Formerly Chase Suite Hotel Des Moines)
Region: United States > Iowa > Clive
Price Range: €57 - €118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sterling Hotel and Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 112
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Sterling Hotel and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chase Hotel Clive
Chase Hotel Des Moines
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Sterling Hotel and Suites staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Sterling Hotel and Suites staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The Penthouse had two bedrooms and a living room, allowed the family to be together without having to move between rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles 45debrag, 20 Dec 2016 | Read review
“the "penthouse" units are great for groups of 3-4, but require going up one flight of stairs to the entrance”
 of 5 bubbles artm1, 14 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Check for groupons”
 of 5 bubbles intheknowtoo, 17 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Stay away from rooms facing the i-80”
 of 5 bubbles iabug, 9 Oct 2016 | Read review
“very quiet neighborhood with dining options within walking distance, but the upper floor is not accesable by elevator, stairs only.”
 of 5 bubbles dtillytwo, 8 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5