We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
UNDER NEW MANAGEMENT. Midwestern non-franchise motel. Room types available: smoking rooms, non-smoking rooms, pet-friendly rooms, and wheelchair access rooms, with Ground floor, front door parking. Offering free breakfast starting at 5 am. Extended stays available. Choose from Three room styles: Standard-two full-size beds. One queen bed or one queen bed with futon style sitting area. (Available on a first come first serve basis) The rooms have following amenities: microwave, fridge, hairdryer, coffeemaker, cable TV with over 60 channels.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Breakfast included
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Business Centre with Internet Access
Concierge
Laundry Service
Non-smoking hotel
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Wheelchair Access
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Microwave
Refrigerator in room
Accessible rooms
Non-smoking rooms
Smoking rooms available
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Budget
HOTEL CLASS
18Reviews
5Photos
0Q+A
1Room tip
Traveller rating
  • 3
  • 1
  • 3
  • 3
  • 8
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
I called to ask what the rate was and was given the rate (after I informed them of what date I would be staying there and how many people would be staying). While I was getting my card to book the room, after they knew what days I would be staying and after I verified the
Read more
Response from Natalia L, Owner at Hartwood Inn
Responded 27 Aug 2016
Your review was "deleted from here" by Trip Advisor because it violated their guidelines.
Read more
$40 Bucks vs $102... Just needed a room for a couple nights. No complaints. Mgr works hard to deliver on expectation of peace, quiet and functioning room... So there are nicer hotels in the area but you'll pay for it.
Read more
I booked a room here and when I cancelled the reservation I was still charged 10% of room for the inconvenience of the cancellation. The man on the phone stated it was to pay for the credit card transaction fee. WHAT A HEIST!!!
Read more
Response from Hartwood_Inn_Manager, Manager at Hartwood Inn
Responded 26 Nov 2015
Dear Suzette11464, We end up NOT charging you for cancellation. It is true that the company whose booking engine we are using charges us 10% per every online reservation regardless whether it was subsequently cancelled or not. If our attempts at renegotiating the terms of our contract with this company are unsuccessful, we will remove the option of online reservation and require our guests to book over the phone. Thank you for your review that only emphasizes the importance of resolving this issue.
Read more
Room was definately not clean. Floor, walls, bathtub, and carpets filthy. Smelled like smoke overpowering the room. Looks nothing like the pictures. We stayed one night because everything else was booked. Definately do no waste your time or money.
Read more
Awful filthy room. Front desk would not answer their phone when we called from our room. Holes and stains in sheets. Filthy shower curtain. We ended up buying Lysol spray and wipes to clean the room ourselves. Had booked 2 rooms long distance for a 3 day stay. The only
Read more
Album Categories
All photosRoom & Suite
Photo provided by managementHartwood Inn
Bathroom
"Ask for Heidi. She will make sure your needs are met."
PRICE RANGE
US$61 - US$87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United StatesIowaCharles City
NUMBER OF ROOMS
36
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing