We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Motel 6 Cedar Rapids - Airport

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Motel 6 Cedar Rapids - Airport
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]}}
Add Photo Write a Review

23 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Motel 6 Cedar Rapids - Airport
See the most recent reviews
Showing 23: English reviews
Cedar Rapids, IA
Reviewed 12 February 2016 via mobile

This place is overall a good value with the best staff around if you want a clean room at a good price. Told my family I was going to my boyfriend's Thanksgiving and he told his family he was coming to mine and we hid out here... peaceful and relaxing!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lunarnikki
Monica A, General Manager at Motel 6 Cedar Rapids - Airport, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing Motel 6 for your Thanksgiving Getaway! I am happy to hear that your stay was peaceful and relaxing. It sounds like your get away was a sucess. We hope to see you again soon.

Reviewed 20 January 2016

Let me start off by saying I work for a top ten company on the fortune 500 list. I needed a room for a couple of weeks due to a family emergency. From the moment I walked in I was greeted with smiles. The staff from the front desk to the housekeeping made sure to ask me if I needed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Derrick B
Monica A, General Manager at Motel 6 Cedar Rapids - Airport, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am happy to hear that we were able to made your stay a pleasant one. We strive to provide clean comfortable rooms for all our guests. Please remember Motel 6 for all our future lodging needs.

Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Reviewed 19 December 2015 via mobile

We needed a night away from the little ones and thought a Jacuzzi bath would make us feel refreshed. Check-in was effortless, price was unbeatable. All staff encountered were pleasant and helpful. Cleanliness overall was good, new bed spreads wouldn't hurt however. No continental breakfast, but for the price can not complain as there are many options on 33rdAve.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SumRandomChik
Monica A, Manager at Motel 6 Cedar Rapids - Airport, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am happy to hear you enjoyed your time away for a special couple get away. We look forward to seeing you again in the future. Thanks for letting Motel 6 provide your lodging needs

San Diego, California
Reviewed 17 December 2015

This was a great hotel, especially for the price. We thought all the staff were very helpful and friendly, and the whole place was well maintained and clean. We would definitely stay again in the future. It's perfect if you are just looking for a simple place to sleep!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Emily C
Monica A, Manager at Motel 6 Cedar Rapids - Airport, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing Motel 6. We strive to provide clean comfortable rooms and we are happy to hear we met yur expectations. I hope oyu continue to choose Motel 6 for your future lodging needs.

Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Reviewed 20 November 2015

I'm a cdl driver visiting CRST in Cedar Rapids, IA to complete my 3 day orientation. This is my first and the last experience to stay at motel 6 for the rest of my life. I was assigned motel 6 by CRST manager for my orientation in crst in Cedar Rapids, IA. The first night, front desk clerk just checked...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sajid S
Monica A, General Manager at Motel 6 Cedar Rapids - Airport, responded to this review

I apologize for the unprofessional behavior of my front desk staff. Our hotel strives to provide professional friendly service. I have addressed this situation with the clerk on shift that evening to ensure the situation is not repeated. Thank you for your feedback.

Reviewed 2 November 2015 via mobile

Overall, this motel is wonderful. The manager was working the front desk and got me checked in very efficiently. She let me know that my bed was one of the newly replaced. It was very comfortable. The room had a fridge and microwave that appeared to be newer also. The Wi-Fi was very quick and reliable. The room was very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca O
Monica A, General Manager at Motel 6 Cedar Rapids - Airport, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am happy ro hear we were able to make your stay a pleasant one. We hope you will continue to choose Motel 6 for your lodging needs.

Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Reviewed 30 October 2015

the staff at the motel 6 I stayed at was the best I have every seen and was great and the nices and sweets and most beautiful ladys I ever seen and I would recommend this motel to every one the place was realy clean and the ladys that worked there was so nice and sweet and was realy great...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank michael c
Reviewed 3 August 2015 via mobile

Horrible place to stay. Not by the airport at all. AC did not work in first room along with bodily fluid on the bed spread. Non smoking room smelled like smoke and had burn holes all over the carpet. Someone tried getting in my room 3 times. Was confronted outside by hookers and drug dealers.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Amanda M
Monica A, General Manager at Motel 6 Cedar Rapids - Airport, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We send our deepest apologies for your unpleasant stay. All of your concerns are being addressed and taken seriously. All of our staff strive for everone to have a safe, clean and comfortable stay. We hope in the future you will give us another chance to prove this to you.

Saint Louis, Missouri
Reviewed 16 May 2015 via mobile

So we were in a jam since we came to town thinking we were going to stay at a nice hotel only to find out it was graduation weekend. We called here they had rooms so we went. Pulling into the parking lot there was a prostitute sitting in the driveway smoking. Then you look up and see multiple people...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank asherdasher63
Monica A, Manager at Motel 6 Cedar Rapids - Airport, responded to this review

Please accept our sincerest apologies that your experience was less than satisfactory. It is disappointing to learn that we fell short of our goals in this instance. We appreciate you taking the time out of your busy schedule to share your concerns. I can assure you that corrective measures will be taken to prevent similar problems in the future. Please...

Roscoe, Illinois
Reviewed 30 March 2015

We stayed here when it was a Howard Johnson, but now is a Motel 6. Check-In was quick and painless. When we got to our room it was clean. NO smoke smell, toilet area clean and rugs vacuumed well. Very clean!! At night we felt safe. The front desk called about 10 min later to ask if the room was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TravelHelper4U

10 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (2)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cedar Rapids hotels
0.1 km away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#29 of 37 in Cedar Rapids
48 reviews
4.4 km away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#24 of 37 in Cedar Rapids
58 reviews
0.5 km away
Red Roof Inn Cedar Rapids
Red Roof Inn Cedar Rapids
#25 of 37 in Cedar Rapids
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Clarion Hotel and Convention Center
0.4 km away
Economy Inn & Suites Cedar Rapids
0.5 km away
Hometown Inn & Suites
Hometown Inn & Suites
#33 of 37 in Cedar Rapids
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Motel 6 Cedar Rapids is located less than a mile from Hawkeye Down Speedway and less than 5 miles from Cedar Rapids Convention Center, Bever Zoo, Westdale Mall, and dining. All guest rooms have an interior corridor access with Free Wi-Fi. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Motel 6 Cedar Rapids - Airport

Address: 616 33rd Ave SW, Cedar Rapids, IA 52404-3925 (Formerly Howard Johnson Cedar Rapids)
Region: United States > Iowa > Cedar Rapids
Price Range: €33 - €42 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Cedar Rapids - Airport 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Motel-6, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Motel 6 Cedar Rapids - Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Cedar Rapids Hotel Cedar Rapids
Cedar Rapids Howard Johnson
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Motel 6 Cedar Rapids - Airport staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Fontanelle, Italy
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Motel 6 Cedar Rapids - Airport staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“This is a totally unhealthy place.”
 of 5 bubbles jmvlv111, 9 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Ground level was not as strong smelling.”
 of 5 bubbles LynnRWMN, 26 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Room 137 is away from the exits and I find was very quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles TravelHelper4U, 30 Mar 2015 | Read review
3 of 3
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay