We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Holiday Inn Express South Bend / Notre Dame

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Express  South Bend \/ Notre Dame
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

123 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express South Bend / Notre Dame
See the most recent reviews
Showing 122: English reviews
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2015 via mobile

I typically stay here when I come into.town and never had a bad experience til yesterday. Mid day I stop back at my room to do some work and I find a cockroach running up my wall. I couldn't pack up fast enough and get out of there. They refunded me for that day and gave me 5000 priority points.... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Cindy H
Naperville, Illinois
Level Contributor
72 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2014 via mobile

Located minutes from ND and across the street from Bruno's (GREAT PIZZA), it's a good hotel. There was a small mix up at check-in and they upgraded us to a three room "suite". Breakfast was good. $115 was the rate we got online. Very comfortable beds and the room was pretty clean. Friendly staff. A good visit.

Helpful?
Thank Jon R
Lake Villa, Illinois, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2014

This is the worst Holiday Inn Stinks like mold Service is horrible No HD TV for the last year Owner Patel to cheap, how HI allows this guy yo oersted hotels is the reason I know longer stay at any HI Had to this time and it will be the last Pathetic Avoid this hotel at all costs

Helpful?
Thank Terry Kathy H
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express South Bend / Notre Dame, responded to this review

Dear Terry Kathy H, Thank you very much for your recent stay with us. Our hotel is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of product. I am truly sorry that you were not satisfied with the level of service and cleanliness during your stay. For this reason your comments are very troubling and will certainly be... More 

Travellers are raving about these South Bend hotels

New York
Level Contributor
53 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2014

Stayed here for a football weekend and paid $500/night. Pros: Rooms seemed clean, beds were comfortable and rooms were large. Cons: The front desk was never manned -- someone always had to appear from a back room. Our toilet flushed every half hour by itself all night long. I complained the next morning, the front desk sent the maid to... More 

Helpful?
Thank MaBell49
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express South Bend / Notre Dame, responded to this review

Dear MaBell49, Thank you for bringing this to our attention. I’m very sorry to hear about your experience on your recent stay. We would like to follow up with you. We have sent you a private message in effort to obtain more information. I look forward to hearing back from you very soon. Sincerely, Connie D Case Manager IHGCare More 

Detroit
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014 via mobile

I visited South Bend this past week and stayed at the Holiday Inn Express just off Notre Dames campus. I am a member of their reward program and always stay at this brand when traveling. I have always found them to be a great value with clean rooms and top notch service, this was not the case this time. First,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Gary2525
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express South Bend / Notre Dame, responded to this review

Dear Gary2525, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. It is good to know that you had a smooth check-in experience. However, I'd like to take this opportunity to apologize if the condition of your room prevented you from fully enjoying your stay with us. We have taken note of your comments and this shall be... More 

Bloomington, IL
Level Contributor
52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014

My family and I visted our son attending college and enjoyed our stay very much! The room was clean and the breakfast was free! It included scrambled eggs, muffins, yogurt, bagels, coffee and the like. We will definitely stay here again!

Helpful?
Thank lkwmson
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

This was my first stay at this location and it was not too good. On average I stay 8-10 nights per month at Holiday Inn Express hotels and this location fell well below expectations. Check in was very slow and while I will not blame hotel personnel for slow computers, they seemed to be quite unorganized. When I checked in... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ken S
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express South Bend / Notre Dame, responded to this review

Dear Ken S, Thank you for staying with us and we appreciate that you took the time to share your feedback. I’m very disappointed to hear about your experience on your recent stay with us. Please accept my sincere apology for the inconvenience the hotel location and service you received during check in had caused you. I appreciate you bringing... More 

Troy, Michigan
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

The interior of the hotel (lobby and hallways) is nice. Stayed in room 207 which was right off the elevator, but it was pretty quiet. It was a little more beat up and they hadn't fully cleaned the room. When I called, they quickly came to the room to take care of it. The room was spacious (we had a... More 

Helpful?
Thank mom2threeMichigan
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express South Bend / Notre Dame, responded to this review

Dear mom2threeMichiga, I would like to thank you for taking the time to leave us with a review regarding your stay. I appreciate the positive remarks on our spacious room and hotel interior. I do apologize about the cleanliness of the room upon arrival. However, it is good to know that after some initial issues, this was rectified quickly. We... More 

1 review
Reviewed 11 May 2014 via mobile

Although overall this hotel is very nice on the inside and pretty uniform to all holiday inn express hotels, it is not located in the safest of areas in South Bend. During our stay my father's car and my fiancé's car were broken into, along with seven other guests over night. The windows were smashed and valuables were stolen out... More 

Helpful?
Thank Laura H
kdmann0408, Manager at Holiday Inn Express South Bend / Notre Dame, responded to this review

Dear No Security, I thank you for giving your feedback on TripAdvisor regarding Holiday Inn Express South Bend / Notre Dame . It's unfortunate and very frustrating there were some very destructive boys on the lose during the Notre Dame move out weekend. I understand having your vehicle broken into is a very unsettling feeling. This vandalism is not typical... More 

Morristown, Tennessee
Level Contributor
61 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Very Clean and comfortable room. Excellent service and the queen double room was very spacious. In-room desk / work center enabled a good working enviornment. In-room refrigerator and microwave is a plus. Hotel location is very close to Notre Dame University and the South Bend Airport. Had a early flight the next morning so I wanted to stay close to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kyojin42
kdmann0408, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express South Bend / Notre Dame, responded to this review

Wow, thank you so much for the information given here. Holiday Inn Express South Bend / Notre Dame has many amenities we believe in assisting our guests in their stay. Starting your night with those IHG Rewards Points and starting your day with the Express Start breakfast, which has recently improved with Greek Yogurt and additions to the oatmeal station!... More 

27 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (4)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (23)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these South Bend hotels
0.9 km away
Inn at Saint Mary's Hotel & Suites
1.2 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites South Bend
0.4 km away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham South Bend/At Notre Dame
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel South Bend
1.0 km away
Staybridge Suites South Bend - University Area
5.3 km away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#9 of 29 in South Bend
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Free Breakfast
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located just one mile from the University of Notre Dame, the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites offers the perfect blend of luxury, affordability and selection in lodging. Built in 2005, our hotel features 85 impeccably designed guestrooms including one king or two queen beds as well as corporate-leisure, family, executive, and jacuzzi suites. As our guest, you will enjoy all the comforts of home right in your hotel room. All standard guestrooms and suites feature upgraded amenities such as free high-speed internet, hairdryer, iron/ironing board, coffeemaker, refrigerator, microwave, an oversized and well-lit work desk as well as a 32 inch flat screen television. The Stay Smart Experience featured in each guestroom includes incredibly plush and comfortable bedding and exclusive bathroom amenities such as Kohler showerheads offering extra water pressure. Our hotel also features an indoor heated pool and spa, fitness center, a business center, and conference facilities. Plus, jump start your day with our complimentary Express Start Breakfast Bar served daily in our breakfast room from 6:00AM untill 9:30AM. Conveniently located off the 80/90 toll road, Business 31/933, and central to area's major business districts and local attractions, we are your gateway to the South Bend and Mishawaka Area. Whether your travels bring you for business, leisure, or to cheer on your favorite sports team, our hotel is your best choice for lodging when visiting South Bend, Indiana. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express South Bend / Notre Dame

Address: 120 Dixie Way North, South Bend, IN 46637
Region: United States > Indiana > South Bend
Price Range: €91 - €172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express South Bend / Notre Dame 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, IHG, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Holiday Inn Express South Bend / Notre Dame reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express South Bend / Notre Dame Hotel South Bend
Holiday Inn South Bend
South Bend Holiday Inn
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Holiday Inn Express South Bend / Notre Dame staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn Express South Bend / Notre Dame staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Bring febreeze or a candle...not sure if it was musty, or needed a deep cleaning.”
 of 5 bubbles LisaR715, 26 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Great hotel, nice staff :)”
 of 5 bubbles ebandkidz2, 23 May 2016 | Read review
“We stayed on the 3rd floor and had no noise from anyone else staying at hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles marybZ9120YR, 22 May 2016 | Read review
“Smile! Be mirthful and jocular with the front desk staff.”
 of 5 bubbles GReatTraveler0128, 20 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Make sure there is enough light for your needs.”
 of 5 bubbles HershB_13, 11 Nov 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay