We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Ferntree Gully Motel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Ferntree Gully Motel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

50 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 49: English reviews
Mornington Peninsula, Australia
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We booked in as a group for one night and found the Motel close to the hotel where we walked and enjoyed conversation and a few drinks , some good coffee and heaps of catch up chat. The motel did not have a breakfast area or provide any meals on site (a breakfast pack was available if you booked directly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Eclectic E
Hobart, Tasmania, Australia
Reviewed 1 November 2016 via mobile

Reception staff (Julie) very friendly and helpful. Comfortable bed but room needs a good clean. The owners should seriously consider hiring a different cleaning service. A short walk to the pub next door.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Malcolm M
Reviewed 29 October 2016 via mobile

Visited with family. Nice view on mountain towards Melbourne city. But too much car park outside on the road. If weather is clear, it should provide a very nice view to whole Melbourne. Will consider to revisit.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank chunsingt2014
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 18 October 2016 via mobile

Reception staff were lovely and the restaurant deal was great. However.... this hotel badly needs updating and a good clean. We stayed here for 3 nights while our electricity was out. Wouldn't visit again unless absolutely necessary.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Thorva
Wodonga, Australia
Reviewed 5 September 2016 via mobile

Stayed one night here got woken up 3 in the morning with a car running and the driver yapping to someone else for an hour. People coming and going all night long. Ajoining Doors going into other peoples rooms not safe at all.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kris931
Reviewed 10 August 2016

The lady at front desk was so welcoming and helping me change rooms for my mother who was on a walker. The rooms were nice and cosy bed was so comfy did not want to leave was like heaven. Alot of things close by easy access.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Belinda F
ALHGroup, Manager at Ferntree Gully Motel, responded to this review

Belinda, Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. We are in the process of changing over all the beds, so I am glad you enjoyed how cosy and comfy it was. It is nice to hear the accommodation team could assist you in changing rooms for you mother. Warm regards, Kelly Mulqueen Accommodation Manager

Queensland, Australia
Reviewed 29 May 2016

All you can eat buffets are not my usual choice but had a very pleasant experience when I attended Feast with a family group including 5 children. Food was fine, and all the staff were friendly. Rachel deserves special mention , smiling, happy to be there and terrific with the kids. Review for restaurant only.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ganne053
Warragul, Australia
Reviewed 2 May 2016

Check in reflected the establishment. After making an enquiry as to arrangements for breakfast, was told a breakfast pack was available. Receptionist went to get one and came back to say that they had none available. On entering room, it was outdated and in a poor state. Beside draw had no front or bottom. Carpet had stains and room had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank iandebn
ALHGroup, Manager at Ferntree Gully Motel, responded to this review

Ian, Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. We are certainly not proud to hear of your experience at Ferntree Gully Hotel We are currently in the process of upgrading our rooms which we expect to be completed within the coming year.. Warm regards, Kelly Mulqueen Accommodation Manager

Moe, Australia
Reviewed 6 April 2016

We stayed here as we had a family wedding in Nathania Springs - I booked two rooms and we were very happy with our stay. Reception was not open but after we hit the buzzer the staff member who came and checked us in at reception could not have been more helpful. We were actually there earlier than the usual...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Katie3825
ALHGroup, Manager at Ferntree Gully Motel, responded to this review

Katie, Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback.i am glad that you were made feel welcome when you arrived and able to check in early. I am sorry the light interrupted your sleep , unfortunately it is there for security. Warm regards, Kelly Mulqueen Accommodation Manager

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 28 March 2016

Had to go to a wedding at the Dandenongs which means we had to drive an hour back to home on a Saturday night, so instead we made a decision to stay at the Ferntree Gully Hotel as it was great value for money and located 10 minutes from the wedding venue. I went to the Ferntree Gully hotel in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DrorCohen79
ALHGroup, Manager at Ferntree Gully Motel, responded to this review

Dror, Thank you for providing feedback from your stay in March We have renovated some of our rooms and are in the process of replacing all beds. The free parking is good with us having room for cars, trailers and trucks to park during their stay. Warm regards, Kelly Accommodation Manager

23 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ferntree Gully
0.5 km away
Lifestyle Apartments At Ferntree
Lifestyle Apartments At Ferntree
#1 of 2 in Ferntree Gully
82 reviews
6.3 km away
Golden Pebble Melbourne
Golden Pebble Melbourne
#1 of 3 in Wantirna
131 reviews
8.0 km away
Quality Inn & Suites Knox
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 km away
CountryPlace
CountryPlace
#1 of 1 in Kalorama
39 reviews
9.7 km away
Dorset Gardens Hotel
Dorset Gardens Hotel
#2 of 2 in Croydon
37 reviews
9.5 km away
Linley Estate
Linley Estate
#1 of 1 in Kilsyth
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Internet
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Ideally located at the foothills of The Dandenong Ranges National Park, the Ferntree Gully Hotel is perfect for those wanting a break from city life and to explore the many hidden treasures in the Dandenong Ranges. The famous 1000 Steps Kokoda Memorial Walk is just a 3 minute drive up the road with picnic grounds and numerous walking tracks. Our comfortable and affordable guest rooms are ideal for short and long stays. The hotel also offers a chance to relax after a big day of exploring with a Sports Bar and Dining Bistro. Our Feast restaurant offers all you can eat buffet. Relaxed and inviting, popular with locals and travellers alike, the Ferntree Gully Hotel is just what you're looking for! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Ferntree Gully Motel

Address: 1130 Burwood Hwy, Ferntree Gully, Victoria 3156, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Ferntree Gully
Price Range: €61 - €87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ferntree Gully Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Ferntree Gully Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Ferntree Gully Motel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“we had a room near a lamp which shone all night -try to ask for a room without a lamp outside the window .”
 of 5 bubbles eclectice2015, 3 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Restaurant revieww only”
 of 5 bubbles Ganne053, 29 May 2016 | Read review
“Look elsewhere”
 of 5 bubbles iandebn, 1 May 2016 | Read review
“One away from main road”
 of 5 bubbles FREEDOM0710, 5 Dec 2015 | Read review
“Our guess is that all rooms are all the same - poor!”
 of 5 bubbles R7731JBjohnw, 18 Nov 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay