We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Red Roof Inn Michigan City

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Red Roof Inn Michigan City
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

141 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
  • More
There are newer reviews for Red Roof Inn Michigan City
See the most recent reviews
Showing 136: English reviews
Reviewed 1 July 2015 via mobile

What can I say, it was clean enough, had free rooms and was decently priced so no complaints. With that said, it was in need of a refurbishment and that probably quite some years ago. But close to the off-ramp and some decent restaurants. Will I go there again? No probably not. Would I recommend it? No probably not.

Thank Bjorn_J73
Reviewed 7 June 2015

everything was up to par.great maids,great counter clerks.shannon is the best there,made copy's for my work and did'nt try charging me,red roof has my busness from now on,way to go red roof......................................................................................................................................................................................

Thank ronald a
Indianapolis, Indiana
Reviewed 5 June 2015

This is a very decent motel for a quick, one-night personal business trip. Dogs stay free, as well. Clean, comfortable, and cheap ($80 per night for two adults). It's definitely in much better condition than the surrounding motels look. Nothing was broken or disgusting. Pleasant.

Thank Pamela M
Livingston County, MI
Reviewed 3 May 2015 via mobile

Nice remodeled room. Pets allowed. Pleasant staff and room was very quiet. Nice stay. Bed comfortable and room was very clean. Great price for a Saturday night. No breakfast but there are restaurants nearby. I will happily stay again next year.

1Thank JTinMidMichigan
Reviewed 29 April 2015 via mobile

We stayed here the night before flying out of Ohare. The room was nice, beds very hard, and people a little shady. OK, for 50.00 and one nights stay. The gentlemen that checked us in was OK, not overly friendly but got the job done. Flat screen tv which was wall mounted. You can tell the rooms have been redone...

1Thank Shawnr80
Staten Island, New York
Reviewed 5 April 2015 via mobile

This motel is a dump. The bathroom was not clean and the we could not get the bathtub to turn into a shower. Also unlike other Red Roofs this property has carpeted rooms not the hardwood floors that are pet friendly If I ever come here again I will not be staying here.

3Thank Joe32348682
Casey S, Front Office Manager at Red Roof Inn Michigan City, responded to this review

Hello Joe32348682, I am sorry for the inconvenience in your room. The room was not finished being completely cleaned when you were checked in. This was addressed to my housekeeping staff and taken care of. Again i apologize for any inconvenience this has caused.

Reviewed 3 April 2015 via mobile

The hotel was very clean and very nice for the price of our stay. We were in a handicap room. Was very nice for a handicapped room. One of the best handicap setup room we have ever had. Only problem was we watch TV at night to relax and two of our favorite stations, one being ABC, was down. We...

1Thank Brenda K
Casey S, Front Office Manager at Red Roof Inn Michigan City, responded to this review

Dear Brenda K, It was a pleasure talking to you at check out. I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay. Unfortunately we were waiting on Comcast to bring the parts to fix the cable stations. We appreciate your business and hope to see you in the near future.

Reviewed 3 January 2015

Unclean, poorly managed, poor breakfast, smelly. There were some rough, noisey characters around, making the atmosphere unpleasant. It was hard to get ahold of management to address problems. It is below normal Red Roof Standards.

4Thank PaulBee
Casey S, Front Office Manager at Red Roof Inn Michigan City, responded to this review

Hello Paulbee, I'm very sorry your stay wasn't comfortable. I am on duty Mon-Fri 7-3 I never received a message to contact you. As for the breakfast, we don't serve breakfast. I can't find you in my history as well. If you would like to speak to me please contact me at any time.

Columbus, Ohio
Reviewed 26 December 2014

Pounding on my door at 10 a.m. -- waking me up -- refusing to let me go back to sleep. I explained to them that I'm seriously ill and instead of showing compassion they literally terrorized me for hours --- all because the phone in the room didn't work. (I had reported it when I first checked into the room...

4Thank Kendra C
Casey S, Front Office Manager at Red Roof Inn Michigan City, responded to this review

Dear Kendra C, I'm sorry your stay wasn't as comfortable as it should of been. We have made improvements over the last couple of months. Thank you again for staying at our hotel.

Manchester Center
Reviewed 12 November 2014

We spent last Saturday night here. Room was great, price was right and location is excellent. This inn is just off I94 and quite close to I80-90 so it's perfect for east west travel near Chicago. I made a mistake with my reservation and they were nice enough to not charge me for the no-show night. The Texas Corral restaurant...

Thank htrusmc
Casey S, Front Office Manager at Red Roof Inn Michigan City, responded to this review

Hello Htrusmc, I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay at our location. This location does have a lot of benefits from being close to the highway, to great restaurants around this property. So on your next travels we would like for you to stay again in our newly renovated rooms. Thank you Casey Strawmier

75 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (25)
Room/Suite (15)
Bathroom (6)
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (50)
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Room/Suite (13)
Bathroom (3)
Other (25)


  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
For shopping, gaming, or just enjoying the beautiful beaches, come to Michigan City. Lighthouse Place Outlet Mall, Blue Chip Casino, and Washington Park Beach are all within 5 miles of this hotel, while unique Indiana State Dunes are just 10 miles away. The excitement of Notre Dame University is 40 miles away, so come and enjoy. This Non-Smoking, Newly Renovated Red Roof Inn offers free WiFi and complimentary coffeehouse-style coffee and tea. Selected rooms at this Red Roof offer a microwave and refrigerator - a nominal fee may apply, please inquire. One well-behaved family pet per room is welcome. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Michigan City

Address: 110 W Kieffer Rd, Michigan City, IN 46360-9276
Region: United States > Indiana > Michigan City
Price Range: €55 - €114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Michigan City 2*
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Red Roof Inn, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Red Roof Inn Michigan City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Michigan City Hotel Michigan City
Michigan City Red Roof Inn
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Red Roof Inn Michigan City staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Stayed in room 233, it was what they called a supreme king room.. it met our needs, we had two small pets traveling with us.”
296sheilam, 5 Jul 2016 | Read review
“room 107 has bedbugs”
bogdanm935, 24 Jun 2016 | Read review
“nice and quiet for a good night sleep when you are travelling”
rickied415, 16 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Try to get a room away from the front of the motel if they have one.”
MarkS874, 22 Feb 2016 | Read review
“Superior King rooms are nice.”
wmyworld345, 9 Feb 2016 | Read review
5 of 5