We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Econo Lodge

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Econo Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

68 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Econo Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 68: English reviews
Reviewed 4 July 2013

The shower still has someone's soap and washcloth. No security chain on door. Electrical cover missing. Bathroom tile is grossome. No dryer or towel rack k in bathroom. No light cover on ceiling light. Hallway makes you I'll before you get to the room. Sorry I booked this place. Don't make the same mistake!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank vickieprince2001
Reviewed 30 May 2013 via mobile

After the terrible reviews I expected a house of horrors. I found friendly staff, huge room with table and chairs, nice couch and reading chair with coffee table, great bed, modern bathroom and immaculately clean. I could complain that one electric plug was missing its cover, and only one shampoo, or that the hot tub was gone and the pool...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Gegegoodlander
General Manager E, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the feedback. We are happy to hear that your stay with us has been pleasant. We appreciate your review as well and hope that you will be staying with us again in the future. Safe Travels!

Kalona, Iowa
Reviewed 27 May 2013

When I checked into this hotel, they asked me to sign a quiet policy that stated I would be responsible for any noise after 11 P.M. and if after one warning, I would have to leave. This policy made it a very quiet hotel after 11 P.M. Our room looked like the maid had forgotten to finish sweeping but the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mjescher
General Manager E, Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

We're very pleased that you were happy with the quietness of our property. I do apologize for the uncleanliness you experienced and I appreciate you bringing it to our attention so that we can make sure that it does not happen again in the future. We hope that you will be back to stay with us again soon. Thank you.

Reviewed 1 January 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for one night with 5 kids. Indoor pool was very cold and hot tub was almost as cold. No pool towels were available. Rooms were big and clean. Two queen beds in each room were comfortable and clean. Breakfast was very limited and was actually completely cleaned out and not serviced. After waiting, they eventually brought out more...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Flyhatch
General Manager E, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

I apologize that your stay was unsatisfactory. We are under new management now and we have made sure to pay extra special attention to all of our feedback. We sincerely hope that you would give us another try in the future. Thank you.

Merrillville
Reviewed 21 December 2012

I was appalled to see the garbage can at the front door overflowing with trash, which spilled out along the side of the entrance and onto the walkway. Filth also in the hallways and rooms! I HAVE PICS

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank laurie p
General Manager E, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

I apologize that your stay was unsatisfactory. We are under new management now and we have made sure to pay extra special attention to all of our feedback, yours included. We sincerely hope that you would give us another try in the future as we have made numerous changes since your previous stay. Thank you.

Saint Paul, Minnesota
Reviewed 20 December 2012

When my family and I arrived at econolodge,first impression.What did I get my family into?There was so many people in the lobby late at night,being very loud,using profanity as well.Being that this location is neigboring gary,indiana still I gave the benifit of the dought.HUGE MISTAKE!The room smelled horrible,the hallway was no better.The only good thing and I do meanthe ONLY...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Eve S
General Manager E, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

Myself and the team here at EconoLodge are very pleased that you had a great stay. We hope to have you stay with us again in the future. Thank you!

French Lick, Indiana
Reviewed 8 November 2012

Hubby and three other couples taking our vintage cars to a show. Nice clean rooms, great location and a very safe and well lighted parking lot with lots and lots of room. Arrived Friday night and left Sunday. Can't say enough about everything for the great price of $49.95. We will come back!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shirley L
Minnesota
Reviewed 23 October 2012

The old adage, "you get what you pay for" so often holds true with Hotels. Having said that, the Econo Lodge in Merrillville, OH was very good place to stay for the price. The room was clean and that staff was very polite and accommodating. Furthermore, the Continental Breakfast was really not bad at all for a low budget hotel....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank captkirk17
General Manager E, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your feedback. We are pleased to hear you were happy with your stay and the value. We hope to have you stay with us again in the future. Thank you.

Kalamazoo, Michigan, United States
Reviewed 7 October 2012

We had problems before checking in. The place was under new management and at first didn't want to honor a group rate for a block of rooms. Key cards didn't work and had to get replacements several times. My room was OK but not great. Ran out of TP and no spare roll. The "breakfast" was awful, so bad that...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ronald O
General Manager E, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

I apologize that your stay was unsatisfactory. We are under new management now and we have made sure to pay extra special attention to all of our feedback.. We sincerely hope that you would give us another try in the future as we have made numerous changes since your previous stay. Thank you.

Indianapolis, Indiana
Reviewed 14 September 2012

My company booked me in for three days as I was making the rounds of our company owned service stations. I looked up this website and read the reviews. As someone that on the road a lot I could not have been more pleased. The facility was very clean, friendly and up to date. I would have to disagree with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank barry r

55 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (24)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (31)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (16)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Merrillville hotels
4.1 km away
Quality Inn Merrillville
Quality Inn Merrillville
#9 of 21 in Merrillville
72 reviews
4.0 km away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#15 of 21 in Merrillville
15 reviews
3.3 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Merrillville
Hilton Garden Inn Merrillville
#2 of 21 in Merrillville
561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 km away
Clarion Inn in Merrillville
Clarion Inn in Merrillville
#6 of 21 in Merrillville
157 reviews
4.2 km away
Red Roof Inn - Merrillville
Red Roof Inn - Merrillville
#14 of 21 in Merrillville
183 reviews
4.2 km away
Extended Stay America - Merrillville - US Rte. 30
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Breakfast included
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Hot Tub
  • Golf course
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Merrillville, IN Hotel - EconoLodge hotel located in Merrillville, IndianaWith convenient, easy access to Interstate 65, the newly-renovated EconoLodge(R) hotel in Merrillville, IN is the perfect location to reach such destinations as Chicago, Lake Michigan and the many attractions in the far northwest part of Indiana. This Merrillville, IN hotel is near Deep River Water Park, Star Plaza Theatre and the Majestic Star Casino. Indiana Dunes State Park is a short trip east along the shores of Lake Michigan. Guests of the EconoLodge hotel will enjoy the exercise room and indoor heated pool. Other amenities include: Free breakfast, Free wireless high-speed Internet,Free weekday newspaper,Free local calls, cable television, pillow-top mattress, coffee maker, desk. Some rooms offer a refrigerator; hair dryers, irons and ironing boards are available at the front desk. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Address: 6201 Opportunity Ln., Merrillville, IN 46410-2776 (Formerly Lees Inn Merrillville)
Region: United States > Indiana > Merrillville
Price Range: €35 - €66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline and Choice Hotels so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lees Hotel Merrillville
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Econo Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms 113 or 126”
 of 5 bubbles SBM68, 7 Oct 2014 | Read review
“Ask for a second floor room....room 102 needs a "do over"”
 of 5 bubbles newlywed2011_11, 15 Jul 2013 | Read review
“Stay faraway from anything on the first floor”
 of 5 bubbles EveS343, 20 Dec 2012 | Read review
“There is a pool and whirlpool, and the hotel is willing to keep them open a bit later than the posted time. So, if that kind of noise bothers you, ask for a room away from that area. We stayed in a room at the end of one of the halls on the first floor, and it was nice and quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles captkirk17, 23 Oct 2012 | Read review
“There are better motels in the area, they might be worth checking out.”
 of 5 bubbles RonaldO430, 7 Oct 2012 | Read review
5 of 5