We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Clifty Inn

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Madison
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Clifty Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

243 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Clifty Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 242: English reviews
Wheaton, Illinois
Reviewed 6 October 2016

Beautiful state park on a wooded bluff above Madison, IN. When you enter, the ranger mentions the two highlights of the park - Clifty Falls and the view of town and the Ohio from the Inn. We were there following a day of heavy rain and immediately road up to the falls. They were gushing and roaring, making a great...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jack L
Renie S, General Manager at Clifty Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to let us know that you enjoyed the falls, we are so happy that the water was flowing during your hike, pictures cannot explain how gorgeous they are you haft to see them in person. We are so happy you enjoyed the view of the river from your room. Hope to see you again...

Indiana
Reviewed 4 October 2016

The rooms are beautiful and clean. We had buffet for breakfast, lunches and dinner. Very good variety and great waitresses. Our group was 104 people. Con: We were on the third floor and we had to go down to the front desk three times for room keys- none worked when we arrived, the fourth time the front desk came up...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank abelmom
Renie S, General Manager at Clifty Inn, responded to this review

We are so sorry that you had the inconvenience of your keys and tv but glad they could fix them for you. The lady bugs are a problem in the parks we try to control them, but sometimes a few slip thru. Hope to see you again.

Indianapolis, Indiana
Reviewed 18 September 2016 via mobile

We started 2 nights in the parkside wing. Don't be confused that there would be a park view. There is a parking lot view. The room has been updated with slate style tile throughout the bathroom and shower. The mattress was very nice and there were 10 pillows to choose from. There is no elevator in the parkside wings. I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rick O
Renie S, General Manager at Clifty Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay, we will get the bird feeders filled thank you for letting us know.

Arthur, Illinois
Reviewed 14 September 2016

The Clifty Inn is a great place to stay when visiting the Madison area. Located in the State Park, the inn offers a wounderful view of the Ohio River. There is an indoor swimming pool that is good for the kids.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Galen T
Renie S, General Manager at Clifty Inn, responded to this review

It was great to hear from you, we are so glad you took the time to let other's know about your experience. Be sure to watch for our upcoming specials. Hope to see you again.

Reviewed 10 September 2016 via mobile

Went for breakfast before grandsons soccer game. We all decided on the breakfast buffet. Oatmeal, cream of wheat (brown sugar, raisins, honey available) cold ceral to. Scrambled eggs, scrambled eggs with peppers and onions, hash browns, hash brown casserole, sausage pasties, sausage links and ham. Lots of other things too. It was all good. You can order off the menu...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mary A
Renie S, General Manager at Clifty Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to let us know how you enjoyed the breakfast bar. Hope to see you again.

Carmel
Reviewed 8 September 2016

We've been going to the Clifty Inn for about 15 years now, but only every other year. It started out as a half way destination for those of us from north of Indy and those from TN. We love that the Inn provides sitting rooms, tables outside to watch sunrises and sunsets, a fire pit, hiking trails, nature center for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank spajnky
Renie S, General Manager at Clifty Inn, responded to this review

We love to hear from our returning guest, thank you so much for taking the time to let us know about what you enjoy and sharing your memories with us. See you real soon.

Reviewed 29 August 2016 via mobile

We stayed here two nights. The rooms are a little dated in the "motor lodge" area where we stayed and we did not have a view of the Ohio River. The hotel staff was very nice. My husband accidentally left his wallet in the room and the staff retrieved it untouched.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank arthursmom11
Renie S, General Manager at Clifty Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for sharing your comments about the Inn, we try to make the rooms cozy and comfortable for our guest on the park side, hope you will visit us again and get a room on the river side so you can enjoy the view of the river.

Cleveland, Ohio
Reviewed 22 August 2016

I was surprised at the poor a/c system and the dirty vents in the room and the bathroom as well, Also the desk chair seat was disgusting with what looked like dried food and glue, We did get that replaced. We were only there 2 nights and didn't spend much time in the room, The bathroom was very nice and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Czechingin
Renie S, General Manager at Clifty Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for letting us know that you encountered issues with your stay, I can guarantee that the items you mentioned have been cleared up. Hope you will come back and stay with us again.

Saint Henry, Ohio
Reviewed 11 August 2016 via mobile

This was a nice surprise for a state park lodge. Very cozy and comfortable. Nice rooms. We ate in the restaurant for breakfast and it was delicious! Decor was rustic and nice. Lovely place! We did a lot of hiking on nice trails. Beautiful place to visit.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KarenBruns
Renie S, General Manager at Clifty Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for the complements on your room, we try to make it cozy for our guest. The hikes are wonderful to hike. Hope to see you again real soon.

Columbus, Indiana
Reviewed 10 August 2016

This is one of Indiana's finest State Parks. Great for Camping, Great Inn Great dinning. We go there for Bridge Tournaments and just to eat. It is a year around park. It is close to Historic Madison Indiana and to Hanover College.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jim r
Renie S, General Manager at Clifty Inn, responded to this review

The camp ground is great place to camp, we are so happy you took the time to enjoy the Inn's restaurant. Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your visit. Hope to see you real soon.

113 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (100)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (28)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
0:49
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (38)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Madison
4.2 km away
Hillside Inn
Hillside Inn
#3 of 7 in Madison
161 reviews
2.9 km away
Comfort Inn Madison
Comfort Inn Madison
#4 of 7 in Madison
97 reviews
4.9 km away
Super 8 Madison/Hanover Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 km away
Best Way Inn
Best Way Inn
#7 of 7 in Madison
58 reviews
27.5 km away
Holiday Inn Express Carrollton
33.3 km away
Hampton Inn Scottsburg
Hampton Inn Scottsburg
#1 of 6 in Scottsburg
440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Business Centre with Internet Access

Additional Information about Clifty Inn

Address: Clifty Falls State Park, Rte. 56, 1650 Clifty Hollow Rd, Madison, IN 47250
Region: United States > Indiana > Madison
Price Range: €74 - €122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 67
Also Known As:
Clifty Hotel Madison
Clifty Falls State Park Madison
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Clifty Inn staff and other travellers.
9 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (9)

Questions? Get answers from Clifty Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“riverview rooms on request”
 of 5 bubbles lambo320, 31 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Ask for off season specails”
 of 5 bubbles billdB3496AZ, 17 Dec 2016 | Read review
“the riverview rooms are a must.”
 of 5 bubbles L6172VJkens, 15 Dec 2016 | Read review
“3rd floor river view room was nice”
 of 5 bubbles RWilliams1123, 25 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Get a river view room for a nice view to the south if possible. It's worth the few extra $.”
 of 5 bubbles DavidLou, 11 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5