We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Courtyard Indianapolis at the Capitol

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Courtyard Indianapolis at the Capitol
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

279 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 274: English reviews
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
801 reviews
138 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

Great location. Right downtown. I was here for business. The staff was great. Rooms were clean. Its a Marriott i expect nothing less. I am a big fan of this brand. If you want you can grab breakfast or go for a swim. Lots of good places to eat not far away.

Helpful?
Thank Joe M
Amy A, Manager at Courtyard Indianapolis at the Capitol, responded to this review

Joe M- Thank you for sharing your experience about your recent stay here on tripadvisor! We're so happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and the convenient location that we have here in Indianapolis! Please join us on your next stay to Indy! More 

Castle Rock, Colorado
Level Contributor
310 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Located downtown within easy walking distance of restaurants and shopping. Close to the canal walk as well. Rooms are comfy and nicely decorated. Free wifi actually works well. Staff was very friendly

Helpful?
Thank Don M
Amy A, Manager at Courtyard Indianapolis at the Capitol, responded to this review

Don M- We're so happy to hear that you were able to take advantage of our great location here in downtown Indianapolis! We hope you were able to explore and enjoy your stay here at the Courtyard Indianapolis at the Capitol. Please join us again soon! More 

Carmel, Indiana, USA
Level Contributor
379 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

In town for the Monumental Marathon, previously had been told would not be able to request a late check-out until the day before. I did this when I checked in but was told sorry, cannot do-they're all filled up with late check-outs. Being an Elite Marriott member usually bypasses this problem but no so here. Thankfully we were only doing... More 

Helpful?
Thank DDDFJD
Amy A, Manager at Courtyard Indianapolis at the Capitol, responded to this review

DDDFJD, I am sorry to hear we were not able to accommodate your request for a late checkout. While we do want to please all of our guests that request this, we do have to be mindful of our guests that are checking in at 3pm and are guaranteed that room at check-in. The hotel is currently more than halfway... More 

West Orange, New Jersey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed at the Courtyard Marriott during the weekend of the Indianapolis Marathon. My girlfriend and I checked in on a Thursday night and we planning to stay until Saturday. I had called the hotel earlier in the week and arranged a late check-out on Saturday since we would be completing the marathon around noon. Upon arrival, we were told... More 

Helpful?
Thank pezwack
Amy A, Manager at Courtyard Indianapolis at the Capitol, responded to this review

pezwack- I am sorry to hear about the experience with your late check-out. We do our best to accommodate all of our guests and are at times put in uncompromising positions, trying to please our guests that are checking out, at the same time having those rooms ready for our guaranteed 3pm arrivals. I am happy you were able to... More 

Anderson, Indiana
Level Contributor
110 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed here at the last minute for a wedding that took place at the State House. We loved that we were able to walk to both the State House and Historical Society within minutes. Check in was seamless and the front desk was very attentive. Our room was on the first floor. While the décor was a bit tired,... More 

Helpful?
Thank GrayCatVintage
Amy A, Manager at Courtyard Indianapolis at the Capitol, responded to this review

GrayCatVintage- Thank you for taking the time to post your review here on tripadvisor. We're so happy to hear that our location was so convenient for you. Please let us know your room preferences on your next stay so we can better accommodate you. Thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back next time... More 

Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 October 2016

The hotel is clearly due for room renovation (aging furnishings and dated colors) but my room was immaculate and service from the personnel with whom I had contact was impeccable. It is a short walk to the Capitol building and the FAR more expensive hotels closer to the Convention Center. The Lobby and fitness center/pool were up to date and... More 

Helpful?
Thank MJ F
Amy A, Manager at Courtyard Indianapolis at the Capitol, responded to this review

MJ F- We are absolutely delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our property so much! I can't wait to share this with my entire team. This will surely make their day! We hope you enjoyed your time here in Indianapolis and welcome you back next time you're in the area. Thank you again for your kind review! More 

Holland, Michigan
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 23 October 2016 via mobile

After having a horrible experience at another hotel in town we transferred to this hotel! It's old, but recently updated lobby! Rooms with some updates and were told more updates were coming! Clean, nice pool and workout space (small, but adequate). Nothing fancy, but clean and friendly!

Helpful?
Thank Heather V
Amy A, Manager at Courtyard Indianapolis at the Capitol, responded to this review

Heather V- We are so sorry to hear about the bad experience you had prior to staying with us but are so happy that you enjoyed your most recent stay at our property! We hope everything was to your liking and you were able to have a great time in Indianapolis. Thank you for sharing your feedback here on tripadvisor.... More 

Everest, KS
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 October 2016 via mobile

Friendly staff. Wonderful, clean rooms and environment. For being downtown, it was quiet and within walking distance to the convention center. Nothing but good things to say about this hotel and location!

Helpful?
Thank Birthday_Girl_9
Amy A, Manager at Courtyard Indianapolis at the Capitol, responded to this review

Birthday_Girl_9- We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay so much! We truly are lucky to be in such a convenient location, close to so many attractions. Thank you for sharing your experience on tripadvisor. We hope you come back to visit soon! More 

Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2016

I was staying at the Residence Inn in the same area and needed short term computer access. My hotel's business center's computers were off-line, so they arranged for me to use one at this neighboring Courtyard. Jason and Chris at the front/concierge desk were just great, helping me not only to get set up and working quickly, but also to... More 

Helpful?
Thank cjohnson15
Amy A, Manager at Courtyard Indianapolis at the Capitol, responded to this review

cjohnson15- I am so happy to hear that Chris and Jason were so accommodating to you and made you feel so welcomed! We do work very closely with the Residence Inn, always helping each other out whenever we can. I hope you enjoyed your stay at the Residence Inn and you come join us in Indianapolis again soon! More 

Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
157 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2016 via mobile

Traveled here for one night stay to attend a wedding and reception/dinner at the Zoo. Property is older, but has been updated and quite comfortable and the rates were very reasonable for a middle of the city hotel. Had to turn the A/C thermostat down to keep it cool as it was 92 outside. Be sure and present your parking... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kenneth W
Amy A, Manager at Courtyard Indianapolis at the Capitol, responded to this review

Kenneth W- I am so happy to hear that you had such a comfortable stay with us! As you can see we strive very hard to ensure every guest enjoys their stay so this is heart-warming to hear! I would like to make note that the parking pass our guests receive does not allow for free parking but simply in... More 

69 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (44)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (36)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Indianapolis hotels
Downtown Indianapolis
Residence Inn Indianapolis Downtown on the Canal
Downtown Indianapolis
SpringHill Suites Indianapolis Downtown
Downtown Indianapolis
Fairfield Inn & Suites Indianapolis Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Indianapolis
Courtyard Indianapolis Downtown
Courtyard Indianapolis Downtown
#50 of 184 in Indianapolis
287 reviews
Downtown Indianapolis
Sheraton Indianapolis City Centre Hotel
Downtown Indianapolis
Home2 Suites Indianapolis Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
GreenPartner Learn More
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
  • Hot Tub
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A stand-out among hotels in downtown Indianapolis, the renovated Courtyard Indianapolis at the Capitol is located on Senate Avenue right behind the State Capitol Building and the Indiana Government Center. Guests also appreciate our location within walking distance to the Indiana Convention Center, Bankers Life Fieldhouse, Circle Center Mall and IUPUI. Our open lobby space and renovated guest rooms feature the modern conveniences today's traveler has come to expect. Enjoy our onsite Bistro with lounge seating and full bar, interactive touchscreen GoBoard in the lobby as well as private media pods with personal TVs, a 24 hr. Market and boarding pass printing station. The Courtyard Indianapolis at the Capitol has space and flexibility unmatched by other hotels in downtown Indianapolis to help you make the most of every travel experience. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Courtyard Indianapolis at the Capitol

Address: 320 North Senate Avenue, Indianapolis, IN 46204
Region: United States > Indiana > Indianapolis > Downtown Indianapolis
Price Range: €92 - €294 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Indianapolis at the Capitol 3*
Number of rooms: 124
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Courtyard Indianapolis at the Capitol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Indianapolis At The Capitol Hotel Indianapolis
Courtyard Indianapolis
Indianapolis Courtyard
Indianapolis Marriott
Hotel Style:
#24 Family Hotel in Indianapolis
#27 Business Hotel in Indianapolis
#27 Romantic Hotel in Indianapolis
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Courtyard Indianapolis at the Capitol staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
10 months ago
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Courtyard Indianapolis at the Capitol staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“For quiet, ask for a top floor room on an end”
 of 5 bubbles DDDFJD, 11 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Pick an upper floor room to eliminate ground noise”
 of 5 bubbles GrayCatVintage, 7 Nov 2016 | Read review
“We shold have complained about the odor but we were told they were full”
 of 5 bubbles REZ1059, 19 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Hi floor so you don't hear the people stomping above you.”
 of 5 bubbles drichrx, 24 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Not next to the elevator!”
 of 5 bubbles jayzeeDE, 23 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay