We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Looking Glass Inn

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Looking Glass Inn
View Map
{"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

57 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 56: English reviews
Start your review of Looking Glass Inn
 Click to rate
Smithville, Indiana
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My husband and I had a brief Valentines get away and had such a great stay here. Tim and Fonda were so kind and welcoming and her breakfast was delicious! I highly recommend this beautiful B&B!! The antiques are gorgeous and the location is superb if you want to be out of the hustle and bustle of downtown Indy but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank taxsom2
Villa I, Owner at Looking Glass Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for spending your Valentine's Day with us! Maybe you can make it a tradition ;)! We are seriously happy you enjoyed your stay and look forward to your return.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Overall, my wife and I enjoyed our stay here at the Looking Glass Inn. We stayed in the Green room. The Inn itself was cute- definitely an old home, which we enjoyed. It seems pretty well kept but still has some of the old home quirks, not necessarily a bad thing. Everything seemed pretty clean. They have a nice snack...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Timothy B
Champaign, Illinois
Reviewed 16 January 2017

The Looking Glass Inn possesses a warmth and charm that surpassed our expectations for a B&B. The mansion itself is decorated with cozy artwork and floor carpets on hardwood floors that create a sense of homeyness the moment you walk in. Our room was impeccably clean and elegantly styled and the innkeepers were very friendly and knowledgeable about the surrounding...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JessicaandVirgil
Villa I, Owner at Looking Glass Inn, responded to this review

You are the best Jessica & Virgil! We look forward to hosting you for years to come. We hope your next trip is soon. Thank you for letting our Bed and Breafkast community know about the Looking Glass - much appreciated!

Muncie, Indiana
Reviewed 28 December 2016 via mobile

This is a continuation of the review started in a review of Stone Soup Inn. After a terrible start, our visit changed direction thanks to Tim who manages this b&b with his wife Fonda. He graciously showed us every room in the place and we chose the Rose room. All the rooms are nice, but this one was particularly spacious...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kat S
Villa I, Owner at Looking Glass Inn, responded to this review

We were happy to accommodate you and turn your disappointment into a great trip. We do offer the same service and accommodation standards at all of our properties. We hope to see you on your next visit to Indy!

Reviewed 17 December 2016 via mobile

Recently stayed as attended event at Indy's convention centre, which was a 20 minute walk away. I arrived quite late on the evening of check-in but Tim was very welcoming & gave me a mini-tour of the beautiful house. Stayed in the Gold Room, which was very comfortable. Felt a bit chilly first night but an extra heater was added,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kate W
Villa I, Owner at Looking Glass Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your very kind words! I will let the innkeepers know how much you enjoyed your stay. We couldn't have written a better review ourselves. Most appreciated!

Anderson, Indiana
Reviewed 1 November 2016

We paid for my daughter and son in law for two nights, bought the Sparkling package for $50 which was to include wine, no wine ever appeared, just two small chocolate cakes, two massages booked at $100 each were not scheduled by them and could not be changed, no refund, no negotiation, no service basically. Room was lovely but chilly,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sandidobie
Villa I, Owner at Looking Glass Inn, responded to this review

Our breakfast on the morning in question consisted of Brandy Pumpkin Pancakes accompanied by sausage patties and our full breakfast buffet (cereals, oatmeals, boiled eggs, fruit selection, yogurt, teas, coffee, juices and breakfast bars). Our guests all raved about the special seasonal menu that morning. Our innkeeper is a graduate of culinary school and gets fabulous reviews on her food....

San Juan, Puerto Rico
Reviewed 4 October 2016

This is a quaint bed and breakfast in an interesting neighborhood that is living on its past reputation. There was no heat in the room and the outside temperature was in the 50's. We were told to close the bathroom door, really? The are no shades in the room, only shear curtains so you are up with the sun. The...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank RusPat_704
Villa I, Owner at Looking Glass Inn, responded to this review

Please rest assured that all of our rooms have heating and cooling. At this time of year (Autumn) temperatures vary greatly from morning to evening. We are constantly adjusting thermostats for our guests comfort. Please let us know in the future if you are uncomfortable and we will see to it that everything is done to accommodate you. Our rooms...

Sarnia, Canada
Reviewed 13 September 2016

We stayed at the Looking Glass Inn for 3 nights in September to celebrate an Anniversary and attend the Colts game on Sunday. We really enjoyed our stay in the Crimson Room. The room included a recently updated bathroom with good water temperature and shower pressure, a flat screen TV with Cable TV/DVD player and a very comfortable bed. The...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank myoung30
Villa I, Owner at Looking Glass Inn, responded to this review

Taking the time to write us such a glowing review is much appreciate! Come back and visit again soon.

Lancaster, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 August 2016

A couple of days before we arrived, we were emailed to check our arrival time and asked about any special arrangements we wanted, which was a nice touch. We were a couple of hours early, but this didn't seem to be a problem. On arrival, we got a key so we could come and go as we pleased, and a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Alis0n_Mark
Villa I, Owner at Looking Glass Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to review us and share with our future guests!

Quarryville, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 2 August 2016

Maybe our expectations were too high after reading the reviews, but we were disappointed. First the good ... the inn keepers were very accommodating, the check-in was effortless, we were given a "key" to the house to enable us to come and go without disturbing anyone. Now the disappointments ... our room simply was not clean. The cream-colored carpet was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MoooCow
Villa I, Owner at Looking Glass Inn, responded to this review

Our housekeeper have deep cleaned everything! We apologize for anything that was overlooked. As you can see from our many great reviews about cleanliness, this isn't our norm. We hope you see you again when visiting Indy.

33 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Indianapolis hotels
Downtown Indianapolis
The Alexander
The Alexander
#6 of 178 in Indianapolis
2,108 reviews
Downtown Indianapolis
Omni Severin Hotel
Omni Severin Hotel
#12 of 178 in Indianapolis
2,091 reviews
Downtown Indianapolis
Conrad Indianapolis
Conrad Indianapolis
#3 of 178 in Indianapolis
1,317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Le Meridien Indianapolis
#4 of 178 in Indianapolis
315 reviews
Inn at the Villa
#4 of 19 in Indianapolis
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Built in 1905, The Looking Glass Inn is located in the heart of the city’s Old Northside; an area that was home to the principal leaders of Indianapolis during the turn of the twentieth century. It was Elizabeth Gates, wife of a wholesale grocery merchant, who erected this Free Classic style mansion while living here until 1907. The Inn boasts 7 fabulous guestrooms all with private baths. A complimentary Butler's Pantry stocked with snacks and beverages is offered with every room as well as breakfast daily. The Looking Glass Inn opened its doors in February 1999 after the Life family purchased, fully renovated and tastefully redecorated the home. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Looking Glass Inn

Address: 1319 N. New Jersey Street, Indianapolis, IN 46202
Region: United States > Indiana > Indianapolis
Price Range: €108 - €181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Looking Glass Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your Looking Glass Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Looking Glass Inn staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
over a year ago
Chicago
over a year ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Looking Glass Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Do not stay here in cool or cold weather”
 of 5 bubbles RusPat_704, 3 Oct 2016 | Read review
“they offer a great break room with access to free water, coffee, soda and snacks throughout the day and evening.”
 of 5 bubbles J6207ORdanielm, 30 Jul 2016 | Read review
“wIlliow room was lovely but shower fiddly”
 of 5 bubbles DebsGYorkshire, 20 Mar 2016 | Read review
“The ground floor room was good, there is no elevator.”
 of 5 bubbles Rosie988, 1 Jul 2015 | Read review
“We had a front room, the Willow room which was in the front, no noise from the street. A quiet neighborhood.”
 of 5 bubbles ewhite0640, 21 Jan 2015 | Read review
5 of 5