We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Indy Hostel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Indy Hostel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

170 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 166: English reviews
Reviewed 14 September 2016 via mobile

Overall the place had a nice feel to it and, once I received them (responses could have been quicker), the arrival instructions were clear and accurate even for a midnight arrival. The place is clean with plenty of shower/toilet facilities on the top and ground floors. In addition there are plenty of kitchen facilities for you to cook and store...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andrew L
Bryor N, Manager at Indy Hostel, responded to this review

Thanks for the feedback Andrew! I'm glad you were able to change beds, we hope you will stay with us again next time your in town! Perhaps next time you could try a private room.

Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 1 September 2016

I had such a great stay at the Indy Hostel. It's in a fantastic neighborhood within walking distance of College Ave, which is full of great restaurants and bars. It's also a 20-minute bus ride directly down College Ave. to downtown. The staff is friendly, attentive, and helpful. The house has a laid-back, cool vibe and is tastefully decorated. I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sher587
Baguio, Philippines
Reviewed 13 August 2016

I spent a night in the downstairs mixed dorm. Staff friendly...though fellow was new and couldn't address some points. Pro : very clean. Very secure. Needs improvement : need better nite lights for stairway and mixed dorm area. Seems to be turn on full lights (risk disturb others) or stumble in pitch dark. TV...tiny sansui version that didn't work....bit of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kadampa
Bryor N, Manager at Indy Hostel, responded to this review

Hello Kadampa! Thank you for the positive feedback. We are happy we were able to host your stay. We are making those improvements presently.

New Jersey
Reviewed 22 June 2016

I reserved a single nite for my son and his friend to camp outside. It only cost them about $20 for the night. My son used their lockers to lock up his technology belongs and he and his friend really enjoyed meeting the other people staying there. Can't get a better deal than this.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank eastcoasttransplant
Bryor N, Manager at Indy Hostel, responded to this review

Thanks so much for the positive feedback! As a small business, we really appreciate you taking the time to show us some love. We love hosting campers!

Rio Linda, California
Reviewed 19 May 2016

It is a house with plenty of room. There's a good size kitchen for cooking meals. living room area, tv room. Upstairs the room, I stayed in has 3 bunk beds that had plenty of room. The hostel is located among a quite neighborhood. Staff is friendly. i enjoyed my day. Near public transportation, local restaurants, grocery store within walking...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Liztraveler22
Bryor N, Manager at Indy Hostel, responded to this review

Hey, Liz! Thanks for giving us some great feedback. We're happy you enjoyed your stay & hope to get the chance to host you again if you venture back to Indianapolis. Safe travels!

Wappingers Falls, New York
Reviewed 8 May 2016

Bathrooms are clean, kitchen is well stocked and the staff are very friendly and helpful. I stayed in the mixed dorm down stairs and had no issues getting to sleep or with the other guests. Everyone was very nice and courteous. The owners stopped by while I was there and gave me a ton of extra information about things to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joe R
Bryor N, Manager at Indy Hostel, responded to this review

Hi, Joe! Thanks so much for the great review, we appreciate you taking the time to show us some love! We are so happy you enjoyed your stay at Indy Hostel as well as the company. We hope to host you again during your travels through Indianapolis!

Ohio
Reviewed 30 April 2016 via mobile

I love Indy Hostel (IH), I have visited multiple times since 2014, it is my home away from home. I first learned of IH from an online review, it is a hostel, not a hotel, the hostel is a quaint older house in a nice neighborhood in the Broad Ripple area. The house has a secure entrance, ample parking, and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JJay8254
Bryor N, Manager at Indy Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for such an amazing review, we really appreciate it. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed the Broad Ripple area, we are lucky to be located in such an amazing community! Thanks for giving future guests some helpful tips as well! We hope to see you again throughout your travels.

Geneseo, Illinois
Reviewed 24 April 2016

I stayed at the Indy Hostel when I attended a church conference in Carmel. Because I was on the church's budget, I wanted to stay in an inexpensive, but clean place. Indy Hostel was both! I stayed in the women's dorm and met two nice ladies; they were my roommates much like a college dorm experience! It was a little...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Debby M
Bryor N, Manager at Indy Hostel, responded to this review

Debby, Thank you so much for your amazing review and the time it took to write. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your hostel experience. We take pride in hosting some amazing travelers and love when you all enjoy meeting one another! If you pass through Indianapolis again and would like some additional privacy, perhaps you could check out...

Fort Wayne, Indiana
Reviewed 12 March 2016

The place is very clean, neat, and organized with a kitchen in a very cute and hip neighborhood. Unfortunately it is very noisy, like there's a disco club on the first floor or something. They seem to hold events for the entire neighborhood at the expense of the guests. Surprisingly full of international guests considering it's Indianapolis. Laundy facilities available.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank travelerF348YX
Jim B, General Manager at Indy Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for your honest review! Every once in a while one of our public events will run past quite hours. We also inform guests of events happening during their stay, as long as they have relied relevant contact info. All the best!

Reviewed 7 March 2016

We rolled into the hostel late. Staff was friendly and professional. Hostel is in close walking distance to quality, local food restaurants and coffee shops. Bedrooms were clean and comfortable. Bathrooms were clean. Kitchen was well laid out and organized with 2 refrigerators and freezers. I would highly recommend this hostel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Suanne S
Jim B, General Manager at Indy Hostel, responded to this review

Thanks for the review Suanne! Hopefully next time you are here you will be able to spend more time hanging out at the hostel.

46 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (29)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (19)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Indianapolis hotels
Downtown Indianapolis
Conrad Indianapolis
Conrad Indianapolis
#2 of 184 in Indianapolis
1,258 reviews
Indianapolis Marriott East
#1 of 184 in Indianapolis
988 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Indianapolis
JW Marriott Indianapolis
JW Marriott Indianapolis
#9 of 184 in Indianapolis
2,017 reviews
Le Meridien Indianapolis
#3 of 184 in Indianapolis
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Kitchenette
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
If you like to really feel a town, meet the people, and experience the food and lifestyle of the locals, then Indy Hostel is the place to stay! We have the friendly atmosphere of a hostel with the style of a bed and breakfast inn. We are near downtown but nestled in a quiet Broad Ripple neighborhood near local restaurants, shops, and entertainment venues. Indy Hostel is in the 'Heart' of Indianapolis. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Indy Hostel

Address: 4903 Winthrop Avenue, Indianapolis, IN 46205
Region: United States > Indiana > Indianapolis
Price Range: €40 - €103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Indy Hostel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Indy Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Indy Hostel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Indy Hostel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“near public transportation, local grocery store, friendly staff”
 of 5 bubbles Liztraveler22, 18 May 2016 | Read review
“Not sure about a hostel? Book the one private room with a toilet and sink (but no shower). It is worth the extra money!”
 of 5 bubbles 121debbym, 24 Apr 2016 | Read review
“dorms for female, male, mix dorms, private rooms, family rooms , many choices .”
 of 5 bubbles Barrie0512, 10 Feb 2016 | Read review
“Select for your budget, all options are fine.”
 of 5 bubbles chuckg835, 1 Dec 2015 | Read review
“I stayed in a dorm room, which was fine, but there are private rooms which looked very nice upstairs.”
 of 5 bubbles Azboden, 2 Nov 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay