We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Tropicana Evansville

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Tropicana Evansville
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

182 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Tropicana Evansville
See the most recent reviews
Showing 181: English reviews
Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 March 2016 via mobile

Nice room, riverfront location, riverboat casino - all the ingredients for a good experience but...Really grumpy check in desk, wondered what I'd done. Looked for an iron in my room, not just no iron but no closet. Nowhere to hang clothes?! Went for drink in Hoosier's - was handed my drink in a plastic cup you'd get at a children's...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank photoiq
Lynn S, Guest Relations Manager at Tropicana Evansville, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review of our property. I am sorry that your experience was not up to our standards and hope that we get a chance to change your impression of us. We will take to our Desk and let them know that attitudes and perceptions are everything and we have to be on point with our guests....

Wauconda, Illinois
Reviewed 2 March 2016 via mobile

After reading some reviews I expected far less than this hotel provided. I was pleasantly surprised by the quality of the room and the whole facility. Everyone was very warm and accommodating as well. I would definitely choose this hotel again if I am in Evansville.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Patricia L
Lynn S, Guest Relations Manager at Tropicana Evansville, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review of our property. We are extremely happy that you found the room and entire facility to your liking. We work hard to provide a pleasant and happy experience for our guests and glad to see that we succeeded with you. Hope to see you again soon!

Hudson, Florida
Reviewed 27 February 2016

This is an average hotel well overpriced. I understand the draw is you are connected to the river boat casino. That is a nice feature, but the casino is average as well. We only stayed there to visit family. I realize that it is the only casino/hotel in town so they can overcharge and still sell their rooms. I can't...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ILoveWorldTravel3
Lynn S, Guest Relations Manager at Tropicana Evansville, responded to this review

Thank you for your review about your stay with us. Our rates are usually in line with our competitors in the area. I am sorry that we did fail to meet your expectations and hope that in the future you give us another chance. If there is anything I can do, please do not hesitate to reach out to me.

Elizabethtown, Kentucky
Reviewed 26 February 2016

We have stayed here many times and were always very happy with our accommodations. The last few times, however, have been very disappointing. Our last stay was very aggravating as we tried to check in numerous times and finally got to our room around 7:00 PM. Their excuse was that the rooms were not made up yet. There was no...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank 667Susan
Lynn S, Guest Relations Manager at Tropicana Evansville, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review of our property. First, I would like to apologize for the treatment that you have received. Since you mentioned that you have stayed here several times, you know that this is not the way that we normally behave in the Hotel. If you would please contact me at 812/433-4313, I would like to get...

Mounds, Illinois
Reviewed 25 February 2016

We chose this hotel because it was close to the Ford Center for the concert we were attending. The hotel provided a shuttle bus to and from the concert. The rooms were comfortable and clean. The view of the river from the room was nice also. The hotel is with the casino and restaurants. The food at all the restaurants...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank taressw
Lynn S, Guest Relations Manager at Tropicana Evansville, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review of our property. We are glad that you enjoyed yourself and everything on property was to your liking. We have the shuttle to downtown events that may be happening and we are always happy to offer this to our guests. Hope to see you again soon.

Illinois USA
Reviewed 22 February 2016

The room was a bit dated but it was clean and comfortable. We had a great view of the river! We stayed on a discounted casino comp and felt for the money it was a very good value. Free valet parking is a nice bonus. We will return to the Trop hotel again if offered the same types of deals....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tammy S
Lynn S, Guest Relations Manager at Tropicana Evansville, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review about your stay with us. glad that you enjoyed your visit. Visit our website because there are offers posted there each month and also you may get something in the mail based on your play in the Casino. Hope to see you again soon.

Reviewed 7 February 2016 via mobile

We bid on a trip to the Tropicana and won at a Silent auction last year. The hotel itself was not bad. You can tell it's a bit dated and the mattresses probably could use replaced but overall it was good and the view from our room of the Ohio River was neat.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Derek E
Lynn S, Guest Relations Manager at Tropicana Evansville, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review of your stay with us. I am sorry that the mattress in your room made for an unpleasant stay. If you would contact me so that I can find out what room you were in, I will report this to our Executive Housekeeper and see if it needs to be replaced. Feedback such as...

New Harmony, Indiana
Reviewed 4 February 2016

I used a coupon sent to me by Tropicana Rewards good for 1 night stay at Tropicana Evansville for only $25.00. I then discovered that the hotel charged me an additional $250.00 for a fabricated "incident" in the room.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Roadqueen21
Lynn S, Guest Relations Manager at Tropicana Evansville, responded to this review

Thank you for your review recently about your stay at our hotel. I am sorry for the impression that you have of us and if you would contact me at lstrickland@tropevansville.com so that I can get additional information, I would appreciate it. I will research and find out what caused the additional charge in the room as we have back...

Benton, Kentucky
Reviewed 28 January 2016

I stayed at the Tropicana for one night for a concert at the Ford Center. Check in was quick for a Friday evening and the front desk clerk was super friendly. She asked if I was here for the concert and informed me there was a free hotel shuttle to the event. Bonus for that info. It was definitely a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TravelingWeWillGo
Lynn S, Guest Relations Manager at Tropicana Evansville, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review of your stay with us. We are glad that you had a great experience with your check in and the Staff that you encountered was friendly and professional. I will notify Facilities about the outlets in the room as soon as I determine the room that you were in.

Reviewed 27 January 2016 via mobile

I was in town on business and thought this would be a good place because of the place close to eat and drink. I was right and they very good. Hotel staff was very nice and rooms were good. Bathroom shower floors seem like they need a little comet or better cleaning. I had 2 rooms so I can say...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Callsmitty
Lynn S, Guest Relations Manager at Tropicana Evansville, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review and glad that the Staff and the rooms were to your liking. I will share your comments about the bathroom with the Executive Housekeeper and the Housekeeping Team. Hope you stay with us again when you return to Evansville.

61 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (33)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (28)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (15)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Evansville hotels
0.1 km away
Le Merigot at Tropicana
Le Merigot at Tropicana
#9 of 36 in Evansville
162 reviews
5.7 km away
Comfort Inn & Suites Evansville
10.8 km away
Hampton Inn Evansville
Hampton Inn Evansville
#3 of 36 in Evansville
461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Evansville
Hilton Garden Inn Evansville
#2 of 36 in Evansville
396 reviews
10.9 km away
Courtyard Evansville East
Courtyard Evansville East
#4 of 36 in Evansville
120 reviews
10.1 km away
Drury Inn & Suites Evansville East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Casino and Gambling
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning

Additional Information about Tropicana Evansville

Address: 421 NW Riverside Dr, Evansville, IN 47708-1047 (Formerly Casino Aztar Hotel)
Region: United States > Indiana > Evansville
Price Range: €83 - €161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tropicana Evansville 3*
Number of rooms: 243
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Tropicana Evansville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aztar Casino
Evansville Aztar
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Tropicana Evansville staff and other travellers.
8 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from Tropicana Evansville staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I was on the 10th floor and there was no noise at any time. Quiet and peaceful.”
 of 5 bubbles Nanatraveler, 27 Oct 2016 | Read review
“I have not spent the night, but took a tour. Any room would be a good choice”
 of 5 bubbles Tinaemoore, 29 Aug 2016 | Read review
“I love the rooms with a riverfront view. WATCH OUT FOR THE SHOWER! The water can be set hot enough to boil you...LOL Very nice rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles 947buddl, 28 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Check room first - you may be looking at the boiler facilities if that matters; no reason to open the drapes which the”
 of 5 bubbles GAhuskerDuluth, 24 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a river view.”
  • Ohio River park and walking trail viewed from 5th floor room
 of 5 bubbles ILoveNationalParks, 19 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay