We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Best Western Indian Oak

Visit hotel website
Traveller (53)
Room & Suite (31)
Dining (9)
Certificate of Excellence

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Certificate of Excellence
Welcome to the BEST WESTERN Indian Oak! Our two story 61 room hotel is conveniently located off I-80 and I-94 near Lake Michigan, Valparaiso University, and only 5 MINUTES from the Indiana Dunes State Park. Plus Chicago O'Hare International Airport is only 65 miles away, and Chicago Midway International Airport is a brisk 51-mile drive. We offer an amazing location with a gorgeous lake, with lake-view specialty rooms and some of our rooms have fireplaces and whirlpools. Pick up a complimentary newspaper in the lobby before heading to a free full hot breakfast. Afterward, go for a swim in the indoor pool, work up a sweat in the gym. Our hotel features unbeatable amenities including: in-room Wi-Fi, 39" flat screen TVs, mini-fridge, microwaves, and coffee makers in all of our rooms. We have a 24-hour business and fitness center. We also have the Indian Oak Pub where nightcaps are our specialty along with affordable rates.
Read more
Property amenities
Pool
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Breakfast included
Bar/Lounge
Business Centre with Internet Access
Concierge
Heated pool
Hot Tub
Indoor pool
Meeting rooms
Non-smoking hotel
Public Wifi
Self-Serve Laundry
Wheelchair Access
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Microwave
Refrigerator in room
Family Rooms
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Lake View
HOTEL CLASS
Hotel links
Visit hotel website
Offers & Announcements:BOOK DIRECT & SAVE
Hotel deals

Location

Full view
53Somewhat walkable
Grade: 53 out of 100
42Restaurantswithin 1 km
3Attractionswithin 1 km
465Reviews
115Photos
9Q+A
70Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 173
  • 157
  • 77
  • 22
  • 36
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More languages
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
This hotel is adorable, the beds and pillows are comfortable, amenities were lovely. The lakefront views were beautiful. And for the price, you cannot beat this place. We stayed as a stop on a long drive and it was one of the best places I've ever stayed.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Hotel's Favourite
We have visited this hotel twice, we love its location to downtown and access to Indiana Dunes. We will be visiting again soon and bringing the family with us. Staff are generally friendly and hotel is clean.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Response from LukeBradley, Manager at Best Western Indian Oak
Responded 27 Nov 2018
Dear Lea B Thank you so much for taking the time to let us know how your recent visit was. I am so glad to hear how often you come. It is always a pleasure to serve and our staff really love what they do. We enjoy delivering the very best to each of our guest. We look forward to the next time you are in our area. Thank you, Luke Bradley Property Manager
Read more
No issues with our stay. Room was clean and well maintained. Staff was friendly and efficient. Breakfast was typical. Facility was not crowded on the night we stayed. Quiet and comfortable. Only issue was TV without a channel guide to help find shows we wanted to watch.
Read more
Response from LukeBradley, General Manager at Best Western Indian Oak
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Michael S Thank you so much for letting everyone know how your recent visit was while with us. I am so pleased to see how much you enjoyed your visit. The TV guided is located in guest director on desk in guest room. Always feel free to give the front desk a call about any questions or concerns. I very much look forward to your next visit and being bale to serve you again. Thank you, Luke Bradley Property Manager
Read more
The lobby was very clean upon arrival. The front desk employees were very professional and courteous! Room was quite large with a relaxing view of the lake. It was a refreshing stay! The breakfast was hot, ready, and tasty!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Response from LukeBradley, Manager at Best Western Indian Oak
Responded 17 Jan 2019
Dear Inspire Thank you so much for taking the time to let us know how your recent visit was. It was a great pleasure to have you. I am so glad to see how much you enjoyed your visit to our area. We look forward to your next visit and being able to serve you again. Thank you, Luke Bradley Property Manager
Read more
We chose this location for its proximity to the Indiana Dunes National Lakeshore and it worked well for this purpose. The room was clean and the staff friendly. The breakfast area overlooked a small lake as did many rooms. Unfortunately ours did not but it was quiet and on the
Read more
Response from LukeBradley, General Manager at Best Western Indian Oak
Responded 20 Nov 2018
Dear MMM_and_MPM Thank you so much for taking the time to let us know how your recent visit was. I am so glad to see how much you enjoyed yourselves. We have beautiful beaches to come see and many exciting thing to do. We very much look forward to your next visit and being able to serve you again.
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuiteDining Pool & BeachBusiness Centre & Event Rooms
Parking lot view
Pavillion with changing areas and showers at the park on the beach
Out on the patio of my room
hard to show, but screen door swinging on a hinge
PreviousNext
1234567
No shuttle that I am aware of. But it is a good walk of about 3 miles. Lots of restaurants in the immediate area. And another good walk to the downtown area with quaint little shops and a park.
0 votes
Show all answers
At this time we do not accept pets. Thank you for writing in and verifying.
0 votes
yes we do. We recently just had a wedding reception of 53 people just this month. if you would like more information on this please call us at 219-926-2200
0 votes
Kevin, Unfortunately we do not own the lake, so we cannot set the rules. However the owner of the private lake we sit on does not allow any disturbance of the wildlife. If you have any other questions please feel free to ask. Thanks, Chris Front Office Manager
0 votes
Show all answers
PreviousNext
12
"Room was on 2nd floor overlooking parking lot/wooded area which suited us fine."
"Seems even number on the lake side. Upper rooms have balcony on lake."
"Stay on the side facing the lake."
"Get the lake view"
"Pond view is the best in my opinion."
PreviousNext
12345614
PRICE RANGE
US$80 - US$145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
best western indian oak hotel chestertonbest western chestertonindian oak resort spabest western hotel chesterton
LOCATION
United StatesIndianaChesterton
NUMBER OF ROOMS
62
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing