We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Chicago Northwest KOA

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Union
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Chicago Northwest KOA
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

74 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Chicago Northwest KOA
See the most recent reviews
Showing 71: English reviews
Union, Iowa
Reviewed 11 July 2016

My wife and I pulled in here for the weekend to attend a nearby car show and we booked a Kamping Kabin. The cabin was clean and comfortable, the campground is well kept enjoyed by everyone that I observed. The staff were extremely accommodating, friendly, and enjoy providing a great respite in a bustling world. They had different activities available...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank statevampire
CamperSupport, Guest Relations Manager at Chicago Northwest KOA, responded to this review

It was entirely our pleasure - we're so happy to hear you and your wife had a great stay. We are glad you enjoyed your cabin, our grounds, and that our staff was friendly and helpful for you. Thank you so much for your kind words - we hope to see you again sometime!

Reviewed 3 July 2016 via mobile

Perfect for families with children. Friendly staff, good amenities. Camp sites are close together as to be expected with a KOA. Very clean bathrooms and showers. I give this place 5 stars as my 2 boys ages 1 and 8 had a blast. This place may not be for a couple without children as it is loud and hectic with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jessicamedrano214
CamperSupport, Public Relations Manager at Chicago Northwest KOA, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing to stay with us, Jessica! We are thrilled you and your family had a wonderful time, and enjoyed our facilities, amenities, and many activities. We appreciate your kind review, and hope to see you again in the future!

Reedsburg, Wisconsin
Reviewed 27 June 2016

We stayed here in a travel trailer so keep that in mind when you read my review. Our first impression was a good one when we pulled into the park. As you enter you can see that the campground is well taken care of. We were greeted by an attendant who looked up what site we had and then had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jason S
CamperSupport, Public Relations Manager at Chicago Northwest KOA, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind, detailed review Jason - we really appreciate it! We are so happy to hear you had a great time during your stay with us, and enjoyed our grounds, the pool, our facilities, and many activities. We hope to see you again sometime!

Flint, Michigan
Reviewed 23 June 2016 via mobile

Although I'm new to KOA, this is what I was hoping for. The owner Silvia was very helpful and friendly as was the other staff I encountered. Restroom and showers very clean. Nice pool too. Hope all KOA's are as good.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JJHunter
CamperSupport, Public Relations Manager at Chicago Northwest KOA, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your kind review! We are so happy to hear you had a great stay with us, and enjoyed our facilities and swimming pool. We hope to see you again sometime!

Flower Mound, Texas
Reviewed 18 June 2016 via mobile

WE WILL NOT RETURN! Nice enough park. Clean, quiet maintained on the surface but needs work on closer look. Pull through & back in grass & gravel sites. BUT, PARK HAS A MAJOR LACK OF ELECTRIC POWER COMING IN-CAN NOT KEEP UP WITH DEMAND EVEN WHEN NOT FULL . A fact that seems to be ignored by the owners. When...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank texasnana3
Brian S, Guest Relations Manager at Chicago Northwest KOA, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, and for staying with us during your recent visit to the Chicago area. During your stay we did have an issue with your pedestal and replaced it once we were aware of the problem. While this is definitely not a regular occurrence, it does happen once in awhile and...

Crystal Lake, Illinois
Reviewed 2 May 2016

We stayed on site #82 and it was perfect for us. They added wooden swings to the premium sites which are nice. Some full hook up spots are very narrow for big rigs like ours so we went to check out sites ahead of time. Very nice staff and well kept up property. Wild West Town is right next door...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lori M
CamperSupport, Public Relations Manager at Chicago Northwest KOA, responded to this review

We're so glad you had a great weekend getaway with us, Lori! We are happy you enjoyed your new swing in your campsite, our grounds, and that our staff was helpful for you. We appreciate your kind review, and look forward to seeing you again soon!

Kirkland, Washington
Reviewed 24 April 2016 via mobile

This KOA campground is very well cared for... The two ladies that run the place were very nice....Immaculate rest rooms.. Lawns mowed... Well lit... A bit pricy but you get what you pay for... Near the Illinois railways museum.. And just off I90...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Don H
CamperSupport, Public Relations Manager at Chicago Northwest KOA, responded to this review

We're so happy you had a great stay with us, Don! We are glad you enjoyed our grounds, facilities, and the surrounding area as well. Thanks so much for your kind review, and we hope to see you again in the future!

Palatine, Illinois
Reviewed 13 September 2015

This was my first time with any K.O.A. We picked this place cause it was an hour from home and we wanted to see the Train Museum. When making our reservation, they really went out of way to get me and my friend close with each other. He has a 31 motorhome, and put him on a pull thru across...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Briantheriverrat
CamperSupport, Public Relations Manager at Chicago Northwest KOA, responded to this review

We're so glad you were able to have an enjoyable time with us, and that you were able to be close to your friend. Our goal is to make sure everyone has a relaxing, great time. Thank you for your kind, detailed review, and we hope to see you again in the future!

Tulsa, Oklahoma
Reviewed 12 August 2015

The campsites are really expensive and not level. If you want a pad that is leveled you will have to pay premium prices. The value for money is not great and some areas like the mini-golf are getting run down. The park itself is well maintained and clean. The pool is small but clean and the staff were very friendly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nicola P
Brian S, Public Relations Manager at Chicago Northwest KOA, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We do our best to provide an excellent experience for all of our guests and have already passed along your comments in the hopes that we can continue to improve our park. We hope you will return and give us another chance to impress and wish you all the...

deerfield beach, fla.
Reviewed 2 August 2015

We pulled in on a Monday, July, 27, and got a nice long pull through. Unfortunately these spaces are not at all level and we chose not to level, to avoid problems with the rig. The park is landscaped beautifully, lots of green manicured grass and flowers. These flowers can somehow get in the way if they are in large...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tripalong-7
CamperSupport, Public Relations Manager at Chicago Northwest KOA, responded to this review

We're so glad you had a nice time with us. We certainly are in a great location with lots to do, and we're so happy you were able to enjoy some of it. Thank you for the kind review!

38 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (12)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (26)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (23)

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Under new Managment since April 2012. Welcome to the closest KOA to Chicago and O'Hare International Airport. A family campground with planned activities on weekends from Memorial Day thru Labor Day. (Haywagon rides, movies, games, kids crafts, bingos and a lot more)Have fun at Donley's Wild West Town next door, visit the Illinois Railway museum, see Santa's Village Azoosment Park, visit Six Flags Great America, cool off at Magic Waters near Rockford or in our own crystal clear pool in a friendly and quiet country setting, with long, level, shaded pull-through 50 amps RV site, special tent sites, 7 Kamping Kabins and complementary Wi-Fi throughout the park.Take the "Metra" train from nearby Crystal Lake or Woodstock to visit Chicago for sightseeing, festivals, and tours. We are also in a convenient distance to the Woodfield Mall, Prime Outlet Discount Mall, and the Grand Victoria Riverboat Casino. Various local restaurants are within minutes. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Chicago Northwest KOA

Address: 8404 S Union Rd, Union, IL 60180-9690
Region: United States > Illinois > Union
Price Range: €29 - €64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 140
Also Known As:
Chicago Northwest Koa Hotel Union
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Chicago Northwest KOA staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Chicago Northwest KOA staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Don't rent a trailer here.”
 of 5 bubbles lauriebH7895FR, 30 Aug 2016 | Read review
“don't bring random stuff like yard games they got all that stuff for free. I stayed in September so I don't know what its like in the spring/summer.”
 of 5 bubbles R3784QEdaveb, 20 Sep 2014 | Read review
“Pull through sites make happy vacations. Don't let your GPS route you on the I-90 into Chicago, take the 290 to the other local road, you avoid two hours of traffic.”
 of 5 bubbles 323jenniferh, 26 Aug 2014 | Read review
“The non-electric sites are a little bit more private.”
 of 5 bubbles 269laurens, 11 Aug 2014 | Read review
“Cabins are awesome”
 of 5 bubbles Mish614, 29 Jul 2014 | Read review
5 of 5