We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Wee Waif

Old Bath Road, Charvil, Wokingham RG10 9RJ England
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
View all 13 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (65)
Room & Suite (14)
Dining (5)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Updated 12/08/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from The Wee Waif
Updated 12/08/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.



Finding an ideal hotel in Charvil does not have to be difficult. Welcome to The Wee Waif, a nice option for travellers like you.

You’ll enjoy relaxing rooms that offer a flat screen TV, a seating area, and a desk, and you can stay connected during your stay as The Wee Waif Hotel offers guests free wifi.

The hotel features newspaper and baggage storage. Plus, The Wee Waif Hotel offers a lounge, providing a pleasant respite from your busy day. For guests with a vehicle, free parking is available.

Travellers looking to enjoy some fish and chips can head to The Lands End Pub. Otherwise, you may want to check out a pub such as The Lands End Pub.

The Wee Waif looks forward to welcoming you on your visit to Charvil.

Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Horseback riding
Baggage storage
Wine / champagne
Non-smoking hotel
Show more
Room features
Seating area
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Hair dryer
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
337Reviews2Q+A41Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 70
  • 76
  • 86
  • 56
  • 49
Time of year
Traveller type
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
David1204 wrote a review 20 Sep
Windsor, United Kingdom8 contributions1 helpful vote
Lovely place, great staff and great food, really reasonably priced. Nice outdoor area and nice clean interior. The steak I had was cooked perfectly, plenty of car parking. Nice place for families to visit. Very kid friendly. A nice atmosphere
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
garry b wrote a review 14 Sep
1 contribution
with regret i have to say that the wee waif was a disappointment to say the least. mattresses in the double rooms should of been binned years ago as they were like sleeping on a bag of spuds . the floor in bathroom had holes in it covered with lino you need to squint to see the tv as its that small!!! the full english breakfast is a joke! waited 10 minutes in an empty bar to get served as staff were too busy talking. getting anything done is like watching slow motion replay. holes in the walls on the corridor to rooms. you can here every breath from other guests above and in the next rooms room wasnt cleaned daily as they were too busy checking new guests in!!! electrical sockets in rooms are in totally the wrong place. the whole place is 10 years past a refurb
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: choose a different hotel
See more room tips
Response from Greene King, Marketing at The Wee Waif
Responded 1 week ago
Hello there, we're saddened to hear that you weren't provided with the high quality experience that we strive to give all of our guests. Please can you get in touch on 5306@greeneking.co.uk so that we can discuss this further with you? Many thanks
Read more
Steve C wrote a review 12 Sep
Lydney, United Kingdom68 contributions24 helpful votes
Nice room and hotel was generally quiet even though it was full occupancy. Would have given four stars but the security at the hotel isn’t great. We came down for breakfast at 08.00 to find someone slumped sleeping on the sofa in reception with no staff in sight. Not very reassuring for guests and not what I want my wife or I want to see first thing. Went for breakfast which was fine and served quickly and by this time it was 08.30. Still no one on hotel reception and person still slumped in the same plus. Wouldn’t stay again due to this lapse.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Guinevere2018 wrote a review 7 Sep
Reading, United Kingdom36 contributions5 helpful votes
We often come here as a family or individually with friends. The menu is clear and access to allergens (for me!!) is pleasingly detailed. Staff are reliably friendly, polite and happy to chat if not busy. Always a lovely welcome, and great food and service. Restaurant is clean, with quiet unobtrusive (but calming ) music - not too loud or too quiet. Great menu. And a big ‘shout out’ to the fabulous service from Michelle and Angie every time we visit and they are on duty. Jamie is also friendly and helpful each time he is around when we visit. The added bonus is the small tv for our young son :) Thank you - we will be back very soon (as always!!)
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Tony P wrote a review 2 Sep
11 contributions6 helpful votes
Missing sausages and pineapple from the mixed grill. Had to remind staff that I was missing items. Generally the food is ok however I wouldn't recommend anything containing chicken. The chicken is extremely tough
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
Response from Greene King, Marketing at The Wee Waif
Responded 3 weeks ago
Good afternoon Tony, we're sorry to hear that some of the crucial elements of your mixed grill was missing - we'd be disappointed too! If you'd like to share additional feedback regarding the food standards you experienced, please do give us an email on 5306@greeneking.co.uk so we can take a look into this for you. Thank you so much.
Read more
US$61 - US$100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
the wee waif hotel reading, wee waif reading, wee waif hotel reading
United KingdomEnglandBerkshireWokinghamCharvil
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Wee Waif
Which popular attractions are close to The Wee Waif?
Nearby attractions include Knockout Escape Rooms (6.4 km), TimeTrap Escape Rooms (5.9 km), and Escape Reading (6.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Wee Waif?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at The Wee Waif?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, a desk, and a seating area.
What food & drink options are available at The Wee Waif?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at The Wee Waif?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Wee Waif?
Conveniently located restaurants include Las Iguanas, Buenasado Argentine Steakhouse - Reading, and Miller And Carter.
Is The Wee Waif located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.6 km away from the centre of Charvil.
Are there any historical sites close to The Wee Waif?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Greyfriars Church (6.3 km) and Surley Row Conservation Area (5.4 km).
Is The Wee Waif accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.