We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hotel Baker

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hotel Baker
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

153 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 150: English reviews
Start your review of Hotel Baker
 Click to rate
Chicago, IL
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Old hotel charm but zero updates. WiFi terrible too. Staff was not properly trained and it showed. Often one young kid at the front desk and customer service took forever. Restaurant and bar was very nice but rooms terribly run down. The old historic charm was lost in crappy rooms and bathrooms. Also the parking lot is a couple blocks...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PatRat,Original
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My wife and I photographed a Wedding ceremony and reception at Hotel Baker. The staff was incredibly nice and the gardens they had on the river where the ceremony and cocktail hour were beautiful. I think the best part of the night was the old school dance floor that lit up. We wish we were guests, but it would be...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DDPage33
Stoughton, Canada
Reviewed 13 March 2017 via mobile

We stayed the weekend for a wedding. The hotel is a classic historic hotel. Most of the staff were good. The bathroom for our room was a bit old and should maybe be redone, but overall I would consider staying there again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GrandmaHolly_10
Reviewed 9 February 2017 via mobile

Had a lovey room overlooking the river. Pleasant decor and a comfortable bed. Had bed and breakfast package and the meal and service was excellent! Excellent breakfast potatoes and coffee as so good we ordered a second pot. Completely different experience than a chain in the most refreshing way.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank QStat
HBRepresentative, Manager at Hotel Baker, responded to this review

We thank you for your time in providing a review. We truly appreciate your feedback. We are so glad you love our coffee. We look forward to your return!

Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 3 December 2016

Had a very nice experience with hotel Baker! Clean room, beautiful view of the river and park, very friendly staff, excellent breakfast! Very well kept hotel in the heart of st Charles! Couldn't ask for more!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 5Elizabeth7
HBRepresentative, Manager at Hotel Baker, responded to this review

We thank you for your time in providing a review. We truly appreciate your feedback. We look forward to having you back to enjoy St. Charles!

Japan
Reviewed 3 December 2016 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights. Doormen were always nice and friendly but the receptionist who checked me in was so rude, her service was lower than any services at cheaper hotel or motels, thought she was OJT but it seemed she was not. Room was fine facing street but could see the river, bed was comfy. Bathroom was with only...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank live_baby_live
HBRepresentative, Manager at Hotel Baker, responded to this review

We thank you for your time in providing a review. We truly appreciate your feedback. It is feedback like yours that allow us to make changes to our products and services. We hope that you will give us a chance to make the changes that are needed and come visit us in the near future. Have a great day -...

Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 25 November 2016

Just stayed there thanksgiving night and highly disappointed. Expensive hotel with no amenities to make it worth it. Per their website they were to have room service, NOPE! We had to drive around to find something open on Thanksgiving or pay even more (50/pp) for their dining room. Fluffy ropes, ONE AND NOT FLUFFY AT ALL. Breakfast was just all...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gillian S
HBRepresentative, Manager at Hotel Baker, responded to this review

We thank you for your time in providing a review. We truly appreciate your feedback. It is feedback like yours that allow us to make changes to our products and services. We hope that you will give us a chance to make the changes that are needed and come visit us in the near future. Have a blessed day -...

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 October 2016 via mobile

We visited this hotel just simply for the sliders(mini steaks in buns) OMG. Amazing. The are small enough to have as a starter or just order more for a main meal. We had 2 sliders each which were on the $5 for 2 sliders deal. We ended up ordering more and taking some with us too! The steak is just...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Karen B
HBRepresentative, Manager at Hotel Baker, responded to this review

Karen B, thank you very much for taking the time to provide a review on your dining experience. Glad you enjoyed those sliders. Should you be in town again, please come and visit! Stay well!

Reviewed 16 October 2016 via mobile

We just stayed at Hotel Baker for my birthday weekend and was a bit disappointed. For the cost of the room it is definitely not worth it but it's the only hotel located in the downtown St. Charles area. We can stay in Chicago at the Hyatt for the same amount or less. Plus the walls are pretty thin as...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Marla R
HBRepresentative, Manager at Hotel Baker, responded to this review

Dear Marla R, Thank you for taking the time to provide a review. We appreciate your feedback. We are disappointed that your stay was not what you had expected. We hope you will return to St. Charles in the future to enjoy the various offerings our charming community provides. God bless!

Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 27 September 2016

Located in the heart of downtown St. Charles, if you get the right room, you'll have a great view of the river. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We were there with a wedding and they had a great reception area behind the hotel. It was a beautiful setting, the pictures turned out great. The wedding reception was in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Allen21096
HBRepresentative, Manager at Hotel Baker, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to provide a review. We truly appreciate your feedback. Looking forward to your future visit!

103 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (80)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (34)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (23)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Charles
3.2 km away
The Herrington Inn & Spa
3.3 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago-Saint Charles
2.6 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago St. Charles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 km away
Hilton Garden Inn St. Charles
Hilton Garden Inn St. Charles
#3 of 11 in Saint Charles
446 reviews
3.1 km away
Courtyard Chicago St. Charles
Courtyard Chicago St. Charles
#5 of 11 in Saint Charles
131 reviews
15.0 km away
Hotel Arista at CityGate Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hotel Baker offers the epitome in all things luxurious -- elegant guest rooms and suites, state of the art amenities, exceptional dining and lounge venues, and a scenic riverside setting that's second to none. Anywhere. If you're planning a wedding, party, banquet, conference or other event, we invite you to talk with our sales and catering professionals who are available to assist you. Our incomparable meeting and banquet facilities can accommodate groups from 10-300 in an atmosphere of sophisticated elegance and grace. And in season, Hotel Baker's charming rose garden and outdoor patio dining create a lovely, memorable setting. You can be confident that everything will be done according to the highest level of service and careful attention to detail. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Baker

Address: 100 W Main St, Saint Charles, IL 60174-1810
Region: United States > Illinois > Saint Charles
Price Range: €110 - €160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Baker 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Baker reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baker Hotel Saint Charles
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Baker staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Las Vegas, Nevada
Pembroke Pines,FL
over a year ago
Forsyth, Illinois
over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Baker staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“get a room over looking the river”
paul30, 26 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Go to a different hotel.”
255christinee, 15 Jul 2016 | Read review
“River / Main St. views are good.”
SWONTraveller, 1 Jul 2016 | Read review
“I would definitely ask to see a room before booking. The website shows rooms with beautiful and lavish furnishings. Very deceiving.”
KarenV372, 1 Feb 2016 | Read review
“ask for a room on the backside to get a river view.”
welltraveledOkie, 15 Dec 2015 | Read review
5 of 5