We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Holiday Inn Mount Vernon

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Mount Vernon
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

244 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Mount Vernon
See the most recent reviews
Showing 241: English reviews
Green Cove Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
42 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2015 via mobile

This is an older property, as previously mentioned by others. I found it to be well maintained and didn't seem that dated. I had dinner at the bar and it was good. Had to leave out early in the morning and didn't get to try the breakfast. I was hoping they would have coffee in the lobby, but couldn't find... More 

Helpful?
Thank Enduroride
Michael C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Mount Vernon, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing our hotel. We are in the process of renovating our hotel. I hope you get to stay with us in the future. Sincerely Mike Carbonaro GM More 

Level Contributor
28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2015 via mobile

Great hotel staff very proud to serve me, she told me about the bar with food, the room was ok, but the bed was comfortable had the best sleep in weeks, the breakfast buffet so much to choose from and very filling. The WiFi was fast and easy to access. Will be back soon.

Helpful?
Thank Kyle B
Michael C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Mount Vernon, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review. We are so pleased you had a comfortable stay. We work very hard and are proud of our hotel. I hope if you are in the area again you stay with us. Sincerely Mike Carbonaro GM More 

Amarillo
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2015

I selected this hotel from the website because it looked like one of the newer Holiday Inns. The rooms were nice and very quiet even though this hotel is right next to the freeway. The hotel inside is like the old Holidome with a very open atrium in the middle which was pleasant. The hotel has an attached bar and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Nathan-n-Texas
Michael C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Mount Vernon, responded to this review

Thank you for tasking time to submit your review! I appreciate all the detail you put in to it. I apologize we did not have the conditioner you expected. I will take this under consideration when we make changes. We are beginning a complete renovation in the upcoming months. I hope if you are in the area you stay with... More 

Level Contributor
90 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2015 via mobile

I was so happy to have found such a nice place after a very long day driving in snow and rain. Staff is so friendly. Place is very nice clean. Large room. Great breakfast. Right off interstate with lots of food choices near. My only suggestion would be new sheets and more plug ins. Not that sheets were bad but... More 

Helpful?
Thank J-sevenlakes
Michael C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Mount Vernon, responded to this review

Thank you for the kind words! We are very proud of our hotel and work very hard to make every one of our guests feel comfortable. I am sorry the sheets were uncomfortable I will personally look in to that. I hope you stay with us again if you are through Southern Illinois. Sincerely Mike Carbonaro GM More 

Lakewood, Washington
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2015

The room is nice, though overpriced considering there are only 2 available power outlets, no available tables/etc. for our bags, toilet slow to flush and the saddest wireless I've seen in a long time. The restaurant in the building is a 2-star at best. Plus they don't have access to the super slow hotel wireless. I'll never stay here again.

Helpful?
Thank Eric M
Michael C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Mount Vernon, responded to this review

I am sorry to hear that your expectations with our internet service was not met. I am going to investigate the issue further. Thank you Mike Carbonaro GM More 

Oak Forest, Illinois
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2015

Stopped here for the night on our way to Nashville. Hotel was clean, plenty of parking was available. Front desk staff was friendly and check in was a breeze. Room was very comfortable and clean. Plenty of food and gas nearby.

Helpful?
Thank edradakovitz
Michael C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Mount Vernon, responded to this review

Thank you for the kind words about our hotel. We take pride in our hotel and work very hard to make every guest comfortable. I hope we get the chance to have you stay with us again if you come through the area! Sincerely Mike Carbonaro GM More 

Dexter, Missouri
Level Contributor
117 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2015

Was in town for a family reunion and everyone was able to stay here. Rooms were clean and staff was nice. They did run out of food on the breakfast buffet, guess they underestimated the attendance. Other than that had a great stay.

Helpful?
Thank Robert M
Michael C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Mount Vernon, responded to this review

I am so happy you all enjoyed your stay. We work very hard to make our guests as comfortable as possible. I hope you decide to stay with us again for the next reunion! Sincerely Mike Carbonaro GM More 

Woodstock, Illinois
Level Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2015

Having one of the better rates in town, the hotel is clean and has the required amenities. I have no complaints - nothing broken, missing, no one was impolite - but there really wasn't a "wow" factor. The breakfast was good, though it didn't have the obligatory bagels or waffles. The rooms were nice. The lobby was cavernously spacious. I... More 

Helpful?
Thank RadioRFD
Michael C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Mount Vernon, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to submit a review on our hotel. I am glad you had a comfortable stay. I will be looking in to the areas you mentioned could use some improvement. We are going to be renovating our hotel completely in the upcoming months. I hope you get to stay with again! Sincerely Mike Carbonaro GM More 

Decatur, Georgia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2015

We stayed here like last year and I am just here to tell anyone who is planning a trip to mount Vernon to not stay here until a renovation. We stayed here from hotels.com and booked a nonsmoking queen room and we will flabbergasted at the condition of the hotel. The hotel appears as old, outdated and boring. The whole... More 

Helpful?
Thank carson s
Michael C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Mount Vernon, responded to this review

I offer my sincerest apologies that you had a negative experience when you were last at our hotel. We are in the process of a complete remodel. We work very hard to make all of our guests feel comfortable. I hope you stay with us again after the remodel. Sincerely, Mike Carbonaro GM More 

Travellers are raving about these Mount Vernon hotels

Dwight
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2015

great location close to highway access, very modern hotel and looks new, comfy beds, clean room and great breakfast which was well stocked with egg, ham, sausage and yogurt. you could even ask for something extra to be made for you at a extra cost.

Helpful?
Thank parkwaycottages
Michael C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Mount Vernon, responded to this review

Thank you for the fantastic review! I am so happy you enjoyed your stay. I hope if you come through Mount Vernon in the future you stay with us again! Sincerely Mike Carbonaro GM More 

30 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (21)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mount Vernon hotels
0.6 km away
Drury Inn & Suites Mt. Vernon
Drury Inn & Suites Mt. Vernon
#1 of 14 in Mount Vernon
379 reviews
0.2 km away
Hampton Inn Mt. Vernon
Hampton Inn Mt. Vernon
#2 of 14 in Mount Vernon
396 reviews
0.9 km away
Comfort Suites Mount Vernon
Comfort Suites Mount Vernon
#3 of 14 in Mount Vernon
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Super 8 Mt. Vernon
Super 8 Mt. Vernon
#5 of 14 in Mount Vernon
491 reviews
0.1 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Mount Vernon Rend Lake
0.2 km away
Days Inn Mount Vernon
Days Inn Mount Vernon
#6 of 14 in Mount Vernon
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Free Breakfast
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Conference Facilities
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Mt. Vernon, Illinois. Our hotel is conveniently located at the intersection of Interstates 64 and 57. At the Holiday Inn Mt. Vernon you may choose from 223 beautiful guest rooms and handsomely appointed suites which all have free high-speed wireless Internet access. Contact our sales department to coordinate all your meeting or banquet needs. Get your day started with breakfast where Kids Eat Free in Mr. F s Atrium Café located in our luxurious 3-story sky lit atrium. After breakfast take a dip in our indoor, heated swimming pool or lounge in our Jacuzzi, and in the summer months, on our sundeck. Stay connected with our business center which includes PCs, printer, and copier. Continue your exercise regimen while you stay at our hotel in our fitness room. Pets are allowed with a fee in designated pet rooms only.You can enjoy shopping within walking distance of our hotel at Rend Lake Marketplace or watch a movie at Showplace 8. Order room service or dine in at Krieger s Sports Grill. Relax, it s Holiday Inn. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Mount Vernon

Address: 222 Potomac Blvd, Mount Vernon, IL 62864
Region: United States > Illinois > Mount Vernon
Price Range: €91 - €115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Mount Vernon 3*
Number of rooms: 223
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity, IHG and Expedia so you can book your Holiday Inn Mount Vernon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Mount Vernon Hotel Mount Vernon
Mount Vernon Holiday Inn
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Holiday Inn Mount Vernon staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
4 months ago
Bloomington IL
Bloomington IL
over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn Mount Vernon staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Skip this hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles 924alleneb, 26 Nov 2016 | Read review
“As with any Hotel next to an interstate you can hear the traffic, but it was very muffled and did not disturb our sleep.”
 of 5 bubbles momandpop2016, 3 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Don't use handicapped room if possible.”
 of 5 bubbles billsO1836OP, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Always ask to see a room first :)”
 of 5 bubbles kat2wolf, 14 Aug 2016 | Read review
“RUn, do NOT walk away from this property”
 of 5 bubbles N8799XDdennish, 19 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay