We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Holiday Inn Express Metropolis

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Express Metropolis
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

151 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express Metropolis
See the most recent reviews
Showing 151: English reviews
Missouri
Reviewed 17 July 2015

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank dochusker
Dubuque, Iowa
Reviewed 1 July 2015

The staff here are great! Just off of I24 with plenty of dining and shopping in the area for all your needs, yet not too close to interfere with a good nights sleep. Breakfast was very good and free! Pool and a sauna to help one relax. Next time I am in the area,here is where I will stay.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Gerry S
Ireland
Reviewed 24 June 2015

A decent shelter from the horrific storm! That was the best thing about this hotel. Basic amenities. Clean room. Comfortable bed. Chipped furniture. Weak WiFi. Basic breakfast. Very helpful staff. Cobwebs and very dirty windows. Certainly not as good as our stay at the Holiday Express in Georgetown.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Drumraine
Vic M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Metropolis, responded to this review

Dear Drumraine, Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit at our hotel and please accept our sincerest apologies for the disturbance you have experienced during your stay due to the room conditions. Rest assured that these issues will be looked into. We value your comments and welcome the opportunity to serve you again. Sincerely,

Saint Louis, Missouri
Reviewed 5 June 2015 via mobile

Just stayed here a few days ago. The place was very clean and the staff quite friendly. The breakfast was very tasty and free. This is definitely the place to stay when you visit metropolis. Especially if you have little kids like I do. Once again, great place to stay!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Pinto278
Reviewed 1 June 2015 via mobile

Great motel, clean, service was friendly not much close to motel but that's fine too made for a quite night right off I 24 easy to get to beds slept good nice TV small fridge everything that you need for a good night would stay again if back in the area

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rob1571
Hamilton, Canada
Reviewed 10 May 2015

This hotel was great-especially the hotel staff. Thanks to Vic Mall, Manager & attentive staff, Cole Waldridge & Alaina Morgan. These folks helped me book last minute hotel for my long 2 day drive journey back home. Very friendly and efficient team, all around. Great breakfast, and an excellent home away from home while on quilt convention in Paducah. I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sugar0ne
United States
Reviewed 9 May 2015 via mobile

Awesome hotel! jacuzzi and swimming pool are a very good plus close to the interstate. exactly right off the interstate. comfortable bed comfortable pillow is a nice friendly staff. Looks like the breakfast bar is going to be amazing tomorrow in the morning.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank crislane1
Greenville
Reviewed 24 April 2015

This is a very welcoming HIE! The staff is warm and friendly. We travel with our Jack Russell and they kindly put us in room 124 near and exit for the dog's comfort! Our room was clean and quiet. The bed was comfortable. The breakfast was very good. At the front desk suggestion, we had a fun dinner at a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank fisher3960
Reviewed 18 April 2015 via mobile

Room was very clean, bed was very comfortable, good water pressure. Shower head was too low I'm 5' 9" and I was hitting it with my head. Breakfast nothing to rave about, typical prepackaged breakfast food

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sharon G
Vic M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Metropolis, responded to this review

Dear Sharon G, Thank you for posting your comments regarding your stay with us in Metropolis, IL. While we are most glad that you found your room to be very clean, beds to be very comfortable, and also the water pressure to be good, I sincerely apologize for the shower height, and the average breakfast. We take our guest comments...

Morrison, Missouri
Reviewed 5 April 2015

I stayed in room 104 with two great Pyrenees rescues, on my way back to Missouri with them. So, just know there were 2 large & scared dogs with me who I couldn't leave alone or even walk them on leashes safely because they'd never been leashed. Once in the room for the night that was going to be it....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Connie M
Vic M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Metropolis, responded to this review

Dear Connie M, Thank you so much for providing feedback on your recent experience with us here in Metropolis, IL. I sincerely apologize for the inconvenience caused to you and your rescues. I regret that you had the issue with our linens, and also am very sorry that we did not have a stocked First Aid kit with Benadryl in...

22 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Metropolis
4.8 km away
Harrah's Metropolis
Harrah's Metropolis
#1 of 6 in Metropolis
1,510 reviews
4.6 km away
Baymont Inn & Suites Metropolis
0.5 km away
Super 8 Metropolis
Super 8 Metropolis
#2 of 6 in Metropolis
345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 km away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Paducah
9.5 km away
Auburn Place Hotels and Suites
7.4 km away
Baymont Inn & Suites Paducah
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to the award winning Holiday Inn Express Hotel in Metropolis, Illinois. The Holiday Inn Express Hotel in Metropolis, IL, is located at the intersection of I-24 and US 45 at exit 37, across the Ohio River, about 7 miles from Paducah, KY. Just minutes from Harrah's Casino on the river, and Fort Massac State Park, host of the 19th century re-enactment, 'The Encampment.' And of course, Metropolis is also the Home of Superman, and features a 15-ft tall statue of Superman and a million dollar Super Museum! We are also the closest town to Mermet Springs/Mermet Lake Conservation Area, where you can go scuba diving, hiking, picnicking, fishing and hunting, all in the same area. Come and enjoy the new Express Start Refresh breakfast bar featuring our cinnamon rolls, scrambled eggs, cheese omelets, crispy bacon strips, sausage patties, biscuits & sausage gravy, yogurt, and Smart Roast coffee, among other items. We also have an indoor pool and spa for your recreation, along with a fitness center. All guest rooms feature the Simply Smart exclusive line of amenities, bedding, and the one and only Stay Smart shower head. Passing through or visiting Metropolis, IL? Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express hotel.We are situated just outside Paducah, KY, about half way between St. Louis, MO, and Nashville, TN, posing as an ideal overnight stop for long-distance travelers. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Metropolis

Address: I24 And Us 45 Exit 37, 2179 EAST 5TH STREET, Metropolis, IL 62960
Region: United States > Illinois > Metropolis
Price Range: €80 - €106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Metropolis 2.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Metropolis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Metropolis Hotel Metropolis
Holiday Inn Metropolis
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Holiday Inn Express Metropolis staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn Express Metropolis staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms on the north side are very quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles williamrY1970DQ, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“We picked first floor. Very handy to door.”
 of 5 bubbles VirgiFranzi, 10 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Other reviews said lower rooms were noisy above, we stayed on the top (third) floor and it smelled bad.”
 of 5 bubbles billsD3006WA, 28 Dec 2015 | Read review
“read the reviews. Do they sound like they are written by the hotel staff or actual customers.”
 of 5 bubbles 627bc, 30 Sep 2015 | Read review
“go somewhere else till remodel is done”
 of 5 bubbles Hayley76, 21 Aug 2015 | Read review
5 of 5