We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Stoney Creek Inn

Traveller (157)
Room & Suite (71)
Traveller (157)
Room & Suite (71)
Pool & Beach (11)
About
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Certificate of Excellence
Gravitate to Galena. After a wonderful day shopping more than 100 antique stores, marveling at historic 19th-century architecture, playing a round of championship golf, hitting the slopes or experiencing one of Galena's many unique restaurants, the Stoney Creek Hotel rooms and theme suites are the perfect place to unwind. Relax by the fire or in our indoor heated pool. We look forward to your arrival.
Read more
Property amenities
Pool
Free Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar/Lounge
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hot Tub
Business Centre with Internet Access
Wheelchair Access
Breakfast included
Meeting Rooms
Laundry Service
Conference Facilities
Non-Smoking Hotel
Heated pool
Indoor pool
Show more
Room features
Suites
Non-Smoking Rooms
Air Conditioning
Family Rooms
Microwave
Refrigerator in room
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Centrally Located
HOTEL CLASS
Location
Full view
Getting there
Dubuque Municipal Airport22 km
See all nearby hotels
Nearby restaurants
See all nearby restaurants
Nearby attractions
See all nearby attractions
Reviews & more
939Reviews
186Photos
7Q+A
100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 616
  • 232
  • 54
  • 23
  • 14
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More languages
  • Filter
  • English
Show reviews that mention
Stayed here with my 16 year old daughter for an overnight getaway. Had a great experience. Pool area was large enough to accommodate guests, not overcrowded. The room was extremely clean. You could smell the fresh sheets just walking into the room. The tub and shower area were S
Read more
Response from Lyndon H, Guest Relations at Stoney Creek Inn
Responded 1 week ago
Dear William C, Thank you for choosing to be our guest and for this stellar review! We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed our pool area, clean guest rooms, and friendly staff. We hope to have the opportunity to host you again in Galena or at another one of our amazing properties. Safe travels! Lyndon H. Stoney Creek Guest Relations
Read more
Perhaps I became spoiled by the E. Peoria location but I'll not choose to stay at this location again.
The room is SO SMALL and overcrowded with furniture that it's way too easy to stub a toe.
The bathroom vanity is so small that a small makeup bag can't be opened fully and spre
Read more
Response from Lyndon H, Guest Relations at Stoney Creek Inn
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear DLogsdon., Thank you for being our guest and for taking the time to leave us this valuable feedback. We're glad you loved our Peoria property and decided to try another one of our locations. I am most disappointed to read, however, that we failed to exceed your expectations during your recent stay in Galena. I sincerely apologize that the size of your room negatively impacted your experience with us. I understand your frustration in not being made aware of the hot tub cleaning that caused it to be closed for a few hours during the day. We appreciate your honest comments and sincerely apologize that the food you were served was well below our usual high standards. As a member of our corporate team, I will be sure to personally follow up with the property to ensure we are serving only the best quality food in our breakfast room. Thank you for choosing Stoney Creek Hotels, and we hope to have the opportunity to better serve you in the future. Sincerely, Lyndon H. Stoney Creek Guest Relations
Read more
All was good until other guests thought it was okay for their dogs to share breakfast with them from the table! As you would imagine staff was out there to clean the table after the dogs left.......NOT! Nobody noticed or cared, I don't know and NO these were not service dogs ju
Read more
Response from Lyndon H, Guest Relations at Stoney Creek Inn
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear FarAway63167746642., Thank you for being our guest and for taking the time to leave us this valuable feedback. We appreciate your honest comments and truly apologize that our staff failed to provide the proper level of service. As a member of our corporate team, I will be sure to personally follow up with the property to ensure our breakfast staff is taking the time to be more attentive to our guests. Thank you for choosing Stoney Creek Hotels, and we hope to have the opportunity to better serve you again in Galena or at one of our other beautiful properties. Sincerely, Lyndon H. Stoney Creek Guest Relations
Read more
We had a great experience at Stoney Creek. The staff was amazing, very friendly and helpful. The decorations were really nice, great atmosphere! The rooms were clean and the breakfast was pretty good. Highly recommended!
Read more
Response from Lyndon H, Guest Relations at Stoney Creek Inn
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Brad M., We appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Stoney Creek Hotel and Conference Center. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback from our valued guests about our amazing brand and excellent staff! Our employees genuinely enjoy going above and beyond for our guests, so we are thrilled you were able to experience that firsthand. We look forward to the opportunity to host you again next time you’re in Galena. Best, Lyndon H. Stoney Creek Guest Relations
Read more
We stayed at this hotel for a night away. It was very clean and quiet. It was located far enough away from the hectic downtown but close enough for a quick drive over. We did miss breakfast because it ended at 9am, it was a Monday, but it was not mentioned to us upon checkin so
Read more
Response from Lyndon H, Guest Relations at Stoney Creek Inn
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear amorano, Thank you for choosing to be our guest and for this stellar review! We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed our clean and quiet guest rooms. We apologize that breakfast times were not mentioned to you and will make sure to remind our front desk staff to include that when giving out check-in information. We hope to have the opportunity to better serve you again in the future. Sincerely, Lyndon H. Stoney Creek Guest Relations
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuitePool & BeachDining Family and Play Areas
Photo provided by managementStoney Creek Inn
Theme Suite
Photo provided by managementStoney Creek Inn
Theme Suite
Room #1 Suite
Previous
pet friendly
Yes Stoney Creek is for sure pet friendly
2 votes
Show all answers
I couldn't find any photos of a conference center. If you have one, how many people would it accomodate for a meeting and dinner? Do you have a photo?
During our brief visit we had no opportunity to explore the conference facilities at Stony Creek in Galena--the best bet is to contact the hotel directly.
0 votes
Show all answers
are you able to walk to the shops downtown, or do you need to drive/taxi?
While it is a 3 to 5 minute drive and only a quarter mile from downtown, walking is not really an option because there are no sidewalks and it's you'd be right next to a busy highway. We are worth the short trip by car or cab and we look forward to your stay!
0 votes
Show all answers
My boyfriend and I are trying to get some R&R from our crazy overtime work schedule. I'm having trouble finding places to stay, considering we're 18. Would I be able to book a room with you?
Unfortunately, we do require that you be 21 to reserve a room at our properties.
0 votes
Show all answers
Hi Me and my boyfriend are planning in going to Galena. We have two dogs and would like to know your policy regarding pets? Also any dog friendly activities around the area ( walking trails or lakes)? Thanks
We gladly welcome dogs with a few basic rules that can be found on our website. First, there is a limit of two and neither can be larger than 50 lbs. Secondly there fee of $25 per day per dog because after a dog stay, we have to perform exteme deep cleaning to protect any guests who may occupy the same room who may have pet allergies. There are several walking trails in Galena ranging from 6 to 1 mile in length. We would love to invite you to our facility and look forward to your visit.
0 votes
Previous
12
"If you don't mind sharing breakfast with other guests dogs eating off the tables, it's great."
"accessible rooms are truly accessible!"
"We stayed on the 2nd floor and it was quiet at night. Did not hear anybody or any other noise and we had a good night sleep."
"Try to stay off the first floor/basement and get a suite, if possible."
"No elevator so if you have a problem with stairs (only two floors here) request a main floor room"
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$87 - US$171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
stoney creek inn galena hotel galenastoney creek galenastoney creek hotel galena
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Stoney Creek Inn Galena
LOCATION
United StatesIllinoisGalena
NUMBER OF ROOMS
75
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing