We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
122 W Monroe St, Chicago, IL 60603-5032
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotels.com
Expedia.com
US$329
View Deal
Free cancellation until 07/08/21
ZenHotels.com
US$352
US$296
View Deal
SAVE US$56
Booking.comUS$348
Priceline
Prestigia.comUS$352
View all 17 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (686)
Room & Suite (204)
Videos (1)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your stay
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Updated 20/11/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Kimpton Gray Hotel
Updated 20/11/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#13 of 213 hotels in Chicago
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
A truly unique Chicago hotel experience! The Kimpton Gray Hotel takes its name from the building's original design and ornate marble throughout the building. Formally known as the New York Life Insurance building, the building’s origin dates back to 1894. Our modern luxe hotel proudly shows it’s historic features juxtaposed against contemporary-styled guest rooms with crisp furnishings. Our location is ideal for both business and leisure travelers sitting in the Loop, walking distance from Millennium Park. Visit our on-site, in-the-know hangouts such as the sophisticated Vol. 39 for wine, champagne and caviar. Looking for something with more energy? Visit Boleo, the top-of-the hotel bar and lounge with retractable roof with Argentinian food and beverage. Still looking? Ask our team for recommendations close by!
Read more
Room & Suite (204)204
Full view
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Evening entertainment
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Car park
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Rooftop bar
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Body wrap
Light therapy
Makeup services
Manicure
Massage
Pedicure
Salon
Waxing services
Baggage storage
Concierge
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
ATM on site
Doorperson
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Shoeshine
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Fireplace
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
On-demand films
Iron
Laptop safe
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Charming
Business
Languages Spoken
English
795Reviews27Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 625
  • 126
  • 30
  • 8
  • 7
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Cklewicki wrote a review Yesterday
Danville, Illinois7 contributions
+1
We noticed that the hotel hand hand prints on our door and fuzz in our bed. We had just gotten back from walking all day and were exhausted. I got grossed out in the morning. There was no hand soap and splatters of toothpaste everywhere. The floor had dried ... something around the toilet and hairs on the folded hand towels. The final straw was my husband saying the floor felt weird and realized he was standing on a huge dried stain of puke. I felt so sick to my stomach that we stayed. It was clear no one had cleaned or restocked since we had been there. It’s a beautiful facility. I am amazed that it is so dirty. You’d want to enjoy the neat elevator or hallways but then realized they are covered in filth. So disappointed. What is more telling is that the staff hate their jobs and never asked once if we enjoyed our stay. I remained friendly and waited for them to ask so I could share, but they pushed the stay along with every other guest.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
LGC & JCFC wrote a review Nov 2020
Columbus, Ohio129 contributions73 helpful votes
+1
Hotel's Favourite
Hotel- Kimpton Gray (Chicago, IL) Date- November 2020 (2 nights) Overall: 5/5. Excellent. This hotel is inside the refurbished New York Life building, where marble staircases, flooring, walls, and columns abound. This is a beautiful property. Rewards Club Recognition- 5/5. Excellent. We were thanked for our loyalty, and our room was upgraded. As Spire Elite loyalty club members, we were also given a $10 Raid-the-Bar credit for use at the ‘bodega’. Staff- 5/5. Excellent. Bobby, at the reception, checked us into the hotel. He was kind and attentive. He greeted us each time we passed by and was eager to please. Alexis was engaging and eager to ensure we had everything we could ask for throughout our stay. Krystal was a pleasure to interact with during our second day, as well. This was such a good guest services experience! Property Appearance & Maintenance- 5/5. Excellent. Exterior- 5/5. The two entrances are both clean, and the hotel is well branded. Interior- 5/5. The entrance stairway and corridor have a grand air about them. There are marble stairways, tile floors, and an elevator bay with golden elevators, on the entrance floor; the reception is on the second floor, along with the lobby. The hallway carpets and baseboards are clean and have very few scuffs. The wallpaper and paint are in good shape. Accommodations- 5/5. Excellent. We were assigned a “King Spa” room. The room was comfortable and spacious. The bedding was comfortable, and we slept well. The room contained all the advertised features: flat screen tv, soaking tub separate from the shower,… We were very happy with our accommodations. Housekeeping- 5/5. Excellent. Our room was quite clean. The floors had been vacuumed, and the bathroom was spotless. Toiletry items and towels were all provided in a supply adequate for the length of our stay. Pool/Gym- The gym is closed during the pandemic. Breakfast/Meal Options- 3/5. Average, for during the pandemic. No food options are available since both restaurants are closed. The minibars are emptied, but the usual contents are available at the front desk for purchase. Social/wine hour is from 5p until 6p, and small bottles of wine are provided at the front desk, for enjoyment in the guest room or lobby (while practicing physical distancing, of course). Coffee service is also moved to the front desk. Laundry- Not evaluated. The usual pricing sheet and laundry bag are in the room, and the prices are typical for a hotel of this class. Computer/Printer/WiFi- 5/5. WiFi was strong throughout the hotel, and streaming was smooth. Other- Valet parking is discontinued during the pandemic; parking at a nearby garage is recommended, and with a validated ticket, in and out privileges were provided for $30/night. Sanitizing stations were present throughout the hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020
Rooms
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Alexis Napoleon, Owner at Kimpton Gray Hotel
Responded 21 Nov 2020
Good morning Jcfoxx1978, First off we want to thank you for all the kind words! We are so happy we were able to accommodate you during your time in Chicago. Things are a bit different however we are glad to hear we were able to make you feel comfortable and safe during these times. The Bodega cart is my favorite too - And the added concierge cocktails are a way to have a hand crafted cocktail in your room! We are happy to hear your room was exactly what you were looking for! I will be sure to give kudos to all members that were here to make your stay so seamless. The pandemic does have reduced amenities however the alternative amenities are available in your guest room, to maintain social distancing during this time. Including the social hour, to bring a bottle of wine up to your room to enjoy. Again thank you so much for taking the time to write this review and Hope we are able to host you again soon. Stay safe and have a happy holiday season! Cheers, Alexis Napoleon Front Office Manager
Read more
procyclist wrote a review 5 Mar
anytown133 contributions47 helpful votes
From the absolute most centralized location in the City, to perhaps the cleanest and most updated property in the area, to the size of the guest rooms and bathrooms, this hotel checked all of the boxes. We were quite pleased with the room, as many downtown hotel rooms are cramped (to say the least) and receive a lot of traffic, so understandably look a bit worn. In the case of the Kimpton Gray, the room was spacious and everything from carpet to furnishings looked practically brand new. There were ample elevators (also sometimes an issue with other downtown hotels) - you never wait long for a car. The common areas are well appointed and impeccably kept. This is one of the nicest hotels in or near the Loop.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Ben S wrote a review 3 Mar
1 contribution1 helpful vote
The sanitation motto of the Kimpton Gray is "So Fresh, So Clean." As far as sanitation mottos go, I'd say that's a pretty good one. I'm not much of an experienced hotel denizen, but my Father definitely is. The Outkast reference was probably lost on him. What he did find during his three-day visit is that he'd never been more honest with his Son. He also figured out how to use the keycard to get into the room pretty quickly, which is a nice touch for us people with geriatric patriarchs in our family who insist on opening the door and tipping 15% when we go out (good luck trying to pay the bill). My stay at the Kimpton Gray wasn't like yours is going to be- or at least I'd hope so. To be honest with you, the internet vagabond reading this Trip Advisor review, I really don't have much to say by ways of critiquing the decor or evaluating threadcount. If you want to hear that stuff, read TanyaB561's review. If you do read it, do you think that Tanya is the kind of person you'd ever like to get advice from? I don't My Dad and I spent a ton of time in the room. I don't think we would have been there for hours on end, catching up and opening up to each other if we didn't feel welcomed by the oeuvre of the Kimpton Gray. We had permission to be ourselves. I'm glad we did. If we didn't, I don't think I would have learned as much about my Dad this weekend just going for walks up and down lakeshore. Although I cannot see him in the same way that only a loving father deserves to be seen by his child anymore, my view of him is clearer than ever. I have a greater understanding of my Dad, and isn't that all we can ask for from our parents? Also the room was so fresh and so clean (clean).
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Tanya B wrote a review Feb 2021
2 contributions
I never write reviews especially during covid as I understand how incredibly difficult it is for the hospitality industry (and most businesses as a whole) during this time. I would much prefer to write a positive one but this experience left me feeling so underwhelmed and kimpton is part of a large hotel chain so I feel justified in having expected a better stay. We have stayed at kimpton hotels all around the country—-Seattle, Washington DC, New York, Sedona, Austin including those in our city of chicago and have received good customer service. This was my first time staying at the Gray and after reading positive I decided to book it for a one night “staycation”. We have been fortunate to be able to do a few over the last several months but this was my first time coming without one of my children. I was looking forward to some relaxing me time. Check in was fine. I was given a small bottle of wine that was replacement for the lobby wine hour. The interior is different to many other kimptons and feels as though you are in the lobby of an office building or bank. Spaces are hidden and it’s not as open as other lobbies. The room was large enough but I faced an alley and office building. Given the good rate I paid I did not mind. The furnishings aren’t as whimsical as other kimptons but it did seem clean enough. Linens in the bathroom, however, were super thin and rather threadbare. Fraying, actually. I looked at the website for the hotel restaurant and saw that it is located on the roof of the hotel. It is explicitly described as a rooftop restaurant bar. Since it was an unseasonably warm day for February In chicago I thought it might be open. Trying to make the most of my night I went downstairs to the front desk to ask about the restaurant and what kind of protocols are implemented for covid as well as seating outside. Bobby was the person working the front desk and explained it’s indoor only. I told him that since it’s described as a rooftop restaurant I assumed they were seating outdoors and how many people are they allowing for indoor dining. He looked at me and said “I’m not really sure what you are asking but it is getting full so I would highly suggest a reservation”. Never did he say would you like me to call or check the reservations to see what might be available tonight, nor since you are staying in the hotel would you like to go up and see it? Feeling rather dumb I decided to just order take out and eat in my room. The next morning I called to see if they might be able to extend a late check out and was told normal check out is at 12 but they could give me an additional 45 minutes as a courtesy. Alison told me if I wanted to stay anything beyond that it would be an additional $75. Aside from two other people getting into the elevator on my floor and the people at the front desk I didn’t have the impression the hotel was full. I wouldn’t expect it to be in late February in chicago. I explained I was surprised as the hotel Monaco did extend late check out by the hour and their additional fee was much more reasonable. She explained to me that every hotel as it’s own policy and that they were full this weekend. So I checked out at 1pm, went to the front desk and who I assume was Alison asked “are you checking out?”, I said yes and asked if I could have my parking validated. She took my ticket, validated, handed it back and never even asked “how was your stay”? “Thank you” or even “good bye”. I was pretty much invisible and that’s the last thing a customer wants to feel ever especially during these times when our patronage should truly be valued.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021Trip type: Travelled solo
Helpful
Share
Response from Nabil Moubayed, General Manager at Kimpton Gray Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Dear tanyab561 : Greetings from downtown Chicago. Thank you for your review. I am disappointed to see that we did not live up to your expectations. I am however happy that we were able to help you today with the recovery of your lost item at our property. As with any negative review, I have taken the time to fully investigate this matter. I did speak with the employees you have described, although not all the names you mentioned were quite correct. As is typical with these reviews, there are always two sides to every story and they unfortunately do not always align. We can agree to disagree and I will definitely work hard to make sure we are even clearer in our communication to our guests regarding our amenities and services. Hopefully, as the City and State allows us to actually do more and provide more services we will continue to see travelers return. I wish you a safe and happy 2021 and hope that your future travels are kind to you. Sincerely, Nabil Moubayed
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$155 - US$468 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United StatesIllinoisChicagoCentral / Downtown / The Loop / Theater District
NUMBER OF ROOMS
293
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Kimpton Gray Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Kimpton Gray Hotel?
Nearby attractions include The Magic Parlour (0.4 km), Skydeck Chicago - Willis Tower (0.4 km), and The Magic Penthouse (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Kimpton Gray Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a rooftop bar, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Kimpton Gray Hotel?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Kimpton Gray Hotel?
Guests can enjoy a rooftop bar, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Kimpton Gray Hotel?
Yes, a parking garage and paid private parking on-site are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Kimpton Gray Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Do-Rite Donuts & Chicken, The Dearborn, and Giordano's.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Kimpton Gray Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness centre during their stay.
Is Kimpton Gray Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.6 km away from the centre of Chicago.
Are any cleaning services offered at Kimpton Gray Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Kimpton Gray Hotel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Kimpton Gray Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.