We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Tremont Chicago Hotel at Magnificent Mile

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
The Tremont Chicago Hotel at Magnificent Mile
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

260 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 232: English reviews
Portage, MI
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

If location is the only thing you care about, the Tremont is okay. If you care about a good, well maintained, comfortable room, try someplace else. We were unhappy with a number of things in the room, and it all can be summed up with our experience with the heater. The heater ran continuously. Management put a sign next to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Gar1954
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I thought that the location was great and used my starwood points to book a king bed room for the weekend. I was impressed with the lobby and check in area as it seemed quite nicely decorated. However, I was very disappointed by the actual room. The room was extremely small, had no fridge, and the plumping was very outdated.... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Steph W
Alejandra R, General Manager at The Tremont Chicago Hotel at Magnificent Mile, responded to this review

Hello Steph W Thank you for your comments from your experience with us. Please know that I value your loyalty as a Platinum guest and would like to address your concerns. Please don't hesitate to contact me direct at your earliest convenience at Alejandra.romero@starwoodhotels.com Kind regards. Alejandra R More 

Travellers are raving about these Chicago hotels

Fishers, Indiana
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here to go experience some Cubs Wrigleyville World Series action. It's an incredible location, super close to tons of good bars and restaurants, easliy walkable to all the Rush and Division nightlife. Room was tiny, outdated, weird, and A/C did not work. Could not get the room cooler than 74 degrees on a warmer than normal October night!

Helpful?
Thank James G
Alejandra R, General Manager at The Tremont Chicago Hotel at Magnificent Mile, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback James G. I am glad you were able to experience this very exciting time in Chicago! I appreciate your detailed comments, please accept my apologies for the inconveniences you experience. Should you decide to come visit again please contact me direct as I would like to assist you with your reservation needs. I look forward... More 

1 review
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I arrived at 9 in the evening for checkin. We were told that the hotel is full. As a result we were staying at the Tremont apartments, in the next building. When I entered the room I had a shock! I don't think you can explain in words what is out there: broken and stained sheets, dirty carpet, dirty walls,... More 

Helpful?
Thank AVA A
Alejandra R, General Manager at The Tremont Chicago Hotel at Magnificent Mile, responded to this review

Hello AVA A I was extremely disappointed to learn of your experience and would like an opportunity to address your concerns in hopes of making amends. Please contact me direct at your earliest convenience at Alejandra.romero@starwoodhotels.com Kind regards Alejandra R More 

Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I usually disregard reviews that talk about a hotel being run down because it's too subjective. But this hotel is in dire need of maintenance. My room had carpet lifting from the floor, and plasterboard and paint peeling right off the walls. Mould in the bathroom plus two large chips in the tiles that I stubbed my toe on every... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kylie Q
Alejandra R, General Manager at The Tremont Chicago Hotel at Magnificent Mile, responded to this review

Hello Kylie Q, Thank you for your review. Although I am disappointed to hear your experience I appreciate your detailed feedback. Please know that we continue to make improvements to our hotel and welcome the opportunity to address your concerns. Please contact me direct at your earliest convenience at Alejandra.romero@starwoodhotels.com Kind regards Alejandra R More 

Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The room was very tiny, albeit the decor is quite nice. Somehow they forgot to update the bathrooms, there bathtub was leaky all night, but water pressure was superb. The thermostat was clearly not working because at one point it was so hot it was unbearable, we had to open the windows. I must say it's proximity to the Mag... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank antonyang
Alejandra R, General Manager at The Tremont Chicago Hotel at Magnificent Mile, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback and your loyalty as a Gold member. I was disappointed to hear you were not recognized during your Welcome experience. Should you need anything at all please don't hesitate to contact me direct. Kind regards, Alejandra R More 

Level Contributor
45 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Got a 1-king bedroom for a night; Second time renting a hotel in Chicago - much better than Congress hotel, even though both are old-looking like buildings, they did a great job with the rooms, and the Mile is really awesome!

Helpful?
Thank David T
Alejandra R, General Manager at The Tremont Chicago Hotel at Magnificent Mile, responded to this review

Thank you for your review David T! I am happy to know you enjoyed your time with us and look forward to welcoming you back. Kind regards, Alejandra R More 

Seattle, Washington
1 review
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

When looking for a hotel in downtown Chicago for our wedding room block, we had options. We choose the Tremont (and so happy we did) for a few reasons. 1. Location: a lot of our out of town guests were new to the city, so being right off Michigan Ave made it easy for them to explore Chicago. 2. Price:... More 

Helpful?
Thank mlapp
Alejandra R, General Manager at The Tremont Chicago Hotel at Magnificent Mile, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback mlapp! Congratulations on your marriage! I am thrilled to hear you and your guests enjoyed your time with us and we were able to help you celebrate this very special occasion. I greatly appreciate you taking the time to recognize Tyler for his efforts. I will make sure to do the same! mlapp, hopefully we... More 

Tavistock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2016

Close to the Magnificamt Mile and the lakeshore this hotel is perfectly situated for the centre of Chicago. Clean, good-sized room and bathroom. We had a dripping a/c unit the first night, and if we hadn't arrived at midnight, would have asked to change rooms as the carpet was very wet. The problem was sorted efficiently the next morning. Offered... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kate R
Alejandra R, General Manager at The Tremont Chicago Hotel at Magnificent Mile, responded to this review

Hello Kate R Thank you for your comments from your recent experience with us. I was glad to learn that you enjoyed your overall experience with us. Please accept my apologies for the inconveniences caused during your arrival, I am glad to know that our team was able to resolve this to your expectations. Please don't hesitate to contact us... More 

The Villages, Florida
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2016

We were very surprised to ask for an upgrade to a suite and it was horrible. The furniture was old, window treatments were awful, plumbing didn't work properly and after all that, the air conditioner broke down and spilled lots of water out into our room.

Helpful?
1 Thank Mary Lou S
Alejandra R, General Manager at The Tremont Chicago Hotel at Magnificent Mile, responded to this review

Hello Mary Lou S I was disappointed to learn of your experience and hope to have an opportunity to connect with you direct in an effort to make amends. Please accept my apologies for the inconveniences caused. Please contact me direct at Alejandra.romero@starwoodhotels.com Kind regards Alejandra R More 

289 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (53)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (24)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (218)
Viewed
Amenities (6)
Viewed
Chestnut Penthouse Suite (45)
Viewed
Deluxe Corner King Room (23)
Viewed
Deluxe Two King Adjoining Rooms (44)
Viewed
Junior Suite (42)
Viewed
The Hotel (39)
Viewed
Traditional Queen Room (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Gold Coast
The Whitehall Hotel
The Whitehall Hotel
#72 of 188 in Chicago
1,163 reviews
Streeterville
Millennium Knickerbocker Hotel Chicago
Magnificent Mile
The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnificent Mile
Warwick Allerton-Chicago
Warwick Allerton-Chicago
#103 of 188 in Chicago
1,371 reviews
Streeterville
Raffaello Hotel
Raffaello Hotel
#90 of 188 in Chicago
2,028 reviews
Streeterville
Cambria Chicago Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Gold Coast

Neighbourhood Profile
Gold Coast
Located just north of The Loop, Gold Coast is one of Chicago’s most affluent and popular neighborhoods. The original Playboy, Hugh Hefner, once had a mansion here. In addition to prestigious hotels, historic mansions and luxury high-rise apartments, you’ll also find upscale specialty boutiques and Michelin-starred restaurants. Walk along Oak Street for your shopping fix and dance through the night along Rush Street. The Newberry Library is also a great stop to check out noteworthy exhibits and rare book collections.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Tremont Hotel is just off North Michigan Avenue, the famed Magnificent Mile. Within easy access of Chicago's business district & walking distance to shopping, dining, theatre & nightlife. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Tremont Chicago Hotel at Magnificent Mile

Address: 100 E Chestnut St, Chicago, IL 60611-2061
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Gold Coast , Near North Side
Price Range: €87 - €301 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Tremont Chicago Hotel at Magnificent Mile 4*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HotelQuickly, Travelocity, Cancelon, Odigeo, Orbitz and Jetsetter so you can book your The Tremont Chicago Hotel at Magnificent Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Tremont Chicago
Tremont Hotel Chicago
Tremont Chicago
Hotel Style:
#68 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Tremont Chicago Hotel at Magnificent Mile staff and other travellers.
19 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (19)

Questions? Get answers from The Tremont Chicago Hotel at Magnificent Mile staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Far from elevators and corner rooms”
 of 5 bubbles 237stephw, 15 Nov 2016 | Read review
“don't spend your money for this hotel, not even for the location.”
 of 5 bubbles 694avaa, 14 Nov 2016 | Read review
“make sure you stay in the main building”
 of 5 bubbles antonyang, 2 Nov 2016 | Read review
“go to another hotel”
 of 5 bubbles MaryLouS522, 26 Oct 2016 | Read review
“15th floor was quiet although 1505 was nothing special”
 of 5 bubbles cindywait, 4 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay