We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
720 South Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60605-2116
6 people are viewing this hotel
Hotel direct offer!Breakfast Included Offer
Expedia.com
US$187
View deal
Free cancellation until 09/02/23
Booking.com
US$187
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/02/23
Vio.com
US$180
View deal
Hotels.comUS$187
TravelocityUS$187
travelup.comUS$216
View all 19 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (1929)
Room & Suite (674)
Dining (88)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#123 of 217 hotels in Chicago
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
GreenLeaders Silver level
Welcome to the Hilton Chicago, Chicago's best address for business or leisure, where a $50 million rejuvenation provides you an environment where Classic meets Cool. The Hilton Chicago is located in the South Loop district of downtown Chicago, within walking distance of State Street and Magnificent Mile shopping, Financial District, Millennium Park, The Field Museum, Buckingham Fountain, Shedd Aquarium, Adler Planetarium and Soldier Field. Overlooking Grant Park, Lake Michigan and Museum Campus, Hilton Chicago is in walking distance of Soldier Field's games and concerts, and near Pilsen neighborhood's bar and restaurant scene. Hop on the 'L' to Chinatown or simply absorb the arts featured in Wabash Arts Corridor. Enjoy a soulful evening at Buddy Guy's Legends. The Hilton Chicago is also convenient to noted learning institutions such as University of Chicago, Columbia College, Roosevelt University and DePaul University.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Valet parking
Wifi
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Paid private parking on-site
Paid wifi
Hot bath
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
ATM on site
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Room service
Safe
VIP room facilities
Flatscreen TV
On-demand films
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Smoking rooms available
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Park View
Classic
Languages Spoken
English
Hotel links
Special Offer:Breakfast Included Offer

Location

100Great for walkers
Grade: 100 out of 100
57Restaurantswithin 0.5 km
32Attractionswithin 0.5 km
6694Reviews122Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 2,602
  • 2,010
  • 1,179
  • 565
  • 338
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
adrianfinnegan2023 wrote a review 25 Jan
1 contribution
Fantastic location, the grand ball room was amazing, Irish bar was always lively.Spectacular! Gorgeous hotel beautiful views from room and excellent service! Staff very helpful and appreciate the early check in Front Desk very friendly and courteous.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Date of stay: January 2023
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Maggie Morales, Other at Hilton Chicago
Responded 3 days ago
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for the glowing review and five-star rating of your recent stay at the Hilton Chicago! It is exciting to know that you enjoyed our premium location and loved our gorgeous hotel. The Grand Ballroom is indeed amazing and Kitty O'Sheas is lively. We are delighted to learn that you appreciated the quality of service you received from our staff, especially the Front Desk as mentioned in your comments. It was our pleasure to provide you with the highest quality of service and accommodation. We look forward to welcoming you back to our historic hotel. Sincerely, Maggie Morales Hotel Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
rosimmom wrote a review Jul 2021
Miami Beach, Florida87 contributions86 helpful votes
Hotel's Favourite
This was our first trip since Covid. The hotel just reopened recently. Even though it was July 4th it was not fully booked. The hotel is not fully staffed yet but you would never know. Every single person we encountered was friendly, helpful, and nice. The hotel and our rooms were very clean. Due to Covid, you schedule when you want housekeeping to come. You also make reservations to use the pool for a two hour time slot. It was so nice cause the pool was not crowded and you actually got to enjoy your time in the pool. Housekeeping would do a wonderful job. We loved the room. We had a lake view room. Our room had two full bathrooms, one had a shower and the other had a tub/shower combo. It was awesome. We didn’t have to share with our teens and two people could get ready at once. The rooms are very spacious for a city hotel. The beds were very comfortable. The location is right on Michigan Ave down the street from Millenium Park. Everything was walkable. The restaurants are opening up again. We didn’t have a car and it was ok. We will definitely stay here again. We loved it.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: They have a parking garage. The Grant Park Bistro next door was very good. Also Yolk about three...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Brian Marchi, Other at Hilton Chicago
Responded 7 Jul 2021
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for the 5 star rating of your stay experience at the Hilton Chicago! We appreciate you for taking the time to write a glowing review about your stay and for recognizing the friendliness and outstanding service of our staff as well as the awesome accommodations we provide at the hotel. It is always great to know that we are meeting the expectations our guests have come to expect and deserve. I'm glad to read that our hotel gave you easy access to the various tourist attractions nearby. There are plenty of cultural activities to do and see and it is wonderful that you and your family were able to enjoy that. We cannot wait to welcome you back, so you can enjoy another 5 star experience at the Hilton Chicago! Sincerely, Brian Marchi Hotel Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Dzee wrote a review 25 Jan
1 contribution
I tried gor over a month to get a room at Chicago Hilton, but they were all booked! Something about a concert...I then booked at Homewoid Suites by Hilton 0.3 down the street & it was fabulous! I wanted to stay at Chicago Hilton as it was right across the street from where I was heading: Buddy Guy Legends, but if I go sgain, I might have to stay at the suites again!!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Maggie Morales, Other at Hilton Chicago
Responded 3 days ago
Dear Dzintra3, Thank you for your feedback. We are thrilled to learn of your interest to stay at our hotel and I am sorry that you were unable to book due to occupancy. We hope that you will get an opportunity to stay with us. Please continue to check for room availability at our hotel and we will look forward to welcoming you. Sincerely, Maggie Morales Hotel Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Whereaminow1 wrote a review 22 Jan
Joplin, Missouri216 contributions101 helpful votes
This is my second time at this property. Corporate has a three-year contract to meet here so I’m stuck with this hotel for a few more years. First of all the staff is very pleasant and easy to work with. But beyond that I was fairly well unsatisfied with everything about the hotel. Here’s what I can think of right now. Parking is $79 a night so keep that in mind if you decide to drive. Also it’s a terrible parking garage I could see where people would scrape their cars on the tight curves going up, and there’s also really not very many spaces available. Our room was a total disappointment, for so many reasons. Number one I suppose is that there are no chairs in this room we have a bed and a desk with a desk chair, but no where you can sit and watch TV or work that’s comfortable. Also the shower was fairly old or it was a tub with a shower kit, but my big complain in the bathroom was there were only two towels and one washrag for us to share. We were here for four days so that clearly wasn’t enough. The meeting spaces well nice were all over the place and up and down tons of stairs. After a while you learned that you could take elevators and get close to many of them, but still very chaotic. The food forget it it’s a small menu the food was below average and I wound up having to leave the property for every meal to have some thing that wasn’t poorly done.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Maggie Morales, Other at Hilton Chicago
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your feedback. We strive to provide the best service and comfort to our guests and it is rather unfortunate that we have failed to give you the high quality of service that we pride ourselves on. I just wanted to clarify that valet parking is $79 per night and self-parking is $65 per night. We value your feedback and we will certainly address all the issues that you have detailed in your comments for corrective actions. We are truly sorry that your stay experience fell short of your expectations and our high standards. We thank you for choosing our hotel and we hope to exceed your expectations on your next visit. Sincerely, Maggie Morales Hotel Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
World Traveler wrote a review 17 Jan
8 contributions6 helpful votes
+1
We stayed at this hotel in January of 2023. Didn’t have a reservation and it was going to be $185. Stepped out of line and got it on Priceline for about $115. Hotel is beautiful inside with cool artwork and statues. Large conference rooms. Coming in the front door there is a secret door behind some mirrors that you can go down to the basement and look around. We stayed on the 24th floor. The room was very big and the only hotel I’ve ever stayed in that had two bathrooms. Pretty cool. You had to make reservations if you wanted to use the pool or fitness center. We got an hour block and there weren’t many people there. The fitness center is huge. Breakfast at the restaurant was very good, but expensive. It was $114 for two adults and two kids. It’s close to a lot of sites in downtown Chicago. Parking was an extra $65 for 24 hours. In and out parking if you check in with the hotel. Great place to stay if you are downtown. Didn’t hear any other people in our rooms. Slept with the windows open because it was hot. There was a lot of outside noise. Would stay there again.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Parking is expensive
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Maggie Morales, Other at Hilton Chicago
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for the 4-star rating of your recent stay at the Hilton Chicago. We appreciate the detailed description of your stay experience. We are delighted to learn that our hotel is a great place to stay in your opinion and that you enjoyed our premium location. We value your feedback and will share it with our management team to make improvements as needed. We look forward to welcoming you back to our beautiful and historic hotel. Sincerely, Maggie Morales Hotel Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Joyce H wrote a review 9 Jan
Valparaiso, United States30 contributions42 helpful votes
A grand hotel for a family trip! We've been staying at the Hilton on Michigan Avenue for 30 years or more. The rates are reasonable for a city hotel and the lobbies and restaurants are great for people watching and good meals. The pool and deck area is very large, with outdoor access in the summer. You and your family will feel they have been somewhere "grand" in the old fashioned hotel scene. The staff and online people are friendly and accommodating. You are right across from Grant Park and within walking distance of the museum campus and Art Institute.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Date of stay: January 2023
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Maggie Morales, Other at Hilton Chicago
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for sharing a five-star rating and glowing review of your recent stay at the Hilton Chicago! We really appreciate the detailed summary of your stay experience and the 30 years of patronage of our hotel. We are delighted that you enjoyed your family trip and all the perks our hotel has to offer plus our premium location. We look forward to welcoming you back so you can add more pleasant memories for the years to come. We are happy to be part of your special moments. Sincerely, Maggie Morales Hotel Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
mbrune677230 wrote a review 5 Jan
Athens, Greece1 contribution
We flew from the other side of the world to give our children wonderful Chicago experience. Staying at this hotel did its magic. We loved everything about it. We will definitely come back again next time.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Date of stay: December 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Maggie Morales, Other at Hilton Chicago
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for sharing a five-star rating of your recent stay at the Hilton Chicago. We are delighted to learn that you and your family had a wonderful time in the city. It is great to know that you enjoyed your stay and loved everything about our hotel. We cannot wait to welcome you back on your next visit to our historic hotel and show you that magic again. Sincerely, Maggie Morales Hotel Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Albert wrote a review Dec 2022
Memphis, Tennessee3 contributions
I have always been impressed with the Hilton Chicago and stay there often. Yesterday, my flight was canceled and moved to the next day. I had to be home that evening to be with my family, so I decided to rent a car and drive instead. I could not find a car in the entire city of Chicago because of the impending snow storm. Your vacation sales representative, John Krejczyk, helped my find a car in Orland Park. He lived a few miles from the Orland Park Enterprise and said that he would give me a ride since he was getting off work soon. The cab fare was going to be outrageous, so I took him up on his kind offer. The ride was great, and we had a great conversation about all sorts of things. Because of John, I was able to beat the storm and return to my family as planned.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Date of stay: December 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Maggie Morales, Other at Hilton Chicago
Responded 5 weeks ago
Dear Valued Guest, We greatly appreciate the five-star rating that you shared with the Trip Advisor community. It was our pleasure to provide you with the highest quality of service and accommodations. It was heart-warming to learn of John's service and his contribution to helping you get home safely. We look forward to welcoming you back and serving you in the true spirit of hospitality for which Hilton hotels are known. Sincerely, Maggie Morales Hotel Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
MBA60302 wrote a review Dec 2022
Chicago, Illinois6094 contributions114 helpful votes
We recently spent an overnight in a 2-bedroom suite + living room that had a sweeping view of the lakefront on the 23rd Floor of the Hilton Chicago (we were upgraded). In general the room was great. Unlike our last visit in 2019, when the furnishings of our suite were very tired, there clearly had been a recent redecoration that was both tasteful and comfortable. In general the bathrooms (2 full baths with stall showers & a powder room off the living room) were fine -- clean, stocked with good-size towels, and lovely Crabtree & Evelyn toiletries. However, there were 2 problems with the shower: First and most problematic, the heat control for the water did not operate smoothly. If you turned to the hottest setting, it was unbearably scalding, which is not unusual. However, when you tried to turn the temperature down to a pleasantly hot setting, there was a considerable interval between when you adjusted the setting and when the water temperature changed -- to the point where you would continue to turn down the temperature and then suddenly there would be very cold water coming out of the shower head. One would have to fiddle back & forth between turning the knob towards the hot & cold temperatures before one finally obtained a setting and then waiting quite a bit to determine how that setting correlated with the actual water temperature before one haphazardly settled upon a setting that correlated with comfortably hot water. Second, the shower water pressure was abysmal. Yes, I know that the hotel is required to use low-flow showerheads to avoid wasteful consumption of water. Nonetheless, there are low-flow products available that have much better water pressure (we've got them in our home). Aside from these issues with the shower, we've got no complaints. The hotel's common areas were beautifully decorated for Christmas. All of the personnel with whom we dealt (including the banquet service staff, as we were there for a large holiday party) were courteous and efficient.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022
Rooms
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Carla W wrote a review Dec 2022
28 contributions28 helpful votes
We were very happy to return to this property. We were treated so well as Hilton Honors members and we appreciated our room on the 17th floor that had a beautiful lake view. It was a fun weekend and were able to enjoy many pre-holiday events in this awesome city. The front desk staff was so welcoming and helpful. We especially wanted to thank Karen a manager in that department and Julius who even remembered us from our last visit to this hotel...so cool!!! Each staff member we encountered was positive and friendly beyond.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Top Floors in Chicago are always more exciting as the views are amazing.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Maggie Morales, Other at Hilton Chicago
Responded 8 Dec 2022
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for the fantastic five-star review of your recent stay at the Hilton Chicago! We are so happy to learn that you had a fun weekend stay and appreciated everything our hotel has to offer as noted in your comments. We are delighted to know that our staff took good care of you and thank you for the special mention of Julius and Karen. Please know that they will be recognized for their efforts. We are thrilled to welcome you back and hope to see you again soon in the near future. Sincerely, Maggie Morales Hotel Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$183 - US$272 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
hilton chicago hotel chicago, hilton hotel chicago, chicago hilton hotel, hilton chgo hotel, hilton towers chicago
LOCATION
United StatesIllinoisChicagoCentral / Downtown / The Loop
NUMBER OF ROOMS
1454
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

HILTON CHICAGO - UPDATED 2023 Hotel Reviews & Price Comparison (IL) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Hilton Chicago
Which popular attractions are close to Hilton Chicago?
Nearby attractions include Fox in a Box Chicago (0.4 km), Ragnarok Axe Throwing (0.5 km), and Jazz Showcase (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Hilton Chicago?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Hilton Chicago?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Hilton Chicago?
Yes, a parking garage, paid private parking on-site, and valet parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hilton Chicago?
Conveniently located restaurants include Yolk - South Loop, Cafecito, and Devil Dawgs.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Hilton Chicago?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness centre, and locker rooms available in the fitness centre during their stay.
Is Hilton Chicago located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.7 km away from the centre of Chicago.
Are any cleaning services offered at Hilton Chicago?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Hilton Chicago?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Hilton Chicago offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to Hilton Chicago?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Garfield Park Conservatory (7.8 km), The Rookery Building (0.9 km), and Macy's on State Street (1.3 km).