We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Chicago's Essex Inn

Show Prices
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Chicago\\
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,930 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Chicago's Essex Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,665: English reviews
Reviewed 1 November 2014

This hotel has seen better days. It is dingy and worn upon entering and the rooms are no better. Upon arriving with reservations, made well in advance, we were informed that the only room left with 2 beds would be on the 'smoking' floor. WOW! i was unaware that smoking floors were still available in Illinois, but was informed that...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank TaunyaGrace
GMEssexInn, Manager at Chicago's Essex Inn, responded to this review

Dear TaunyaGrace, I appreciate your feedback and taking the time to review our Hotel. I am happy that you liked the location and found our staff accommodating. I apologize for your experience with the smoking room. If you decide to give us another chance when returning to Chicago please contact me directly at lbarker@essexinn.com. We would love the opportunity to...

Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed 30 October 2014

We stayed at Chicago's Essex Inn from October 25 to October 28, 2014. The hotel is older I guess but I found the lobby and rooms to be updated. The shower seemed a bit old and mildewy, but not bad enough to affect my opinion too much. The location was good. Very close to Museum Campus, further away from the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kaileigh S
Fort Myers, Florida
Reviewed 29 October 2014

The Essex Inn is conveniently located on Michigan Ave, across the street from the park and right on the bus/trolly line. It is an older hotel and could use some "sprucing up". The biggest complaint was the heating in the rooms. You have no control over the temperature, and we nearly roasted Thank goodness we had one small window that...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank sallysue1279
GMEssexInn, Manager at Chicago's Essex Inn, responded to this review

Dear Sallysue1279, We appreciate your feedback and are very happy you enjoyed the location of our Hotel. I am so sorry about your experience with our heating system. We do take all of our guests' suggestions seriously and are currently looking at different possible solutions for the future. Again, we thank you for your feedback and hope you consider visiting...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 October 2014 via mobile

In most respects, this is a decent budget hotel with friendly staff and a good location. But, as others have noted, the plumbing is faulty and the rooms are frequently too hot. Uncomfortably so. Intolerably so. It's not enough to shrug and say it's an old building - the property isn't currently fit for purpose in my view. It could...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank CptVonTripp
GMEssexInn, Manager at Chicago's Essex Inn, responded to this review

Dear Chessene, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our property. We appreciate all your feedback- even the negative one. It continuously helps us improve. I am very sorry for your experience with our heating system. Please know that we take all the feedback seriously so we can make improvements in the future.

Reviewed 28 October 2014

We came to the Chicago's Essex Inn on October 25,2014 with my sister and brother in law and our 2 young nieces. We had decided to stay at this hotel for its location,pool and the deal for the Shedd Aquarium. We were disappointed at our arrival to the hotel to be told that they hadn't had the tickets for months...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank amandasorberg
GMEssexInn, Manager at Chicago's Essex Inn, responded to this review

Amanda, Thank you so much for taking the time to inform us of your experience at the Essex Inn Hotel. I am sorry to hear that we didnot have your tickets available and that you had to wait in line to view the attraction. I appreciate your honest feedback and hope that if you do travel to Chicago again you...

Salisbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 October 2014

We stayed at this hotel as part of a multi-centre holiday package booked through Trailfinders that spanned 3 locations across America. The Essex Inn was our first stop and we were amazed by the polar opposites surrounding the hotel from the mirrored skyscrapers on one side to the lush greenery just across the road. The main entrance is through sliding...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank KMAnonymous
GMEssexInn, Manager at Chicago's Essex Inn, responded to this review

KMAnonymous, We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you so much for such kind words. We all strive to provide nothing but the best in service and our facility. Please dont hesitate to contact me should your travels bring you back to Chicago. jscott@essexinn.com

Reviewed 25 October 2014

Needs renovation! Bathroom tab old with drainage issues. The sink is about 10 inches in diameter, and hard to keep the water in the little sink and away from you! Very old bed skirts with holes, but the sheets were nice and clean. They have a pricey " French style" restaurant with decent food and probably the best cappuccino. Overall,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Pheben G
GMEssexInn, Manager at Chicago's Essex Inn, responded to this review

Pheben G Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We really appreciate when guests provide honest comments as it helps us improve the service we offer. Sharing your experience with us will help us in furthering our succes. Thank you.

Reviewed 25 October 2014

Heating and cooling system does not work well within hotel due to the age, our room was 85 plus degrees with the highest cooling setting on. It was a sleepless night. Shower was very old with scum and grime, and probably mold as well. Overall location is great being on Michigan Ave, but not over compensated with clean facilities. Do...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mitchell D
GMEssexInn, Manager at Chicago's Essex Inn, responded to this review

Mitchell D I would like to thank you for sharing your comments with us; it is helpful to us to receive both positive and negative feedback. Part of our company’s mission is to provide excellent service through continuous improvement in both our service and facilities. Thank you for sharing with us.

Reviewed 25 October 2014

After reading some reviews and considering I wanted to be close to Grant Park area I decided to book this hotel for my stay. Here is the summary: location - excellent, close to Grant Park and downtown Chicago in a nice surrounding; cleanliness - very good - and we are quite tough on that, cost/benefit - very good considering the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank E N
Reviewed 24 October 2014

Sure one can not expect too much in the price range below 140$ a night, but the rooms are slightly run down. It was clean an everything and I could not comment too negatively, however not a place I would necessarily pick again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank B V

745 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (473)
Viewed
Room/Suite (138)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (98)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (14)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (36)
Viewed
View from Room (59)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Other (117)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (252)
Viewed
Amenities (8)
Viewed
Deluxe Room One King Bed (25)
Viewed
Double Double (48)
Viewed
Family Suite (69)
Viewed
King Suite (73)
Viewed
Pool (7)
Viewed
The Hotel (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
BEST WESTERN Grant Park Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago
Downtown / The Loop
The Congress Plaza Hotel and Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Hilton Chicago
Hilton Chicago
#98 of 187 in Chicago
4,791 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Renaissance Blackstone Chicago Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
Hotel Blake Chicago
Hotel Blake Chicago
#34 of 187 in Chicago
1,891 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Downtown / The Loop

Neighbourhood Profile
Downtown / The Loop
Often visitors' first stop in Chicago, The Loop is a good starting point to sample the city's energy and flavor. This central business district boasts Michelin-rated restaurants, upscale hotels, premier shopping, and enough arresting architecture to keep your camera busy for hours. You won’t find too many photo galleries of downtown Chicago without a shot of Millennium Park and Cloud Gate (“The Bean”), one of the most iconic landmarks in the city. A stunning skyline coupled with cultural attractions like the Art Institute of Chicago present a Downtown where work and play peacefully coexist.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Chicago's Essex Inn is a hotel in downtown Chicago on the Michigan Avenue Cultural Mile that combines breathtaking panoramas of Grant Park, the Museum Campus and Lake Michigan with exciting promotional packages that incorporate famed attractions and events in Chicago. From our steel and glass lobby to contemporary rooms with floor-to-ceiling windows, the Essex Inn offers amazing views and amazing value. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Chicago's Essex Inn

Address: 800 South Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60605
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Price Range: €95 - €410 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chicago's Essex Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 254
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chicago's Essex Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chicago`s Essex Hotel Chicago
Chicagos Essex Hotel
Essex Inn Chicago
Hotel Chicagos Essex
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Chicago's Essex Inn staff and other travellers.
55 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (55)

Questions? Get answers from Chicago's Essex Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“don't stay here”
hirshc, 11 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Get room away from construction”
355bruces, 27 Mar 2017 | Read review
“We stayed here to enjoy Buddy Guy's Legends Bar...within walking distance easily!”
korys722, 17 Mar 2017 | Read review
“construction could be a problem. typically lasts form 8am - 4pm”
RCRUNCHY, 24 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Get a high up room for a view of streets”
cbcomponents, 1 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5