We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Wheeler Mansion

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Wheeler Mansion
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

110 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Wheeler Mansion
See the most recent reviews
Showing 109: English reviews
Reviewed 11 September 2015 via mobile

It was great experience to stay one night in this big house and enjoy a fresh made breakfast in well decorated dining area. The host was a good person to talk with. I just enjoyed with every detail in this house. What is more, the parking space also attractive in this area which help save expense.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jinwei Z
Los Angeles, California
Reviewed 2 September 2015

Would give 0 stars if possible. The WORST customer service and management I've ever experienced. I made a reservation in Jan. 2015 for 4 nights in July 2015. Called and emailed to cancel TEN WEEKS before the date of my reservation, only to be told that those dates were completely non-refundable. Thought they'd be reasonable when I explained I hadn't...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank LG R
Sidney
Reviewed 8 August 2015

We loved the Wheeler Mansion! It was a last minute booking, but turned out to be a gem. Located in Chicago's South Loop a few blocks from Lake Michigan, we were perfectly located to explore the city from the comfort and quiet of a beautifully restored heritage mansion. The mansion is beautifully appointed, our room was quiet and spacious (and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank fromthehat
Alex S, Manager at Wheeler Mansion, responded to this review

Dear Important guest, Thank you for taking the time to express your satisfaction with your recent stay. We know in a big city as Chicago you have numerous choices of lodging. We are delighted that not only did we earn your business but exceeded your expectations. As a seasoned traveler your comments are very important to the growth of our...

Reviewed 26 July 2015 via mobile

This is not your average Chicago cookie cutter hotel. This is a magnificent turn of the century mansion that retains all of its original character. You can tell that this true "boutique" hotel has been lovingly restored. Kristine was the quintessential hostess and truly cared about her guests. From the ornate woodwork and hardware to the beautiful architecture the mansion...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Braden D
Alex S, Owner at Wheeler Mansion, responded to this review

Dear Important Guest, Thank you for highlighting the hard work of our manager and staff. We often say we have the most beautiful lodging...but our staff is the icing on the cake! As a family business we hand pick each staff member who are detailed oriented and take great pride in servicing our guests. Thank you for taking the time...

Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 16 July 2015

Perhaps because it was a busy weekend in Chicago, the Wheeler Mansion staff seemed either unprepared or uninterested in dealing with an older single guy visiting his grandkids. From stuffy conditions in the room to slow, poor service for brunch and failure to make up the room, the service at this expensive mansion failed to live up to the lovely...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Robert H
Alex S, General Manager at Wheeler Mansion, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We were saddened to read your review. Our staff loves children as we provided a warm welcome to your grandson of warm cookies and milk before he played soccer on the property. We do acknowledge knowing you were unhappy for the following reasons. 1. You left the do not disturb sign on your room and our cleaning staff...

St. Louis, Missouri
Reviewed 8 July 2015

We have just returned from 3 nights at the Wheeler Mansion. We were in Chicago for some activities around the Solider Field / Field Museum area. The location is fantastic for access to the museum, aquarium, planetarium and football stadium, as well as McCormick place. The area in general is an up and coming community with a lot of new...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Coovie
Alex S, General Manager at Wheeler Mansion, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We were sorry to learn that you wanted to stay in a hotel that you could open the windows. Our windows are the original over sized historic windows that are very close to the floor. It is dangerous for a guest to lift the heavy windows causing the potential to fall out. We have centralized air throughout the...

Frisco, Texas
Reviewed 17 April 2015

My boss stumbled upon this gem through reading a dated blog. We were in search of hotels that had 2 rooms available during a recent convention at McCormick Place. I was a bit skeptical at first since it was out of the normal of "traditional hotels". the Location was perfect, within a short walking distance from convention, 15-20 minutes from...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank blue68country
Alex S, Owner at Wheeler Mansion, responded to this review

Dear Business Traveler, Thank you for the kind words regarding your stay while attending a convention at McCormick Place. Business travelers enjoy a three minute walk to the convention and often bring associates back to enjoy our gated grounds. Thank you for extending yourself in kindness to comment on how you enjoyed attending a Convention while staying at The Wheeler...

Belleville, Illinois
Reviewed 15 February 2015

Just returned home from our wonderful stay at the Wheeler Mansion. The building and rooms are spectacular featuring beautiful antiques and gorgeous renovations of the former mansion. It was such a pleasure to relax in a tranquil pampered environment rather than a busy chain hotel with their cookie cutter rooms. The hotel is conveniently located less than a mile from...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jay H
Alex S, General Manager at Wheeler Mansion, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your kind words. My staff was elated to see your review. Thank you for taking the time to let other business travelers know that we are dedicated to providing the best accommodations and service in Chicago. Since we do little marketing, our guest reviews are the best marketing for our business. Thank you for taking...

Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Reviewed 8 February 2015

We happened upon this beautiful, historic mansion restored as a bed and breakfast after my husband and I were bumped from our original reservation at a downtown Chicago hotel. We were welcomed by Christine, a warm host and owner, who offered us fresh baked cookies, good conversation and helpful tips for our weekend. The Wheeler Mansion is a mile or...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Maryellen F
Alex S, Front Office Manager at Wheeler Mansion, responded to this review

Dear Important Guest, It was truly our pleasure to ensure your romantic weekend exceeded your expectations. Many details and planning occurs on our team before a guest arrives. From the first impressions of the outside landscaping, to the uniforms our staff wear to greet our customers. We are all detailed oriented and take great pride in ensuring the right temperature...

San Francisco, California
Reviewed 27 January 2015

I had a very disappointing experience at the Wheeler Mansion. I called to cancel our hotel rooms within 24 hours of booking and a week before the stay due to a change in travel plans and the manager insisted on charging us in full. The manager said that it is hard to sell their rooms (no wonder with such poor...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Simone L
Alex S, Owner at Wheeler Mansion, responded to this review

Dear Important Guest, Unfortunately, your room was booked through a third party booking site under non cancel-able discounted rate. When you book such rooms they are under restrictions very similar to airline sales and are clearly posted on the reservation. We are across the street from the convention center so our corporate executive guests book in advance. As a company...

66 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (44)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
South Loop
Hyatt Regency McCormick Place
Chinatown
Jaslin Hotel
Jaslin Hotel
#127 of 185 in Chicago
39 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
BEST WESTERN Grant Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Renaissance Blackstone Chicago Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
Chicago's Essex Inn
Chicago's Essex Inn
#121 of 185 in Chicago
1,887 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Hilton Chicago
Hilton Chicago
#96 of 185 in Chicago
4,577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in South Loop

Neighbourhood Profile
South Loop
This downtown neighborhood offers a variety of activities ranging from cultural to sporting. If you happen to visit during football season, you may bump into a boisterous few fans on their way to a Bears game on the southernmost tip of South Loop. On the flip side, Museum Campus offers cultural and educational experiences in its planetarium, museum and aquarium, all situated along the lakefront. Grant Park is one of Chicago’s premier locations for green space and recreation with views of Lake Michigan and the Chicago skyline. Take a stroll down memory lane in the historic Prairie District where you can enjoy views of old historic homes. Restaurants, theaters, and clubs are spread throughout the neighborhood along with a collection of burger joints along Michigan Avenue just across from the park.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service

Additional Information about Wheeler Mansion

Address: 2020 S Calumet Ave, Chicago, IL 60616-1407
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > South Loop
Price Range: €265 - €366 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Wheeler Mansion 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Wheeler Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wheeler Mansion Chicago
Wheeler Mansion Hotel Chicago
Hotel Style:
#34 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#71 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#86 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Wheeler Mansion staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Chicago, Illinois
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Wheeler Mansion staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We were upgraded to street side jr suite which was great”
 of 5 bubbles Ardy52, 14 Sep 2015 | Read review
“Rooms in the rear are quieter on the busy weekends.”
 of 5 bubbles roberthG4514PL, 16 Jul 2015 | Read review
“Ask for a room at the front of the building. There are only 10 rooms, 4 of which face the front.”
 of 5 bubbles Coovie, 8 Jul 2015 | Read review
“this mansion was built when exterior walls were 12" thick and floors were solid....I stayed on 3rd floor and didn't hear any of my neighbors.”
 of 5 bubbles blue68country, 17 Apr 2015 | Read review
“Choose another hotel”
 of 5 bubbles sarahcV9598OY, 21 Nov 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay