We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Waldorf Astoria Chicago

About
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Certificate of Excellence
Set in the heart of the prestigious Gold Coast neighborhood, the Waldorf Astoria Chicago is a haven of exclusivity with classic Parisian charm. Guests can relax in one of the 215 elegant guestrooms, richly appointed with fireplaces, wet bars, oversized bathrooms with soaking tubs, and suites furnished with outdoor terraces. The 14,000 square foot award-winning Spa & Health Club offers bespoke treatments and an indoor lap pool. Serving French cuisine dreamed up by James Beard award-wining Chef Michael Mina, Margeaux Brasserie exudes the ambiance of a vibrant Paris brasserie and Petit Margeaux transports guests to a café along the Champs-Elysees.
Read more
Property amenities
Pool
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room Service
Restaurant
Business Centre with Internet Access
Bar/Lounge
Spa
Laundry Service
Wheelchair Access
Dry Cleaning
Meeting Rooms
Hot Tub
Concierge
Banquet Room
Multilingual Staff
Conference Facilities
Babysitting
Non-Smoking Hotel
Heated pool
Indoor pool
Sauna
Show more
Room features
Suites
Non-Smoking Rooms
Air Conditioning
Minibar
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Quiet
Luxury
HOTEL CLASS
Hotel links
Visit hotel website
Special Offer:Double Points, Every Stay
Hotel deals
Hotel packages
Location
Full view
100Great for walkers
Grade: 100 out of 100
966Restaurantswithin 0.5 km
224Attractionswithin 0.5 km
Reviews & more
2,663Reviews
922Photos
28Q+A
100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 2,199
  • 260
  • 130
  • 45
  • 29
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More languages
  • Filter
  • English
Show reviews that mention
This is the most amazing staff and hotel ever. I don't think I will ever be able to stay anywhere else after staying here. Top of the line luxury, amenities, friendliness of staff!!! Dog beds and water bowl for my pooches when I arrived. INCREDIBLE courtyard. I wish i could have
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria
This was our second stay at the hotel and we didn't experience any of the issues we had with the bathroom this time making it a near flawless stay. The Premier Terrace King was a good size and featured a very large balcony although was too cold out to enjoy. Highlight is definite
Read more
Response from Todd T, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Chicago
Responded 3 days ago
Dear Brad S, Thank you for choosing to stay with us again and allowing us to become your hotel of choice for all of your future visits. I am thrilled you had a great room that you liked a lot and that the front desk handled the issue you experienced with expediency and urgency allowing you to enjoy the rest of your evening when you returned back from your dinner. We thank you for sharing your experience and look forward to welcome you back.
Read more
This is a very nice upscale hotel featuring a spa However, they neglect to mention anywhere that the spa is basically closed. Fitness facility open but the rest except for paid services is not. False advertising or certainly not what you would expect from this level hotel. Don’t
Read more
Response from Todd T, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Chicago
Responded 3 days ago
Dear Lisalamp, Thank you for choosing the Waldorf Astoria Chicago. I apologize for the lack of communication regarding the renovation in the women's spa facilities. We look to have this re-opened soon and hope to welcome you back then.
Read more
A girlfriend and I stayed here while enjoying a weekend in the city. Check in was super slow (I think we waited over 20 minutes as only one person was working the desk and there was an issue with the people ahead of us), but after that, everything was great. We had a double room,
Read more
Response from Todd T, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Chicago
Responded 3 days ago
Dear mauionmymind08, Thank you for choosing the Waldorf Astoria for you girls weekend in the great city of Chicago! I apologize about the delay at check in and am glad that did not put a damper on the rest of your stay. It seems the little touches of excellent service provided to you during your stay really went a long way in making a great impression on you and we are glad you enjoyed the services we provided to you. Thank you for sharing your feedback for other travelers to look at and we look forward to be able to welcome you back soon.
Read more
After one of the friendliest and most efficient check in I had high expectations. Unfortunately things went downhill from there. We ordered room service dinner. Items were misisng from the order, and most amazingly the delivery person did not seem to how to open a wine bottle. As
Read more
Response from Todd T, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Chicago
Responded 3 days ago
Dear JAJK66, Thank you for choosing to stay at the Waldorf Astoria Chicago. I am glad you had such a warm and welcoming experience upon arrival. However, it seems that's where we stopped providing you with the eloquent service we pride ourselves on. The information you've provided to us has been shared with our leadership team to be able to provide better, more consistent service to all of our guests and ensure this does not happen again. I hope this does not deter you from staying with us again.
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuiteDining Pool & BeachBusiness Centre & Event Rooms
Previous
how much is parking?
Dear FrequentFlier94737, Valet parking is $70 per day with in and out privileges. There is a self parking option (not hotel affiliated) nearby on Ohio street that is close to $50 per day.
0 votes
Show all answers
Hi! How are the hotel rooms I believe newly renovated? Also is there a bar in the lobby?
Hello britty123, and thank you for your question. While we have not had a full renovation recently, we are constantly striving to maintain and upkeep our hotel to that of a "newly renovated" property. Our lobby bar is a cafe that serves drinks during the lunch and dinner hour however our hotel bar is on the 3rd floor, where our main restaurant is. I hope that helps to answer some of your questions, please let me know if I may assist further.
0 votes
Show all answers
Do all the rooms come with a fireplace?
Thank you for your question. No, not all of our guest rooms feature a fireplace, although majority of our rooms do. The room types that -do not - are the superior king rooms and the deluxe room with 2 queen beds (both standard and accessible) types. All other room types do have a fireplace.
1 vote
Show all answers
We are flying to O'Hare - how much is a taxi to the hotel? Alternatively, what is the easiest way to reach it by public transport (we will each have two suitcases!)
We took Uber from the train station with about 6 suitcases and it was about $15.
0 votes
Show all answers
Is there a hot tub?
The bathroom tub is large, but not a jacuzzi or hot tube. The spa does have a very nice jacuzzi(men's).
0 votes
Show all answers
Previous
"Rooms with fireplace for a winter night!"
"The higher the better. Also overlooking either south(towards downtown) or the lake."
"hotel is very quiet so all rooms are good in this respect."
"Go elsewhere!"
"Choose a high floor to avoid the city noise"
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$284 - US$638 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Elysian Hotel Chicago
LOCATION
United StatesIllinoisChicagoCentralNear North Side
NUMBER OF ROOMS
215
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing