We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hotel Felix

Show Prices
#116 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
GreenLeadersGold level
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hotel Felix
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,554 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hotel Felix
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,430: English reviews
Roma
Reviewed 26 July 2013

The first look at the hotel is fascinating: design furniture and an architectural sudy for the hall... Rooms on the contrary are anonymous. Size of the queen beds looks reduced if compared with the standard, and the room space is poor. No frigobar in the room! Looks suprising for such an hotel! Bathroom clean, with some little defects. Major problem...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank egegeg
georgejordan, General Manager at Hotel Felix, responded to this review

Thank you for your review egegeg. While our rooms are cozy in nature, we're proud to be Chicago's first eco-friendly hotel. For future reference we recommend removing all personal items from the room before checking out. Thanks again and we hope you have a nice day.

Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewed 25 July 2013

We were able to book our nights at Felix for $100 a night through Priceline - a steal for Chicago! The hotel was very conveniently located by many good restaurants and just blocks from the Red Line - which we took a couple times to go to the South Side (Soldier Field and White Sox game). We also utilized the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Laura M
georgejordan, General Manager at Hotel Felix, responded to this review

Thank you for your review Laura M! That is absolutely fantastic that you took advantage of the Divvy station close by. It's so convenient and a wonderful way to take in the city. We're glad you enjoyed our eco-friendly rooms and, as you noted, guests can absolutely request a refrigerator for their rooms, pending availability. We're also glad you enjoyed...

San Francisco, California
Reviewed 25 July 2013

We booked through Priceline, and, of course hadn't heard of it previous to that experience. There are a lot of reason I can elaborate upon. however, I think I will sum this up as stating that I now know of 1 more "Hole in The Wall" hotels in Chicago that I will certainly avoid in the future if the need...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank HumpboldtCounty
georgejordan, General Manager at Hotel Felix, responded to this review

Hello lightbeing, thank you for your review of our hotel. While our rooms are cozy in nature, we're proud to be Chicago's first eco-friendly LEED certified hotel. Thanks again and we hope you have a nice day.

Los Angeles, California
Reviewed 23 July 2013

This was probably my worst hotel stay of my life. Booked on Hotwire through the mystery hotel thing. 4 star hotel? No chance. First of all, upon checking in, there was already a guy at the front desk complaining that they hadn't changed the sheets from the previous guest in his room...for obvious reasons. The rooms are TINY, seriously, like...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Matthew B
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Very good room and the location can't be beat. Walking distance to many attractions, bars and night clubs. It was my first time Stash brand property. Has a look and feel of a Kimpton with out the animal prints. Rooms are clean but on the small side. Bathrooms are well appointed. Don't get the package with breakfast. Too many places...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank beantownchick
georgejordan, General Manager at Hotel Felix, responded to this review

Hello beantownchick, thank you for your review! We're glad you enjoyed our decor, washrooms, and location in the heart of downtown Chicago, steps from the city's finest restaurants, shopping and attractions. Thanks again and we hope to see you again soon.

Madison, WI
Reviewed 22 July 2013

We spent two nights at the Hotel Felix and as others have pointed out, the rooms are quite small. However, the hotel was very clean, the staff were friendly, and it is located in the fabulous River North neighborhood. We will try and stay in this neighborhood when we come back in the future. It has more of a local...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank WITravler
georgejordan, General Manager at Hotel Felix, responded to this review

Hello WITravler, thanks for your review! We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us and took advantage of our fantastic River North location. We hope you have a great day and thanks again.

Reviewed 21 July 2013

Hotel Felix was everything I needed in a hotel with some added pleasant surprises! I was a bit worried after reading the negative reviews that I would be disappointed because I expect a high standard when staying in a hotel... However my expectations were met and exceeded from the minute that I checked in and I believe the negative reviews...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank mustngshelley
georgejordan, General Manager at Hotel Felix, responded to this review

Thank you for your review mustngshelley! We're thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us and truly appreciate your helpful review. We hope you have a wonderful day and thank you again! See you soon!

Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewed 17 July 2013

I stayed here for 3 nights and got the room through Priceline Name Your Price. I know using this is often risky when traveling with 3 people, needing 2 double beds. I've used the Name Your Price feature many many times and have gotten great deals at hotels such as Westin in Ft. Lauderdale and Boston, InterContinential Montreal, Sheraton Manhattan....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank cwm8718
georgejordan, General Manager at Hotel Felix, responded to this review

Thank you for your review Amanda J! Regarding the room situation, we're only able to book rooms based upon what is available at the time of booking. We're glad Claudia was able to assist you and we're looking into the issue you mentioned with Chad and will provide remedial training as necessary. Thank you again and have a nice day.

Reviewed 15 July 2013 via mobile

This hotel was very tiny-- narrow halls, very small rooms, and small bathrooms. BUT was in a great location and was very clean. The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. The decor was pretty and modern.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Cjones0368
georgejordan, General Manager at Hotel Felix, responded to this review

Thank you for your review Cjones0368! While our rooms are cozy in nature, we're proud of our eco-friendly efforts. We thank you again for your review and we hope you have a nice day!

Lawrenceville, GA
Reviewed 11 July 2013

I had the single queen. It is about the size of a lower cabin on a ship. It is extremely small; I think the smallest hotel room in which I have ever stayed. Here's your ups and downs: THE UPS: revitalized older hotel in great area, older brick on the outside, new and sleek on the inside. It gives the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bday1261
georgejordan, General Manager at Hotel Felix, responded to this review

Hello bday1261, thanks for your review! We're happy you enjoyed our chic and modern decor, super comfortable bedding, high-end amenities and hard working staff. While our rooms are cozy in nature, we're proud of our eco-friendly efforts. Thank you again and we hope you have a great week!

636 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (281)
Viewed
View from Room (19)
Viewed
Room/Suite (69)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (58)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (28)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (102)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (350)
Viewed
Amenities (84)
Viewed
Deluxe King Room (62)
Viewed
Dining (29)
Viewed
Standard Double Room (60)
Viewed
Standard Queen Room (54)
Viewed
The Hotel (61)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
The Godfrey Hotel Chicago
dana hotel and spa
#49 of 187 in Chicago
3,277 reviews
Gold Coast
The Whitehall Hotel
The Whitehall Hotel
#63 of 187 in Chicago
1,358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gold Coast
The Tremont Chicago Hotel at Magnificent Mile
Magnificent Mile
Warwick Allerton-Chicago
Warwick Allerton-Chicago
#102 of 187 in Chicago
1,485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
GreenLeadersGold level
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Concierge
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
4-star boutique luxury hotel in hip River North district, steps to Mag Mile / Galleries / Clubs. Sophisticated Accommodations; Relaxed Rates. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Felix

Address: 111 W Huron St, Chicago, IL 60654-8706
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Price Range: €107 - €464 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Felix 4*
Number of rooms: 225
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Felix reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Felix Hotel Chicago
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Chicago
#32 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#67 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Felix staff and other travellers.
11 questions
Ask a question
Sydney, Australia
11 months ago
athens, alabama, United States
1 month ago
2 months ago

See all questions (11)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Felix staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If you can, get a room on the south side...the views are really spectacular down Grant St.”
 of 5 bubbles JimFlyer2010, 29 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Lots of excellent dining and entertainment nearby”
 of 5 bubbles cassiebrisbane2016, 16 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Pick a different hotel”
 of 5 bubbles sctgurumaster, 12 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room on higher floor.”
 of 5 bubbles VJH95, 7 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Higher rooms away from the elevator are very quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles RachelF940, 12 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5