We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Best Western River North Hotel

Save
Share
125 W Ohio St, Chicago, IL 60654-4410
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotel direct offer!$25 Gift Card Promotion
US$203
US$159
View Deal
SAVE US$44
Hotels.com
eDreams
Travelocity
Snaptravel
ZenHotels.comUS$203
View all 15 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (379)
Room & Suite (284)
Videos (6)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
Read more
Updated 06/11/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 06/11/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#71 of 213 hotels in Chicago
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Experience the Windy City from the only downtown Chicago hotel that offers deeply discounted parking and convenient location just minutes from Michigan Avenue and Navy Pier! The award-winning BEST WESTERN River North Hotel is an affordable and convenient choice for business and leisure travelers alike. Offering great rates, this downtown Chicago hotel makes it easy to explore the city's most famous attractions, from Navy Pier to Sears Tower. World-class shopping along Michigan Avenue's Magnificent Mile is just six blocks away. Some of Chicago's most famous museums are less than two miles away, and visitors of all ages delight in exploring Shedd Aquarium, the Adler Planetarium and the Field Museum of Natural History. And what visit to Chicago is complete without a ball game? Whether its baseball, basketball or football, this Chicago BEST WESTERN is within five miles of Wrigley Field, Soldier Field, The United Center and US Cellular Field. In addition to deeply discounted parking in downtown Chicago, business travelers appreciate that this Chicago hotel is conveniently located near educational, medial and machinery businesses, the Chicago Financial District, and the Chicago Loop Business District. Chicago O'Hare International Airport is just 12 miles away from this Chicago hotel.The BEST WESTERN River North Hotel is known for its great service, friendly staff, cleanliness and amenities that make guests feel at home. Our nicely appointed rooms and suites offer cable TV with HBO(R), free high-speed Wi-Fi, room service, a coffee maker and much more. After a busy day in the bustling city, guests at this Chicago hotel can enjoy a deep-dish pizza at our onsite restaurant, take a dip in our indoor pool, or relax on the sun deck and take in the marvelous city views.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Valet parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Evening entertainment
Kids stay free
Taxi service
Paid public parking on-site
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Complimentary instant cofffee
Vending machine
Business Centre with Internet Access
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Sun terrace
ATM on site
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Bath / shower
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Flatscreen TV
On-demand films
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Family
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish, Arabic
Hotel links
Special Offer:$25 Gift Card Promotion
3,041Reviews63Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 1,307
  • 1,102
  • 392
  • 151
  • 89
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
tisha279 wrote a review Feb 2021
2 contributions
The rate was good, the parking at $25 was reasonable, the rooms were clean and the staff was friendly. The problem was the other guests disregarding the no smoking policy. The 4th and 5th floor reeked of marijuana. It even came through the ventilation in our room. It was awful. There really wasn't anything the front desk could do, so hopefully your visit won't have the offenders that were there when we were.The hotel had a good pool use policy in place with timed sessions and wrist bands. Unfortunately, when our time was available, the pool was murky looking and the temperature was too cool to enjoy, so we just went back to our room.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Date of stay: February 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from River North Hotel, General Manager at Best Western River North Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you for staying with us and sharing your comments. We are pleased that you found the hotel to be clean and the staff friendly. As you mentioned, we are a 100% smoke free property and guests must agree to this policy upon check in. We have a process in place to try and identify violations in the policy and address them. We hope to see you again in the future.
Read more
Dyck wrote a review Jul 2020
2 contributions
Hotel's Favourite
I searched many hotels in downtown Chicago and this was the best value for money. The two separate buildings were a bit awkward but were not that big of a problem. The rooms were spacious for our family of four. A great feature is the view from the upper balcony where the pool is located. We have some great evening photos from this spot in our trip album. The front desk staff were very friendly and we loved being able to come for an ice cream treat at the end of each day. We made use of the great location downtown and walked to most of the sites we wanted to see, leaving our car in the parking spot. A free breakfast would have been nice but there are restaurants within walking distance if needed.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from River North Hotel, General Manager at Best Western River North Hotel
Responded 4 Aug 2020
Thank you for choosing our hotel and sharing your comments. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and the service from our team. We hope to see you again on your next family vacation.
Read more
First_responderRN wrote a review Feb 2021
Chicago, Illinois1 contribution
Belongings left unreturned or not found. Reservations interpreted improperly and yelled at me to get out within 15 minutes. Deposit not returned. Room freezing. Not a place for business travel. Good location for a one nighter? Maybe?!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Date of stay: February 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
Helpful
Share
Response from River North Hotel, General Manager at Best Western River North Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you for sharing your comments, it is through feedback such as yours that we are bale to make improvements. Comments such as yours are not typical of our hotel and we welcome additional details so we can research. Please email reservations@rivernorthhotel.com with the details of your stay.
Read more
Sightseer77724 wrote a review Feb 2021
1 contribution
I took my kids for a night in town here because their pool is open and the room price was reasonable. There were no pool reservations available when we got there. It was snowing when we got there and the parking lot is outdoor, not valet and it's $25 (with in-out privileges). The lobby (which wreaked of weed) is small and awkward and there were a bunch of people waiting for help when I got there. Had to go back outside in the snow to get to the elevator to our room. Our room was tiny and outdated except for some new chairs and granite countertops in a bathroom with black/white check tiles from the 70's. There was even clear caulk over caked-on dust that looked like it hadn't been cleaned in decades. There was a 1' gap and draft under our door to the hall which made us nervous with Covid. The two double beds were comfy and the mattresses and box springs all had new looking bug proof covers on them which made me feel better about staying. Our room overlooked the parking lot and the renovated Rock n Roll McDonalds--not the worst. Although the rates are cheap for being downtown Chicago, it wasn't worth it. Next time I'll spring for a better hotel.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Date of stay: February 2021
Value
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from River North Hotel, General Manager at Best Western River North Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you for sharing your feedback as it gives us opportunities to improve. We do apologize your stay was less than expected. Due to current mandates from city and state government, we are required to limit the occupancy on indoor spaces such as the lobby and pool area. We have set up a required reservation system for pool usage and each guest has a time limit. Even with this in place, there can be times of high demand where no spaces are available. We look forward to a time when these restrictions are no longer required. Our hotel had a complete renovation that was finished in 2018, which included all guest rooms, guest bathrooms and public spaces. We hope you will give us a second chance to impress you.
Read more
Bruce wrote a review Jan 2021
Shawnee, Kansas1 contribution
This is what you dream of...a tough situation that requires you to blow into town for one day in order to personally handle a mess. Lots on your mind and you find a front desk clerk (Katie) who is just down to earth enough, understanding and savvy enough... takes care of everything and leaves you to rest and do your thing! My car was even taken care of!!!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Date of stay: January 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
Helpful
Share
Response from River North Hotel, General Manager at Best Western River North Hotel
Responded 4 weeks ago
Thank you so much for sharing you comments of your recent experience at Best Western River North. We are so pleased that Katie helped make your time in Chicago less stressful. Our goal is to make all our guests time in Chicago as pleasant as it can be. We hope to see you again sometime in the future.
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$93 - US$261 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
best western chicago, chicago best western
LOCATION
United StatesIllinoisChicagoCentral / Near North Side / River North
NUMBER OF ROOMS
150
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Best Western River North Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Best Western River North Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Blue Chicago (0.05 km), Andy's Jazz Club (0.4 km), and Museum of Broadcast Communications (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Best Western River North Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Best Western River North Hotel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and blackout curtains.
What food & drink options are available at Best Western River North Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Best Western River North Hotel?
Yes, a parking garage, paid private parking nearby, and paid public parking on-site are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Best Western River North Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Steak 48, Doughnut Vault, and IO Godfrey.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Best Western River North Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Best Western River North Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Best Western River North Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, and Arabic.
Are there any historical sites close to Best Western River North Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Garfield Park Conservatory (7.1 km), The Rookery Building (1.4 km), and Macy's on State Street (1.0 km).
Is Best Western River North Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.