We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hostelling International Chicago

Hostelworld.comUS$73*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$137*
US$73*
Great Deal
US$131*
US$137*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Professional photos
Hostelling International Chicago
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

759 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hostelling International Chicago
See the most recent reviews
Showing 479: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 June 2015 via mobile

I am reviewing based on the communications done just yesterday with HI Chicago and I have decided to not even stay with them after receiving such rude response! I contacted them to check on pricing for non HI members as it was not stated on the website. After the second email, they responded so rudely saying "be specific now, how...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Hwei36
Paul C, Manager at Hostelling International Chicago, responded to this review

My apologies for the communication error. Not all our staff speak english as their first language and therefore from time to time is misunderstood. We have retrained and did some reassignment of responsibilities to avoid such further misunderstand in communication. Thanks for your feedback.

Reviewed 31 May 2015 via mobile

I stayed with my two friends for two nights in this hostel and we had an awesome time in chicago!! We took the blue line from the airport and had to walk just 5 min from the metro station to the hostel. We were so early before check-in, that we could leave our suitcases in a safety room without paying...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank LauraGrwr
Paul C, Manager at Hostelling International Chicago, responded to this review

Thanks for your feedback.

Honolulu, Hawaii
Reviewed 27 May 2015 via mobile

I've stayed at hostels before in Boston and Sydney, Australia and although this one was convenient it was not as clean our fresh as I'm used to. We,3 of us, started in the private room with a shared bath. Shared with the other private rooms. Bathroom was clean tho, it was just the carpets in the room were a little...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank awalua
Paul C, Manager at Hostelling International Chicago, responded to this review

Thanks for your feedback.

Sydney
Reviewed 19 May 2015 via mobile

Cheapish ($118/single room with shared bathroom - but compared to hotel rooms nearby, this is cheap). Very centrally located, near everything and easy for public transit. Good wifi, very ordinary brekkie. Many people sharing each shower/loo - but they were fairly clean considering. Friendly desk staff and efficient 24h checkin.

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Cyberpanda
Paul C, Manager at Hostelling International Chicago, responded to this review

Thanks for your feedback.

Stockholm, Sweden
Reviewed 12 May 2015 via mobile

Yes it is right in the heart of Chicago and yes it is clean. However, I personally think that it has lack of character. Reminded me of a college dorm with its long corridors and it's public bathroom with ten people in at same time. A big group of 14 years old checked in and also 60 something olds who...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank SadieY82
Paul C, Manager at Hostelling International Chicago, responded to this review

Thanks for your feedback.

Moscow, Russia
Reviewed 7 May 2015

It's absolutely the best place to stay in Chicago. Frankly speaking, it doesn't feel as hostel at all since there're a wc and a bathroom in each room. I haven't used public transport during my stay, because almost all places of interest are within walking distance from the hostel. Wi-fi works perfectly!!! The only thing i din't like is that...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank KateIlyushina
Paul C, Manager at Hostelling International Chicago, responded to this review

Thanks for your feedback.

Kenosha, Wisconsin
Reviewed 26 April 2015 via mobile

I decided to stay here for a few days at C2E2. The last time I stayed at a hostel in Chicago, it was farther away from the center than I would have liked. The location of this hostel is fantastic--1.5 blocks to Michigan Ave and tons of bus routes. The beds were comfy, but I had an upper and the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pamela_Jean0
Paul C, Owner at Hostelling International Chicago, responded to this review

Thanks for the feedback.

Silverthorne, Colorado
Reviewed 20 April 2015

I considered myself to be a "seasoned" traveler, obviously I am not, as I had not previously tried out the experiences the hostel could offer. Fortunately, all of the hotels in Chicago were sold out for the night I needed lodging and the least expensive option was about $400 for one night. Expedia listed Hostelling International option for about 1/10th...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Flyer P
Paul C, Manager at Hostelling International Chicago, responded to this review

Thanks for the feedback.

Reviewed 10 April 2015

This was by far the best hostel I have ever stayed in! I stayed in a 2-room suite (4 beds/room + kitchenette + bathroom + living room) and simply loved my stay there. The room and bathroom were quiet (even though we were eight people sharing it) and never busy that we needed to queue. On the second floor there...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Joana D
Paul C, Owner at Hostelling International Chicago, responded to this review

Thanks for the feedback.

Orlando, Florida
Reviewed 2 April 2015

I usually travel alone, so there is limited interaction with people. I enjoyed this first experience at a Hostel because it was the best of both worlds, the surroundings of a 3 or 4 star hotel and the opportunity to meet and interact with people of all ages from the age of 20 to well over 60, from all over...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank thalya50
Paul C, Manager at Hostelling International Chicago, responded to this review

Thanks for the feedback.

535 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (317)
Viewed
Room/Suite (74)
Viewed
Dining (45)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (28)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (25)
Viewed
View from Room (11)
Viewed
Other (117)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (213)
Viewed
Amenities (69)
Viewed
Group Room - Eight Beds (28)
Viewed
Private Room (15)
Viewed
Private Room with Bathroom (27)
Viewed
Standard Room with Shared Bathroom (40)
Viewed
The Hotel (34)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
The Silversmith Hotel
The Silversmith Hotel
#18 of 187 in Chicago
2,002 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
The Palmer House Hilton
The Palmer House Hilton
#99 of 187 in Chicago
8,508 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Hotel Blake Chicago
Hotel Blake Chicago
#33 of 187 in Chicago
1,895 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Chicago Athletic Association Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
Renaissance Blackstone Chicago Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
Hilton Chicago
Hilton Chicago
#97 of 187 in Chicago
4,799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Downtown / The Loop

Neighbourhood Profile
Downtown / The Loop
Often visitors' first stop in Chicago, The Loop is a good starting point to sample the city's energy and flavor. This central business district boasts Michelin-rated restaurants, upscale hotels, premier shopping, and enough arresting architecture to keep your camera busy for hours. You won’t find too many photo galleries of downtown Chicago without a shot of Millennium Park and Cloud Gate (“The Bean”), one of the most iconic landmarks in the city. A stunning skyline coupled with cultural attractions like the Art Institute of Chicago present a Downtown where work and play peacefully coexist.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Breakfast included
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Hostelling International Chicago

Address: 24 East Congress Parkway, South Loop, Chicago, IL 60605-1226
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Price Range: €42 - €148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Hostelling International Chicago 1.5*
Number of rooms: 300
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Priceline, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hostelling International Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostelling International Chicago Summer Hotel Chicago
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hostelling International Chicago staff and other travellers.
29 questions
Ask a question
Youngstown, Ohio
over a year ago
5 days ago
8 months ago

See all questions (29)

Questions? Get answers from Hostelling International Chicago staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Bring something to cover your eyes and ears incase you are a lite sleeper.”
V6323KProbertd, 17 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Rooms on higher floors (six or higher) have less street noise”
gablesptsa, 10 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Higher floors will be quieter because the lower floors have a train line outside the window.”
JakeHRose, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
“they even up-graded to a private room!”
, 4 Jul 2016 | Read review
“All the 09 sets of rooms, room 4 are the furthest away from the L”
materago, 15 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Hostelworld.com
US$73* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$131
Hotwire.comUS$137
Expedia.comUS$137
View all 11 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates