We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Mermaid's Secret - Riverside Retreat

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rosalie
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Mermaid\\
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

172 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Mermaid's Secret - Riverside Retreat
See the most recent reviews
Showing 152: English reviews
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 April 2016

Definitely stay here when visiting Dominica! Mermaid’s Secret is fantastic; we can’t praise it highly enough. Owners Tim and Sam are incredibly helpful with excellent local knowledge and advice for day trips and getting around. We arrived on Easter Monday and couldn't pick up supplies, so Tim offered to make us lunch. We were also offered lifts to Roseau, snorkels,...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank carlygilfillan
Stan0, Owner at Mermaid's Secret - Riverside Retreat, responded to this review

Thanks for your very kind review Carly. We enjoyed having you guys stay and are pleased you had a nice time. It really was our pleasure to welcome you here. The boiling lake was a nice day out and at last thanks to you and William I now know some names of those weird and wonderful coloured rocks in the...

Albany, New York
Reviewed 25 March 2016

After booking a stay with Sam and Tim to arrive when 'Erica' did, we re-booked our trip and made it down. What a fantastic experience. Sam and Tim were great. We were greeted and treated like family. The Carib cabin was immaculate and comfortable. The atmosphere was relaxing and the grounds of their property were amazing. We had dinner and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Webs820
Stan0, Owner at Mermaid's Secret - Riverside Retreat, responded to this review

Thanks for your review Nik. It was lovely meeting you guys eventually so thanks for your determination to make it to Dominica and enjoy a stay with us here in the jungle. I'm glad you thought it was worth the trouble :-) Veronica's video of your spacehopper challenge is a classic. Well deserved Mermaid's secret cocktail prize winners! Cheers Tim

Nashville, Michigan
Reviewed 18 March 2016

Paradise survived Erika! We returned to check on the bar and re-stack the stones, but most of all to see the people. Their resilience shines through. We don't usually return to resorts but this is a Paradise in the rainforest. Friendly people, hiking, gardens lush with flowers, banana trees, birds and butterflies. The darkness, alive with things that chirp in...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Leta B
Stan0, Owner at Mermaid's Secret - Riverside Retreat, responded to this review

Thanks again Leta for your review and of course coming back for a second stay. It is always nice to welcome back previous guests especially when they like to help fix up our path down to the Mermaid's pool:-) best wishes from us all Tim Sam

York, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 March 2016

My husband and I stayed here for 7 nights in early February in the Carnival cabin. We had read the 5 star reviews but we found the reality to be even more welcoming, friendly and peaceful than we had anticipated. The cabin is comfortable with a simply equipped kitchen where you can prepare meals if you wish. We used it...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Ruth W
Stan0, Owner at Mermaid's Secret - Riverside Retreat, responded to this review

Thanks Ruth for posting this very kind review. We are glad you guys enjoyed your stay with us and you certainly had a full Dominica experience with a good mix of nature and culture. J'Ouvert was great fun and we plan to go again next year so if you fancy another 0215 alarm you know where to come:-) Best wishes...

St. Albert, Canada
Reviewed 21 February 2016

This was our second time to Dominica. We had initially thought we were going to camp. This of course we soon realized was a big mistake. Lucky enough Tim had a cabin available and we jumped on it . So for a couple of nights we got to enjoy hearing the rain on our roof instead of our tent and...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank shelley w
Stan0, Owner at Mermaid's Secret - Riverside Retreat, responded to this review

Thanks for posting your review Shelly. Glad you enjoyed your stay which was certainly enhanced by choosing a cabin over your tent ;-) Safe to say it hasn't been the driest dry season! Hopefully see you on your third visit Best wishes from us all Tim

Greenville, South Carolina
Reviewed 8 February 2016

My wife and I took another trip to Dominica in November of 2015. It was not long after the hurricane and things were getting back to normal for some but far from it for others. Well lets just say Mermaids Secret was one of those places. They have two bridges that one must cross by vehicle or foot to get...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Keith H
Stan0, Owner at Mermaid's Secret - Riverside Retreat, responded to this review

Hi Keith and Tina, thanks again for reviewing your stay with us. We are now back in full swing since Erika as our road and internet were restored just before Christmas. We certainly appreciate your enthusiasm for our little corner of paradise and knew it was no point trying to warn you off from coming as I remember you saying...

Reviewed 2 February 2016

I have to admit, we had some concerns booking the Carnival Cabin at Mermaid Secret. The internet was intermittent since Erika, so the responses from the owners were slower than what is typical; have no fear...this is absolutely beyond their control and they do try their best to respond as quickly as possible. In addition, my husband's primary concerns were...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Chris-n-LizZ
Stan0, Owner at Mermaid's Secret - Riverside Retreat, responded to this review

Hi Chris-n-Liz Thanks for you lovely review, we are just pleased that you enjoyed your stay so much....even without TV ;-) Erika has been a challenge for us as it has for many people. Thankfully we are leaving the effects behind, moving forward and getting back to normal here. Welcoming good fun guests like yourselves is what we enjoy, as...

New Mexico
Reviewed 31 January 2016

We returned to Dominica in December, a little apprehensive about what we would find after seeing all the horrible pictures of the damage storm Erica had done to so many parts of the island, including Tim and Sam's access road. We are happy to report that the road is fixed, that the island is as beautiful as ever, and that...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Katrin S
Stan0, Owner at Mermaid's Secret - Riverside Retreat, responded to this review

Hi Katrin Thanks once again for taking the time to review your stay with us. We very much appreciate your support and although due to internet problems we nearly missed your visit it was great welcoming you back again. The question remains when will you return next as you have done pre christmas, christmas and now new years eve! All...

Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 January 2016

I really cannot recommend this place enough! I couldn't of imagined a better holiday than when I stayed with Sam and Tim for two weeks last April. The surroundings around the site were so incredible. The entire site had this amazing atmosphere that did the island justice, making us feel comfortable and welcome as soon as we arrived. Mermaids secret...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank evestarkey11
Stan0, Owner at Mermaid's Secret - Riverside Retreat, responded to this review

Thanks Eve for this very nice review. Im glad you now feel inspired to travel as that can lead to many adventures, like it did for us. Im guessing as part of my entertainer role I didnt play my ukulele or maybe your review would have been less complementary;-)

Weymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 January 2016

amazing island with so much to do and beautiful sights, with brilliant hosts and fantastic area where you stay.everyday was new with different experiences that everyone should be enjoying. I will remember it for the rest of my life!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jon s
Stan0, Owner at Mermaid's Secret - Riverside Retreat, responded to this review

Thanks Jon for the review. If your memory starts to fade then please come back for a refresher :-) Glad you enjoyed this wonderfull island

157 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (152)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (49)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (23)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (44)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rosalie
26.5 km away
Pagua Bay House Oceanfront Cabanas
31.1 km away
Secret Bay
Secret Bay
#1 of 4 in Portsmouth
460 reviews
16.2 km away
Fort Young Hotel
Fort Young Hotel
#1 of 7 in Roseau
740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
30.3 km away
The Champs, Hotel, Restaurant & Bar
26.9 km away
Calibishie Cove
Calibishie Cove
#1 of 3 in Calibishie
206 reviews
14.8 km away
Roots Jungle Retreat
Roots Jungle Retreat
#1 of 3 in Marigot
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Mermaid's Secret currently offers a choice of accommodation options in either stylish, comfortable and fully equipped cabins or fully fitted Yurts for the more discerning camper. Located in the beautiful, lush Dominican rainforest on a site surrounded on three sides by three rivers with pools suitable for bathing and a riverside bar. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mermaid's Secret - Riverside Retreat

Address: Newfoundland Estate, Rosalie, Dominica
Region: Caribbean > Dominica > Saint David Parish > Rosalie
Price Range: €14 - €89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Mermaid's Secret - Riverside Retreat staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Mermaid's Secret - Riverside Retreat staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The yurt is one of the most romantic places we've ever styed in.”
 of 5 bubbles katlgoingplaces, 10 Jan 2017 | Read review
“The cabins and yurts are all great. If you're looking for a unique experience try one of the yurts.”
 of 5 bubbles letab2015, 18 Mar 2016 | Read review
“For people who like to get off the beaten path”
 of 5 bubbles shelleyw299, 21 Feb 2016 | Read review
“The sun yurt is economical and comfortable”
 of 5 bubbles Peeler441, 11 May 2015 | Read review
“We love the yurts as they are true definition of 'glamping' and the closest to the river for a swim...next year we will count the number of steps to the river's edge. Have stayed in the self contained cabins also and have highly recommended them to friends.”
  • Our yurt bedroom on RHS and on LHS bathroom and fully stocked kitchen with our own deck.
 of 5 bubbles 30janea, 20 Apr 2015 | Read review
5 of 5