We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The BlackSmith's Arms

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The BlackSmith\\
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

69 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 69: English reviews
Start your review of The BlackSmith's Arms
 Click to rate
Reviewed 25 March 2017 via mobile

Wouldn't stay here even if they paid me, rooms were dirty, the shower didn't work properly. The rooms were freezing, I actually slept in my work gear one night as It was snowing outside. If your thinking of staying here please look over the road as the hotel looks great!!!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hally1974
Blacklion H, Manager at The BlackSmith's Arms, responded to this review

Always interesting when someone reviews us over a month after their stay. It is, of course, a matter of expectations. If you were staying for several days it seems odd that you did not raise any concerns with the management at the time. It is, after all, virtually impossible not to bump into us at some point. Sorry if you...

portsmouth
Reviewed 20 March 2017

Stayed for a quick overnighter. Understand the owners haven't been in situ very long so I found writing a review a bit hard and wanted to allow for that. Our room was quite small but we felt a few simple and cheap fixes would have made a difference e.g.. toilet roll holder with no bit to put the roll on,don...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank theploppys
Blacklion H, Manager at The BlackSmith's Arms, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, although it does seem a trifle odd that you waited almost a month to submit it and did not mention any of these problems to us during your stay, which may have helped us to make your stay more enjoyable. As you rightly pointed out, the Blacksmiths Arms is under new management and we are...

Poulton le Fylde, null, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 March 2017

Steve & Vicky made us very welcome, there was a roaring fire and a feeling of cosyness about the pub. Steve showed us to our room, which was clean, modern and well equipped. Our doggy was also made very welcome. We stayed Fri & Sat night, the menu & the quality of the food was excellent as was the choice...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JudeNIan
Blacklion H, Manager at The BlackSmith's Arms, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your very positive review. Hope you had good journey home. It was a real pleasure to meet you both (and the dog). Look forward to seeing you again when you are in the area. Steve & Viki

Malmesbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 February 2017 via mobile

When you go to a pub the most important thing is good beer! With this in mind I felt compelled to try all four real ales and a stout. All thoroughly tested and recommended. Followed by a home made steak pie. Host and hostess top dollar

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Drewbinator0404
Blacklion H, Manager at The BlackSmith's Arms, responded to this review

Hi Andy and Jane. Thank you very much for your positive review. Much appreciated. Hope to see you again soon. Steve and Viki

Reviewed 10 February 2017 via mobile

Thank you Steve and Vicky great place very clean rooms Full English spot on hope to see you again soon, no shops out Steve is a Free House and sell's tobacco to is customers real Pub . We don't have any more pubs in Ludlow like this one any moor the one was The Church Inn .

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paul G
Blacklion H, Manager at The BlackSmith's Arms, responded to this review

Thank you Paul. It was a real pleasure to meet you and your family. Hope the 5 hour trip back wasn't too bad. Thank you for your lovely review. We hope we'll meet again, hopefully under happier circumstances. Steve and Viki

Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 January 2017 via mobile

I first stumbled across this pub before Xmas. I was with my fiancé and 3 yr old son and he was feeling travel sick so we just stopped at this pub never being there before thinking we would just stop off for a coffee and let my son out of the car for a bit. We walked in on a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Clair93
Blacklion H, Manager at The BlackSmith's Arms, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your positive review Claire. We were very pleased to welcome you and your friends and delighted that you felt that our level of service and quality was consistent with your original visit. We hope to see you again soon and good luck with the wedding arrangements. Steve & Viki

Reviewed 12 December 2016

English hotelkeeping as it used to be! All creaking floors and musty smells, beer rings on the dressing table, dribbling showers and radiators turned off in the middle of December. Next door had a good night though. Dinner was OK, but breakfast took an age. Had to ask for tea spoons, milk with the tea, toast (pale and flabby) for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tony S
Blacklion H, Manager at The BlackSmith's Arms, responded to this review

Dear Tony, Thank you for your review. I was more than a little surprised to read this as you appeared to be perfectly happy when I met you on departure, just after you had eaten breakfast. As our breakfasts are cooked individually, and to order, there can be an inevitable delay when 12 guests arrive at the tables almost simultaneously,...

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 November 2016

Arrived on on a cold rainy day and was welcomed by not one but two coal fires giving the pub a lovely cosy welcome. The food, we both had the home made pies, were delicious and reasonably priced. The room was small but clean and newly decorated, bed comfy and warm. Breakfast was excellent The new Managers, Viki and Steve,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank madge724
nig9, Manager at The BlackSmith's Arms, responded to this review

Dear Madge Many thanks for your lovely review. We are both very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. Regards Viki & Steve

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 November 2016

stayed 18/11/ to 19/11 2016 very warm welcome excellent hosts an a good pint and good food. would recommend this to anyone looking for real pub accommodation. Plenty of car parking with security cameras. Kay & Bob Hampson

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ketroman
nig9, Manager at The BlackSmith's Arms, responded to this review

Dear Kay & Bob Thank you for your kind review, both Steve and I are very pleased that you both enjoyed you stay with us. We hope that if you are ever in the area again, you will pass by and say hi. Regards Viki & Steve

Reviewed 2 November 2016

Bare in mind we later found out that it was the first day with new management. The bartender greeted us with a slightly scared and confused look when we arrived with our bags so we urged that we'd like to check in. "Has he told you what room you're in?" "no we booked online" "right." She pretended to know the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Rosie D
nig9, Manager at The BlackSmith's Arms, responded to this review

Hi Rosie, Thank you for your review. You quite rightly identified that it was our first day at the Blacksmith's Arms. Fawlty Towers is one of my favourite programmes, but I do think the title of your comment is perhaps a little over the top. The pub had been closed for 5 days in order to re-brand and re-name. We...

28 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (27)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (14)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Halland
0.1 km away
The Forge
The Forge
#1 of 1 in Halland
162 reviews
2.7 km away
East Sussex National
East Sussex National
#1 of 2 in Little Horsted
1,139 reviews
10.9 km away
Pelham House
Pelham House
#3 of 8 in Lewes
736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 km away
The Shelleys
The Shelleys
#5 of 8 in Lewes
361 reviews
6.4 km away
Buxted Park Hotel
Buxted Park Hotel
#1 of 3 in Uckfield
1,389 reviews
2.0 km away
The Blacksmiths Arms
The Blacksmiths Arms
#1 of 1 in Offham
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Traditional 19th century pub and Inn, near Lewes and Hailsham. Home cooked food and range of cask beers and real cider. A22 gives access to Eastbourne. Near to Glyndebourne opera and South Downs. Originally two blacksmith's cottages, it is first registered as an alehouse in 1881. You are assured of a warm welcome from Steve and Viki and the locals at this friendly East Sussex pub. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The BlackSmith's Arms

Address: Lewes Road, Halland, Lewes BN8 6PN, England (Formerly Black Lion Inn)
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Lewes > Halland
Price Range: €68 - €89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The BlackSmith's Arms 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your The BlackSmith's Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Lion Hotel Lewes
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The BlackSmith's Arms staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“only saw one room but very quiet”
ketroman, 20 Nov 2016 | Read review
“ask for a room not next to the fire escape”
PinkSapphire2012, 6 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Stay well clear of this place, any good reviews are clearly fake!”
Bertie1960, 21 Oct 2015 | Read review
“Can't help here. We were dining only.”
Traveller222222_22, 9 Sep 2015 | Read review
“Book direct for the best deals not all rooms are ensuite. so be sure to ask when booking”
romap813, 6 Jul 2015 | Read review
5 of 5