We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Mack's Inn Resort

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Macks Inn
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Mack\\
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

80 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Mack's Inn Resort
See the most recent reviews
Showing 79: English reviews
Calgary, Canada
Reviewed 24 August 2014

Seriously, if possible I would not give it one star. I went in with family of five for one night stay. Rented cabin number 47. Paid 118.80 including taxes. Smell in the cabin was terrible. I sent my husband to gas station across the street to buy air wick thinking that old cabin would smell. As soon as we entered...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Hardy C
Saint Louis, Missouri
Reviewed 21 August 2014

This place won't be confused with a Ritz-Carlton, but we needed a pet friendly, cheap base to go see Yellowstone for a couple of days. We had one of the cabins which was stark, but okay except the bathroom door wouldn't shut. For the price it was tolerable, but we would recommend spending a few extra bucks for something better.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Edudlevatr
Emporia, Kansas
Reviewed 8 August 2014

I got bumped from a reservation at Ponds Lodge and ended up staying at Mack's Inn. I was worried after reading the reviews here. I can't speak for the cabins but the room I got was a pleasant surprise. *Towels were snowy white *Bed linens clean *Carpeting had been updated in the last few years *No funny smells or bugs...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ReckyLou
idaho
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Beyond disgusting!! soo gross.......big huge holes between walls and the outside, webs everywhere, found two cockroaches that were at least 4 inches long and 2 inches wide!! floor was curling up in bathroom, dried stained cereal on bedding.....wanted to puke.....most amazing part....THEY DO NOT DO OR GIVE REFUNDS FOR ANY REASON WHATSOEVER!!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank luv2bluv
MacksInnResort, Manager at Mack's Inn Resort, responded to this review

We’re sorry for your experience during your stay with us. However, we don’t have cockroaches in this part of Idaho. We do have pine beetles, which are beetles that may appear similar to cockroaches if you have never seen them before, but are just normal bugs found in the forest. As we are located in a forested area, bugs and...

Boise, Idaho
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We rented two cabins at this dump July 2014 for $110 and $130 a night. It is certainly not as advertised. The "condos" are really the cheapest of hotel rooms. The cabins were horrible, holes in the walls, fridges with no handles, electrical wires without conduits (not sure how that is legal). It's true they are advertised as rustic but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nolandhc
MacksInnResort, Manager at Mack's Inn Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. We are continually working to make Mack’s Inn a better place to stay. Unfortunately, as for the sewer problem, we really don’t have control over that. I would love to hear what rooms or cabins you rented, so we can fix the refrigerator and the electrical wires as soon as possible.

Pocatello, Idaho, United States
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Many people seem to think that Mack's Inn is supposed to be a 5-star cabin/motel..well, *newsflash* Mack's Inn is a rustic cabin feature, full with antique decor and outdated amenities..Mack's is meant to be a getaway from the normality of uptown style living; a gateway to old western century style living..so if you're ready to live life without a tv,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank arms92
MacksInnResort, Manager at Mack's Inn Resort, responded to this review

Ms. Burmester would like to thank you for your kind words, and I appreciate you letting us know about your experience here at Mack’s Inn!

Sr
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

We had a great experience overall staying for a night in condo #63. The room was old & rustic, but comfortable and clean. The location was great and the river view in the front was very pleasant and soothing. There was a minor leak in the bathroom faucet but it did not matter much.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rizwan F
MacksInnResort, Manager at Mack's Inn Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words regarding our resort. We can’t get enough of the view of the river either!

Tulsa, Oklahoma
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Buildings in poor condition. Mice eating food stored on counter or stove. Sofa covered with pet hair and odor. Floor rug covered with stains, pet hair and odor. Beds were very old, swayed and springs popping every move you make. Hot water lasted about 5 minutes. Many short cuts taken on repairs and upkeep. Missing microwave that was in picture....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Brian J
MacksInnResort, Manager at Mack's Inn Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback. We are in the process of renovating our resort, but unfortunately it is a slow process. If you could please let us know which units you stayed in, we will be sure to do our best to work on those as soon as possible. Thank you again for allowing us this...

Stevenson, Washington
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We made reservations online for a one night stay at Mack's Inn. The photos online showed a nice motel room and a restaurant. We chose our room based on the photos. About two weeks before our check-in date, I called the Inn to ask about the restaurant hours and confirm that we would have a late check-in. The young lady...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lynne B
MacksInnResort, Manager at Mack's Inn Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments – we really do appreciate your feedback. We are constantly trying to improve our customer experiences. We made some changes to our resort since the previous year, and unfortunately not all of those changes have been reflected on our website yet. We are updating it now, and hope to have current pictures for all of...

Ogden, Utah
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Recently stayed at Mack's Inn in Island Park. Before I get to the not so good part, I want to say that the young lady at checking was amazing. She had a great personality and was very very helpful. The lodge is located in a beautiful spot on the river, it's just too bad they are letting it get so...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wine_loving_Chef

53 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (40)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Macks Inn
2.6 km away
Sawtelle Mountain Resort
Sawtelle Mountain Resort
#1 of 4 in Island Park
152 reviews
15.5 km away
Angler's Lodge
Angler's Lodge
#2 of 4 in Island Park
90 reviews
26.1 km away
BEST WESTERN Desert Inn
BEST WESTERN Desert Inn
#6 of 38 in West Yellowstone
638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.4 km away
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
#2 of 38 in West Yellowstone
626 reviews
2.7 km away
Timbers Condominiums at Island Park
25.5 km away
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
#7 of 38 in West Yellowstone
666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Mack's Inn Resort is the Heart of Island Park, Idaho. The west entrance to Yellowstone National Park is a 25-mile drive for a great day trip. Mack's Inn Resort has been the destination for generations of families and tourists since the turn of the 19th century. The vintage resort is nestled on the banks of the Henry's Fork, which is the North Fork of the famous Snake River. The Resort remains a favorite location for: Yellowstone visitors, kid-friendly vacations, group outings, holiday getaways, family reunions, camping trips and outdoor adventures You will also find Mack's Inn River Floats offering rentals of canoes, paddle boards, rafts and flat bottom boats. Step back in time, enjoy a bit of nostalgia, and create memories at this historic resort...Mack's Inn Resort! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mack's Inn Resort

Address: 4292 N. U.S. Hwy. 20, Macks Inn, ID 83433
Region: United States > Idaho > Macks Inn
Number of rooms: 50
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Mack's Inn Resort staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Mack's Inn Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“It is a campground.”
 of 5 bubbles 659robertag, 14 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Fun to be on the riverfront, The East end is furthur from Highway 20 with less noise.”
 of 5 bubbles egamer25, 25 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Ask about amenities before booking.”
 of 5 bubbles gail3845, 22 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Advertisement didn't indicate it was a multi-story and we ended up on the 2nd floor. Very noisy - avoid those.”
 of 5 bubbles kcoleman2346, 30 Jun 2016 | Read review
“You get wi-fi by the office. We like cabins 48 & 49.”
 of 5 bubbles BrandonH527, 30 Jul 2015 | Read review
5 of 5