We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Red Lion Hotel Boise Downtowner

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Red Lion Hotel Boise Downtowner
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

420 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Red Lion Hotel Boise Downtowner
See the most recent reviews
Showing 419: English reviews
Klamath Falls, Oregon
Reviewed 13 April 2015

We were in town for the Boise Inter Am at the Owyhee motocross track. Staff is alway helpful and polite, from desk staff to housekeeping. Rooms are nice and always clean. Only problem we had was a microwave that wouldn't work, the child lock was on and would not unlock. Hotter water in the shower would have been nice, never...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank rgul
RL828, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Boise Downtowner, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to submit a review on our property and your time with us. We value the input of all of our guests and are very pleased that you had a positive experience. We do hope that you will come and visit us again and if there is anything we can do to assist...

Boise, Idaho
Reviewed 13 April 2015

We were celebrating last weekend and decided to stay in downtown vs. take a cab home both nights. I have stayed at this hotel quite a few times in the past and have always been pleased. I was not happy with the cleanliness of the hotel or our room. Overall it was very dirty. The hallways, the elevator, the stairs,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nikele_W
RL828, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Boise Downtowner, responded to this review

I would like to extend my appreciation for the time you spent sharing your observations with us. I am truly sorry that you had a less than perfect stay. The points you addressed are very understandable and we appreciate you bringing them to our attention. We will take action to correct the items you mentioned. Sincerely, Ken Kester General Manager

Reviewed 11 April 2015 via mobile

While the hotel is what I have come to expect from Red Lions, I was very impressed with the bar staff. The group of people in the bar were incredibly rude to John the bartender. Although clearly understaffed for the number of people in the bar, John and the waitress were running their butts off to get everyone food and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dsmith73
RL828, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Boise Downtowner, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive comments regarding our staff in the restaurant and bar. I will certainly pass on your comments to the staff working the night of your visit. Ken Kester General Manager

Buhl, Idaho
Reviewed 23 March 2015

I have stayed here many times. This time the gentleman that helped me check-in was rude and helpful at the same time. This is the first time that I have been treated rudely. I will return in the future due to the location and quality. When we stay on the third floor it is always a party floor.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mytime2shine
RL828, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Boise Downtowner, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your experience here at the Red Lion Hotel Boise Downtowner. We realize that you can stay anywhere and we thank you for choosing the Red Lion Hotel Boise Downtowner. I am truly sorry that your check-in process didn't go as smoothly as usually. We hope to see you again...

Tualatin, Oregon
Reviewed 17 March 2015

This hotel is vintage 1060's (I think), but they do a good job in updating internally. Great value for price. I was there with my husband for a conference at the Cathedral of the Rockies. I love that they provide airport shuttle at no cost. The staff is very nice and helpful. the rooms are large, clean and comfortable. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Emilie K
RL828, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Boise Downtowner, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to submit a review on our property and your time with us. We value the input of all of our guests and are very pleased that you had a positive experience. We do hope that you will come and visit us again and if there is anything we can do to assist...

Idaho Falls, Idaho
Reviewed 16 March 2015

we enjoyed our stay at this hotel. the beds are the main reason we stay, super comfy. the rooms are clean. the bathrooms are updated and have a nice large shower head. location is good, we walked most places downtown. there is also a shuttle every half hour that will take you most places in the area. ( tipping is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kerryannelewis
RL828, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Boise Downtowner, responded to this review

We appreciate you taking the time to comment about your stay with us as your feedback is important when providing our guests excellent service. Thank you for writing about your positive experience on Trip Advisor and recommending our hotel to others. We value you as a guest and we are always looking for ways to enhance our guest experience. We...

Pocatello, Idaho
Reviewed 11 March 2015

Nice room on ground floor. Good location close to city center. Available shuttle a welcome surprise. The only "issue" I had was coverage at the front desk. When I checked in the gentleman behind the counter was very friendly and informative. When I came back to the front desk later that evening and when I went to check out in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Debie2004
RL828, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Boise Downtowner, responded to this review

It was a great pleasure reading the thorough review you wrote about our property recently. The points you addressed are very understandable and we appreciate you bringing them to our attention. Sincerely, Ken Kester General Manager

Henderson, Nevada
Reviewed 1 February 2015

The staff at this hotel are the best; so friendly and accommodating. Whether it's the front desk staff such as Autumn, Ben, Pat, Beth, or the dining room staff, Amy and Tess, or the housekeepers, they greet you warmly and often. We love that it is so pet-friendly and the beds are the best! And Larry and Dean are readily...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank cheryltapp
RL828, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Boise Downtowner, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to submit a review on our property and your time with us. I appreciate that you took the time to recognize so many of our outstanding staff members. I do hope that you will come back and visit us again and if there is anything I can do to assist you with...

Carnation, Washington
Reviewed 25 January 2015

It is a great place to stay. I like that room, the fact that you don't have to leave, the bar is there and you can get breakfast and be on our way. Ben was especially helpful and very kind. I checked out several rates and Red Lion was by far the least expensive.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ken345
RL828, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Boise Downtowner, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review on our property and your time with us. We value the input of all of our guests and are very pleased that you had a positive experience. Thanks for sharing your comments regarding Ben. Ben does a very good job. I will share your comments with Ben. Ken Kester General...

Reviewed 22 January 2015

Recently stayed one night, opened my room and walked in and was overwhelmed with the smell of smoke. Called the front seat and Patrick immediately solved the problem without question getting me into a room in the tower. Most negative impressions can be negated with good customer service and such was the case in this scenario. Nice work Patrick. I'll...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Gleasonx
RL828, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Boise Downtowner, responded to this review

We were thrilled to know that you had a great time with us during your recent stay. Thank you for taking the time to write nice comments about Patrick. I will certainly share your comments with Patrick. Thank you for writing about your positive experience on Trip Advisor and recommending our hotels to others! We appreciate the support! Sincerely, Ken...

29 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (19)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boise hotels
0.6 km away
Modern Hotel and Bar
Modern Hotel and Bar
#7 of 57 in Boise
692 reviews
1.3 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Boise Downtown
1.3 km away
The Grove Hotel
The Grove Hotel
#8 of 57 in Boise
590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
The Riverside Hotel
The Riverside Hotel
#6 of 57 in Boise
649 reviews
0.9 km away
Safari Inn Downtown
Safari Inn Downtown
#32 of 57 in Boise
128 reviews
6.0 km away
Oxford Suites Boise
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
An ideal location in the center of everything and conveniently located off I-184 in the core of downtown Boise, Red Lion Hotel Boise Downtowner is just 15 minutes from the airport via our free airport transportation. Take a short drive to the State Capitol, the Boise Convention Center and many other popular attractions. We're just minutes away from the beautiful Boise River and Boise State University.182 fully renovated, comfortable guest rooms and two spacious suites welcome you to our seven-story, full-service property. Guest rooms feature 37" flat-screen televisions, microwaves, mini-refrigerators, phones and coffeemakers. Complimentary wi-fi is also available throughout the hotel, including all guest and meeting spaces. Take advantage our fitness center, whirlpool and swimming pool and take some time to explore Boise's Greenbelt jogging path, just steps away. Seven golf courses, shopping, skiing, rafting and the great Idaho outdoors are all close by.With 8,000 square feet of flexible meeting and banquet space, the Red Lion Hotel Boise Downtowner is a full service convention hotel able to accommodate up to 250 guests for your next conference or special occasion.This hotel offers a range of dining options, including a'la carte restaurant dining from an abbreviated menu to a cozy lounge in which to order appetizers and a beverage to enjoy with your Café2Go purchases. All select service hotels feature the Roaring Start Breakfast Buffet, Café2Go and catering services. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Red Lion Hotel Boise Downtowner

Address: 1800 Fairview Ave., Boise, ID 83702 (Formerly Doubletree Boise Downtowner)
Region: United States > Idaho > Boise
Price Range: €96 - €147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Lion Hotel Boise Downtowner 3*
Number of rooms: 182
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Red Lion Hotel Boise Downtowner reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Boise
Boise Red Lion
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Boise
#23 Business Hotel in Boise
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Red Lion Hotel Boise Downtowner staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
La Grande, Oregon

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Red Lion Hotel Boise Downtowner staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for north facing rooms, mountain views”
 of 5 bubbles Flutedude, 15 Jan 2017 | Read review
“pet room 231 is great”
 of 5 bubbles kadiehlers, 2 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Choose a different hotel”
 of 5 bubbles still442, 31 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Tower wing above the 3rd floor, with northerly view to the foothills and to avoid traffic noise from Fairview or Main.”
 of 5 bubbles benferg, 15 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Go for a higher floor.”
 of 5 bubbles ITravelMontana, 8 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5