We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Lake Chatuge Lodge

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Lake Chatuge Lodge
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

248 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 247: English reviews
Start your review of Lake Chatuge Lodge
 Click to rate
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Very friendly and helpful staff. Honestly, felt like I was talking with family. Great location, as well....so why the not great rating?? Facilities are old, not maintained as well as they could be. Dated rooms that don't "feel" as clean as they should. Again, the staff's friendliness and helpfulness are wonderful...just need to update the facilities!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kikidog1
LakeChatugeLodge, General Manager at Lake Chatuge Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review of your stay. I am happy that you and the staff got along so well. I apologize that you felt our facilities aren't well maintained. We have been updating throughout the whole hotel as often as we can. We just added air conditioning at the end of all three floors as well as cleaned...

Danielsville, United States
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed here just one night. Clean room. No issues. Prices were affordable. Super close for any concert at Anderson Music Hall! Easier to walk from motel than drive and park at the venue! On the lake with nice views. Close enough to the restaurant Hawg Wild BBQ to walk.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Misty P
LakeChatugeLodge, General Manager at Lake Chatuge Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful review. As you mentioned in your review, we are located next door to the Georgia Mountain Fairgrounds. I'm glad that you found the rooms clean because our housekeepers try very hard to make them feel that way. The newly opened Hawg Wild is located within distance and it's a wonderful restaurant to eat at. Our...

Bishop, Georgia
Reviewed 14 February 2017

Unexpected affordable pleasure found in a gorgeous setting. Mountain and Lake views. Elegant room with two comfortable queen size beds. Clean bathroom with all toiletries and shower cap supplied. Balcony overlooking sunset over the North Georgia Smokey Mountains. Free breakfast (Full hot items on Weekends.) Friendly, helpful staff.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Grandmommy3
LakeChatugeLodge, General Manager at Lake Chatuge Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for the great review of your stay. I'm glad that you found us. Our staff does an amazing job making guests feel welcome from being friendly to offering a clean room for you to stay in. I hope that you will be back soon to stay with us again and thank you for taking the time to comment...

Baton Rouge, Louisiana, United States
Reviewed 29 November 2016

We made two four-day stays here while visiting family in the area. the decor is basic wood, very appropriate for the outstanding views over the lake and surrounding mountains. Our room did not have a refrigerator or microwave. All rooms have a balcony or patio; the view is better from rooms on the east side. Staff is very "down home'...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Walter E
LakeChatugeLodge, General Manager at Lake Chatuge Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful review. I am glad that you were able to spend so many days here. I'm sorry that the wifi was "laggy" so I will have this looked at. You mentioned your room didn't have a refrigerator and that's true because only some king size rooms in the hotel do. You can request a fridge for...

Reviewed 18 November 2016 via mobile

If you're looking for peace and quiet with great views, this is the place. Some reviews have noted the lodge as being outdated but we found it a bit of a throwback, and amazingly charming. Yes the balcony seats are plastic.....so what. The staff could not have been more friendly and helpful. We will stay there again for sure !

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank zig5555
LakeChatugeLodge, General Manager at Lake Chatuge Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your amazing review. I appreciate your kind words in regards to the hotel being a "throwback". We do try to keep the rustic charm of the hotel while trying to update as needed. I will pass your kind remarks to the staff as well. Thank you again and I hope that you will be back...

Kodak, United States
Reviewed 18 November 2016

We were on our 50th wedding anniversary trip. We have stayed at the Lake Chatuge Lodge many times and have always been pleased. They had added the free breakfast when we went this time. It was average. They still have coffee and cookies in the lobby. The room was very clean and comfortable. We were on the 1st floor. I...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Roger G
LakeChatugeLodge, General Manager at Lake Chatuge Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for you celebrating your 50th wedding anniversary here at Lake Chatuge Lodge. As you mentioned, we do offer our continental breakfast along with 3 hot items on the weekends now. We do keep our coffee fresh 24 hours a day in lobby and we put out fresh cookies every afternoon at 3 pm. I understand your concern with...

Chatsworth, Georgia
Reviewed 14 November 2016

We spent one night here - Nov. 12th. Loved the location & the lobby was very nice. Sunday am the breakfast was very good, which included eggs, ham, & hash browns. Our room was very comfortable. We had everything we needed. We would stay here again.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Linda B
LakeChatugeLodge, General Manager at Lake Chatuge Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind remarks highlighting your stay. I am glad to see that you enjoyed your stay and that you will stay here again. Please call us anytime to make your future reservation 1 800 613 4349 and we will be happy to see you again. Thank you, Katie Stancil General Manager

Lake Worth, Florida
Reviewed 4 November 2016

We had a very pleasant experience at the Lake Chatuge Lodge. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. The room was clean and the beds were comfortable. I especially liked sitting in the Great room with the fireplace going in the evening. Lake and mountain views are great. Interiors could use a bit of updating. Would stay there again if...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kaemar24
LakeChatugeLodge, General Manager at Lake Chatuge Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words. I appreciate you taking the time to write some of the things you enjoyed during your stay. Our lobby is a great place to gather beside the fireplace in our new lobby furniture. I hope that you will be able to make a return trip to our wonderful area soon. Thank you again, Katie...

Reviewed 23 October 2016

Quiet motel in Haiwassee. The view of lake and mountains make it worthwhile, otherwise average hotel. Staff are very helpful and friendly. Walk to Chophouse restaurant, it's great! Buffet breakfast good

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Marcie S
LakeChatugeLodge, General Manager at Lake Chatuge Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay. Our hotel does offer great views of Lake Chatuge and the surrounding mountains. The Chophouse of Hiawassee is located on property but it is a little bit of a walk from the hotel. All downhill to get there and uphill on the way back. As you...

Fairfax County, Virginia
Reviewed 23 October 2016 via mobile

This business uses their location and cozy lobby to carry the weight of everyone's stay, however once in your room you will be sorely disappointed. We encountered a broken elevator for the duration of our 3 day stay, a toaster that sets off the fire alarm in the entire hotel DAILY, holes in our blankets, dirty walls, crumbling ceilings, outdated...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank novaisnotva
LakeChatugeLodge, General Manager at Lake Chatuge Lodge, responded to this review

I apologize that your stay wasn't a good one. I do hate when a guest leaves not satisfied. I would like to take the time to address a few of the concerns you mentioned in your review. The toaster oven was a new conveyor type that we were trying out to make it easier for our guests to toast certain...

66 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (56)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (18)
Viewed
View from Room (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hiawassee
4.6 km away
Ridges Resort & Marina
Ridges Resort & Marina
#1 of 6 in Hiawassee
637 reviews
29.6 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Helen
26.3 km away
Harrah's Cherokee Valley River Casino & Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 km away
Brasstown Valley Resort & Spa
Brasstown Valley Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Young Harris
820 reviews
1.7 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hiawassee
29.7 km away
Riverbend Motel & Cabins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Conference Facilities
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Conveniently located on Lake Chatuge in the North Georgia Mountains. Right next door to the Georgia Mountain Fairgrounds and Anderson Music Hall--all within walking distance. We offer free breakfast, USA Today, high speed wireless internet and parking. All rooms include private balcony or patio. Views of Lake Chatuge and mountains. Conference and meeting facilities available. Restaurant on property. Catering and banquet facilities available. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Lake Chatuge Lodge

Address: 653 Hwy 76, Hiawassee, GA 30546
Region: United States > Georgia > Hiawassee
Price Range: €91 - €130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Lake Chatuge Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Lake Chatuge Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada, The Lodge On Lake Chatuge Hotel Hiawassee
Ramada Hiawassee
Hiawassee Ramada
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Lake Chatuge Lodge staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Lake Chatuge Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“East side rooms have the east view of the lake; you have to request this with your reservation.”
 of 5 bubbles WalterE_12, 29 Nov 2016 | Read review
“I would ask for a room on an upper floor.”
 of 5 bubbles 327rogerg, 18 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Get the lake view!”
 of 5 bubbles 477marcies, 23 Oct 2016 | Read review
“All rooms have views, 3rd floor low even#'s 300's on back you will face lake and be in afternoon shade...”
 of 5 bubbles daddylowegotech, 19 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Quiet and gorgeous views.”
 of 5 bubbles _rakins7, 18 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5