We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Ridges Resort on Lake Chatuge

Save
Share
3499 Us-76, Hiawassee, GA 30546
Update from hotel: This property has indicated that they are taking safety precautions against COVID-19.Read more
2 people are viewing this hotel
Expedia.com
US$158
View deal
Free cancellation until 25/08/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Booking.com
US$158
View deal
Free cancellation until 25/08/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Hurb
US$138
View deal
Free cancellation until 25/08/22
TravelocityUS$158
Hotels.comUS$158
Official HotelUS$158
View all 16 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (338)
Room & Suite (105)
Dining (30)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
A note from The Ridges Resort on Lake Chatuge
Updated 17/04/20

About

#2 of 6 hotels in Hiawassee
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Our mission is, and always will be, to make our guests feel welcome and at home. The Ridges Resort isn’t just a business, we’re a family, and we understand the importance of hospitality, building relationships and providing guests with a memorable experience. We’ve spent the past year making changes that we hope will provide added value and comfort for new and returning guests. Whether you want to celebrate a major milestone, embark on a family adventure, or simply kick back and soak up a breathtaking mountain view, we’re here to accommodate your every need. And because we’re only a two-hour drive from major cities like Atlanta, Greenville, Asheville, and Chattanooga, the experience of your life is a lot closer than you think.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Boating
Horseback riding
Children's television networks
Parking
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Saltwater pool
Shallow end in pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary welcome drink
Happy hour
Snack bar
Vending machine
Water sport equipment rentals
Canoeing offsite
Evening entertainment
Fishing
Patio
Waterslide
Board games / puzzles
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Gift shop
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor fireplace
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun loungers / beach chairs
24-hour front desk
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Desk
Private balcony
Telephone
Coffee / tea maker
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Clothes rack
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Show more
Room types
Mountain view
Pool view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Romantic
Charming
Languages Spoken
English
841Reviews5Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 464
  • 194
  • 87
  • 50
  • 46
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
GardenExplorer wrote a review Jul 2022
Atlanta, Georgia16 contributions2 helpful votes
We rented "villa D" and I use the term villa because that's what they call them - it was actually the upstairs corner of a block of condos. It was spacious enough in the common areas with plenty of room for 8 at the dining table, and 2 bedrooms with queen beds that are close to the shared bathroom, and one king sized bedroom with a huge private bathroom. The 2 queen bedrooms are very tight. Hard to walk around the bed and squeeze between it and the dresser. The furniture and decor in the common areas were very dated, tired, and in fair to poor condition throughout. The tiles are badly cracked and badly repaired in every room where there is tile, and light fixtures needed lightbulbs and were an ugly mix of blue-white and warm lightbulbs. There was no Netflix, just regular cable. The kitchen has nice counters and cabinets, but was not fully stocked - there were none of the following - baking sheets, mixing bowls, cake pan, tupperware, whisk, wine opener, hand/dish towels, aluminum foil, saran wrap, recycling bin... I'm sure I'm missing some other basics. Only 3 coffee cups, 4 bowls, and 8 plates - most of which were mismatched. No paper towel, broom or vacuum, no countertop cleaning spray. There were k-cups but no keurig, but there was a percolator we used and they did have coffee. When I went to cook I found old dried up eggs on one pan in the drawer, and silverware that was dirty in the drawers. Gross! When I requested missing basics, the hotel did provide most of them the next day and sent someone to replace lightbulbs as well. They were friendly and helpful. I'm less impressed with the villa owners - the hotel only rents these out on behalf of the owners from my understanding. On the positive - there is a deck outside the front door (you are up on the 2nd story) and the owners provided beautiful new furniture while we were there. That made a big difference so we could enjoy the outdoors at night and why I raised my 2 star review to 3. The deck overlooks the lake and a large open lawn with soft streetlights around. It makes a great place for kids to play while adults can be on the deck and see while relaxing. It was a bit odd that the neighbors (owners) were right next door sharing the deck all the time, and to get downstairs to ground level had to walk past our unit. There was a steady stream of people walking past the windows and across the deck morning, day and night - was less private that I would have liked. The villa was very quiet though, so that's a postive as well. Aside from the people walking past on the deck, you can't hear them when they are inside. One MAJOR pain in the neck is that the hotel assigns you a parking spot, where you can put 2 cars front to back. However, the other guests in your block may park behind you and block you in. It was very aggravating and happened to us 3 times. We probably spent 4 or 5 hours looking for people to move their cars and finally decided to just park on the street or in the far back of our spot to avoid that happenning by the end of our stay. Incredibly aggravating and rude. The docking of our boats in the marina was convenient, and the inflatable ninja-course on the lake was a lot of fun for us with the kids. The marina restaurant had a nice ambiance on the deck facing the water, food was fine. There was a singer/guitarist that was good and a small beach to play cornhole. The main restaurant was closed, and we had breakfast in the back of the restaurant, very hard to find as there was no signage to direct you there. Long walk from the villas. Turned out the breakfast was pretty awful. I felt for the waitress, there was only one. Perhaps with more staff they would have gotten the food to us quicker but the eggs were rubbery and flavorless, the biscuits hard as a rock and the gravy congealed. Not worth eating, other than the bacon. It was only one option as well - a full plate of meat, eggs and biscuits. The tennis court was in sorry shape with big weeds growing out of cracks, so we ended up not using it as planned. It looked depressing. Many of the planting beds had a lot of weeds - the whole place just looked like it needed a few more staff. Lake Chatuge is gorgeous - especially on the deeply forested side. I think with some additional staff to clean, make repairs, landscape, and staff the restaurant (and not be under renovation) would make a significant difference in the experience. I'd go back again, but not if I wanted to impress anyone - just for low-key family visit, and would be sure to pack all things I need in the kitchen. I didn't think it was a very good value for what it was though - pricey given the state of things.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Face the lake! If getting a villa, choose D for the lake view.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from The Ridges, Guest Services / Front Office at The Ridges Resort on Lake Chatuge
Responded 3 weeks ago
Thank you for staying with us and for sharing your review. We appreciate your feedback about our friendly staff, relaxing decks, and delicious food. However, we regret your disappointment with the breakfast, the kitchenette, and some of the in-room amenities. We have addressed your concerns with the appropriate teams to ensure such mistakes are not repeated. We are also sorry for the inconvenience caused due to the parking, and we appreciate your patience. We apologize for not meeting all of your expectations, and we will use your feedback for future improvements. Thank you again for being our guest, and we hope you will give us another chance to redeem ourselves on a future visit. Thank you, Kristin Dowdy Vice President
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Dagmar M wrote a review Jul 2022
Gaffney, South Carolina18 contributions3 helpful votes
Resort is clean we had a Lakeview Room was a little dark. Loved the Lake and Marina, my Granddaughter enjoyed her nightly Smores. Pool area was very clean. There was only one Breakfast Restaurant service was a little slow, but Breakfast was good.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Lakeview is a must!
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from The Ridges, Guest Services / Front Office at The Ridges Resort on Lake Chatuge
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dagmar M, hank you for taking the time to share that your stay at The Ridges Resort on Lake Chatuge was ideal. We appreciate you mentioning our pool, delicious breakfast, and spotless rooms along with the views. We look forward to welcoming you and your granddaughter back to the beautiful Blue Ridge Mountains of North Georgia for another outstanding experience at our hotel. Thank you, Kristin Dowdy Vice President
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Neisha T wrote a review Jul 2022
New York City, New York10 contributions40 helpful votes
Our entire experience was underwhelming and disappointing. Maybe our expectations were too high but while we enjoyed the area - splash island was fun, the location was convenient, the mountains were breathtaking, the actual lodging were meh. First of all, we didn’t get the villas we asked for which is the whole reason we picked the Ridges — and they weren’t actually villas in fact - they were two bedroom apartments in a complex across the street from the actual hotel. Overall it felt like there was a lack of attention to detail and service. Simple things like the fact that our apartment wasn’t fully equipped with everything - not enough utensils, no instructions for the WiFi, tv, trash, etc, no broom. There were cobwebs around. The staff was generally unhelpful every time we called or stopped by. The restaurant was under construction which they didn’t mention at check in so breakfast was in a conference room - not great vacation vibes - the server there was a highlight though, he was gracious and generous - including giving us recommendations for things to do with the kids.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from The Ridges, Guest Services / Front Office at The Ridges Resort on Lake Chatuge
Responded 8 Jul 2022
Neisha, thank you for sharing your review and the details surrounding your stay. We apologize that the room type you requested was not available. We regret any frustration and inconvenience this caused and are very grateful for your patience. We do everything possible to honor requests; however, it is not always possible, depending on our occupancy. Furthermore, we are sorry our service levels did not meet your expectations. We assure you we will take steps to prevent such mistakes going forward. We hope you will give us a chance in the future to deliver the type of experience you should always expect from our hotel. Thank you, Kristin Dowdy Vice President
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Peter D wrote a review Jul 2022
Nashville, Tennessee58 contributions40 helpful votes
Over July 4th weekend, we booked two rooms. Both rooms smell musty, but they are great sized. The promised a dinner place, but it was under construction and they did not notify this until we asked. Locations and times would change for the events without any signage or notification. The July 4th cookout was $50 a person and it consisted of a hamburger or hot dog, baked beans, potato salad, mac and cheese and a salad with desserts they placed out so far in advance the whip cream melted off and down the sides. The picnic experience they offered was equally as poor for the dollar amount. The lobby and the grounds were well kept and nice to hang out in. Overall, the place could be nice, but just not worth the price.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from The Ridges, Guest Services / Front Office at The Ridges Resort on Lake Chatuge
Responded 6 Jul 2022
Petered, thank you for taking the time to post a review of your time with us. We were disappointed to read our accommodations did not provide the value for which you were hoping. As with most cities, certain times of the year are busier and command higher rates; however, we do make every effort to be priced competitively. It was a pleasure to have you as our guest, and we hope to do so again soon. Thank you, Kristin Dowdy Vice President
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
GS wrote a review Jun 2022
1 contribution
Out of date. Poor security… doors leading to outside don’t always close properly. Room had odor. Staff not well trained and management is condescending. Breakfast voucher doesn’t cover breakfast like most places… instead it just reduces the price to what it should have been all along. Never coming back
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from The Ridges, Guest Services / Front Office at The Ridges Resort on Lake Chatuge
Responded 21 Jun 2022
Thank you for staying with us and for your review. We apologize for the quality and condition of our accommodations and for not meeting your expectations with our service. The security of our guests is of utmost importance. We regret the inconvenience caused and can understand your frustration. Your concerns will be addressed, and we are taking extra care to avoid this in the future. We are grateful for your patience, and we hope you will give us another chance to provide you with a better experience. Thank you, Kristin Dowdy Vice President
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
ellen L wrote a review Apr 2022
1 contribution1 helpful vote
We rented a boat from The Ridges Marina, as a reciprocal Member of The Freedom Boat Club of Tampa Bay. The dock staff, Owen and Brady, were very helpful and friendly. The boat, a Bayliner VR4, was brand new and so much fun to drive. I want to thank them for treating us as if we were home members. Lake Chatuge was beautiful and the docking process easy to negotiate. I can’t wait for our next visit to Hiawassee, Georgia!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from The Ridges, Guest Services / Front Office at The Ridges Resort on Lake Chatuge
Responded 29 Apr 2022
Ellen, thank you for your review. We are glad Owen and Brady took care of you and that you enjoyed your time sailing on Lake Chatuge. We appreciate your feedback and sharing your memorable experiences with fellow travelers. We look forward to your next visit. Thank you, Kristin Dowdy Vice President
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
BonVivant88 wrote a review Apr 2022
San Francisco2 contributions
Spent a week here with my family and we were all very happy with our stay. Besides the accommodations, we also enjoyed Easter Brunch and a subsequent breakfast at The Oaks Lakeside Kitchen restaurant. It was perfect!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from The Ridges, Guest Services / Front Office at The Ridges Resort on Lake Chatuge
Responded 24 Apr 2022
Thank you for sharing about your stay at The Ridges Resort on Lake Chatuge. We appreciate the flattering remarks and are glad you and your family enjoyed your visit. We love providing a seamless travel experience with our outstanding location, service, and refreshing accommodtions. We are also delighted to know that you loved Easter Brunch at The Oaks Lakeside Kitchen, conveniently located on The Ridges Resort's grounds and offers a rich, flavorful experience for all your senses. Thank you again, and we look forward to your return! Thank you so much for your feedback. Thank you, Kristin Dowdy Vice President
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jenny L wrote a review Apr 2022
3 contributions
We had a great time. The decor is nice. The rooms were clean. The s’mores by the fire were a nice touch! The kids enjoyed the playground and scenery. All staff were very nice and professional. The lobby is amazing and the pictures don’t do justice!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from The Ridges, Guest Services / Front Office at The Ridges Resort on Lake Chatuge
Responded 8 Apr 2022
Thank you for choosing The Ridges Resort on Lake Chatuge and taking the time to compliment our resort-style property. We appreciate you mentioning your stay was perfect and full of good surprises, especially with the decorative details of our lobby and the gathering around the fire pit at night for S'mores. This is always a favorite of families, and we are delighted your children had fun. We are also happy to know you loved our fresh accommodations and thoughtful associates. It was a pleasure to exceed your expectations, and we look forward to welcoming you back for more family outings in the future. Thank you, Kristin Dowdy Vice President
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
MChoney wrote a review Mar 2022
West Palm Beach, Florida287 contributions193 helpful votes
This is our second stay in 3 months. Our first stay was in the middle of a very cold front and we still enjoyed the views and the hospitality. Our second stay was a bit warmer so the fireplaces were not going and the apple cider was not out but it’s the lodge feeling, the lake views the comfy rooms and the staff like Vickie who connects with you and really cares to make your stay a wonderful one. We will be back 🙌🏼❤️
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: The best breakfast ever is at their restaurant the Oak. The grits are amazing
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from The Ridges, Guest Services / Front Office at The Ridges Resort on Lake Chatuge
Responded 14 Mar 2022
Welcome back to The Ridges Resort on Lake Chatuge! Nothing pleases us more than to know we have provided everything necessary for you to have a wonderful stay. We were glad to learn that you loved our clean, comfortable accommodations, and the outstanding service delivered by Vickie made your holiday more memorable. Kind comments like yours encourage them, and we will be happy to share your praises with him. Thank you for your continued patronage over the years; we sincerely appreciate your loyalty and look forward to hosting you again soon. Thank you, Kristin Dowdy, Vice President
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Judy S wrote a review Mar 2022
1 contribution
I just spent the weekend at the lodge with a church retreat for 45 women. We’ve been to several venues over the years. By far this was the best. My room was large, spotless, and had a beautiful view of the lake. I went out to photograph the sunrise on their dock in 14 degree weather. One night the lodge had s’mores and a fire for guests. They make a hot apple cider that is a specialty for them. The food was good. But the amazing part is how wonderful the staff was to us. You could not ask for more attentive people including the front desk, the food staff, and the housekeeping staff. I plan to take my family there. Thank you so much for everything.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from The Ridges, Guest Services / Front Office at The Ridges Resort on Lake Chatuge
Responded 13 Mar 2022
Judy, thank you for choosing The Ridges Resort on Lake Chatuge while attending a Church Retreat of women. We agree that the fresh mountain air and crystal clear water of Lake Chatuge makes our location one of the most beautiful in the state, and you enjoyed the amazing views from the balcony of your well-appointed spacious room. We look forward to your return. We are also happy you all enjoyed gathering around the fire pit at night for S'mores, and our devoted associates took good care of you. Thank you once more for sharing that you will be returning in the future. It will be our pleasure to host you again with your family. Thank you, Kristin Dowdy, Vice President
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$165 - US$248 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
ridges resort & marina hotel hiawassee, ridges resort and marina, ridges hotel hiawassee, fieldstone resort hiawassee
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Ridges Resort & Marina
LOCATION
United StatesGeorgiaHiawassee
NUMBER OF ROOMS
72
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Ridges Resort on Lake Chatuge
Which popular attractions are close to The Ridges Resort on Lake Chatuge?
Nearby attractions include Splash Island Water Park (0.3 km), Fieldstone Cinemas Six (0.5 km), and 5th Ave. Consignment Boutique (0.6 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Ridges Resort on Lake Chatuge?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at The Ridges Resort on Lake Chatuge?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at The Ridges Resort on Lake Chatuge?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at The Ridges Resort on Lake Chatuge?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Ridges Resort on Lake Chatuge?
Conveniently located restaurants include Mary's Southern Grill, Casa Bella Restaurante, and The Heavenly Bake Shop.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Ridges Resort on Lake Chatuge?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Does The Ridges Resort on Lake Chatuge offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to The Ridges Resort on Lake Chatuge?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Highlander Gallery (13.9 km).
Does The Ridges Resort on Lake Chatuge have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the mountain view available here.
Is The Ridges Resort on Lake Chatuge accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.