We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Howard Johnson Inn - Winter Haven FL

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Howard Johnson Inn - Winter Haven FL
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

353 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 348: English reviews
Daphne, Alabama
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This cannot be one of the better places to stay in Winter Haven. We had made our reservations and paid before we arrived. Had we seen the place before, we would have kept going. The rooms are old and outdated. There was a dresser that looked like it had been built by a ten year old. I will say it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ramblingman163
Clearwater, Florida
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

would not take my credit card because my wifes name on it tried to explain we use this for business to earn points

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank tomtF8830YK
Anne H, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Winter Haven FL, responded to this review

I apologize for your inconvenience. For security purposes, we do not allow a guest to use a credit card with another's name on it unless they are physically here to check in or have sent the proper documentation for authorization. Again, I apologize. If you'd like to give our hotel another chance, please call me directly so I can assist...

Elkton, Florida
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We have stayed at your facility numerous times. We were there to visit my sister who has since passed away. the room this time was not awful. the air conditioner was making a loud noise and we finally at three in the morning turned it off completely, Needles to say it was less than comfortable, We shared this when we...

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 278antoniak
Anne H, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Winter Haven FL, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry to hear you were uncomfortable during your stay. I will address this issue with maintenance. We do appreciate you returning to our property for your stays.

Jacksonville, Florida
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank terribleg2017
Anne H, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Winter Haven FL, responded to this review

Rochester, New York
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

The motel is completely outdated and in need of serious upgrades. You can hear your neighbors, the floor above you and people in the hallway - they need to make thicker more soundproof walls. However, the room we stayed in didn't smell like mold or smoke, the bedding was clean, the room was clean and there were no palmetto bugs...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank coop0427
Anne H, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Winter Haven FL, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. We are in the process of renovations so many changes coming soon. We hope to see you again!

Fredericksburg, Virginia
Reviewed 5 January 2017

We booked this hotel today through hotel.com. I found out just a few hours later that my father is in the hospital. We first tried to cancel the reservation through hotels.com and they told us (because we booked the non-refundable rate) that it was up to this hotel as to whether or not they would allow us to cancel. Hotels.com...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank vtkbird
Anne H, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Winter Haven FL, responded to this review

Unfortunately when you book through a 3rd party you are paying them, not the hotel directly. Hotels.com can cancel your reservation, the Hotel Property are not authorized to cancel non-refundable, non-cancellable reservations. If you would have called directly to us to make your reservation, we could have cancelled your reservation at no charge. I apologize for this unfortunate incident. If...

Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Reviewed 3 January 2017

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 987andrej
Anne H, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Winter Haven FL, responded to this review

Safety Harbor, Florida
Reviewed 1 January 2017

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 1968buick
Anne H, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Winter Haven FL, responded to this review

Sebastian, Florida
Reviewed 1 January 2017

The room layout was good and the bed was OK. However, it was clear that the current owners had cut costs to the bone. 1) The room had a fridge, microwave, and coffeepot, all plugged into a singe outlet with a 3 way plug. That mst have been a code violation and surely would have tripped as circuit breaker. 2)...

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank SteveZ9996BL
Linda J, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Winter Haven FL, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry to hear you were not pleased with your stay. We are in the process of making several renovations. The pancake maker is being used instead of the waffle maker per several guests suggestions. We have already fixed the electrical issue in the breakfast room so the appliances do not trip anymore. The...

Fort Myers, Florida
Reviewed 28 December 2016

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank paulab196
Linda J, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Winter Haven FL, responded to this review

61 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (47)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (18)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Winter Haven
0.8 km away
Holiday Inn Winter Haven
Holiday Inn Winter Haven
#3 of 16 in Winter Haven
226 reviews
3.1 km away
Americas Best Value Inn Winter Haven
0.7 km away
Hampton Inn Winter Haven
Hampton Inn Winter Haven
#2 of 16 in Winter Haven
531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 km away
LEGOLAND Florida Hotel
LEGOLAND Florida Hotel
#1 of 16 in Winter Haven
596 reviews
2.0 km away
Budget Inn of Winter Haven
Budget Inn of Winter Haven
#5 of 16 in Winter Haven
17 reviews
10.5 km away
BEST WESTERN Auburndale Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Howard Johnson Winter Haven is an older property that has been renovated. We offer smoking or non-smoking standard rooms with a 1 King/Queen bed or 2 Queen beds with a mini-fridge, coffe maker, flat screen TV, and free WIFI. The property also has an outdoor pool, complimentary continental breakfast, and a family restaurant located off the lobby area. Howard Johnson is only 3.5 miles away from Legoland, and only a short walk or drive to many shops and restaurants. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn - Winter Haven FL

Address: 1300 3rd St SW, Winter Haven, FL 33880-3913
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Winter Haven
Price Range: €62 - €99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Howard Johnson Inn - Winter Haven FL 1.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn - Winter Haven FL reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Inn - Winter Haven Hotel Winter Haven
Howard Johnson Winter Haven
Winter Haven Howard Johnson
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Howard Johnson Inn - Winter Haven FL staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Keep looking”
  • microwave and coffee maker
  • bed
  • bathroom
  • desk and TV
  • Wait till you see the inside of this
  • The inside of the dresser. Unacceptable.
 of 5 bubbles Ramblingman163, 16 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Room 128 was a good room for our pets and they loved having access to the back yard; close to the end so hardly any noise.”
 of 5 bubbles branchs2864, 19 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Rooms have sliding glass doors to the outside. If you like to have your curtains open request to be away from the parking lot.”
 of 5 bubbles janebC1903KG, 23 Jun 2016 | Read review
“go to another motel”
 of 5 bubbles kenyons_13, 15 Jun 2016 | Read review
“2nd floor non smoking rooms are the best”
 of 5 bubbles I9609YNalfredom, 12 Sep 2015 | Read review
5 of 5