We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Sea Shells of Sanibel

11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
No availability for your dates from these sites
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Sea Shells of Sanibel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

106 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 101: English reviews
Start your review of Sea Shells of Sanibel
 Click to rate
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We have stayed in Sea Shells of Sanibel's unit 24 several times and it NEVER disappoints! The kitchen is well equipped with all the cooking appliances necessary for a tasty home cooked meal. The decor in the unit is a lovely extension of the sandy beaches and calm waves on the island itself. Our family of 5 was very comfortable...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank msmep
Grafton
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

What a cute "beach" themed unit! The decor was tasteful, the furniture was comfortable and the kitchen was completely updated. (we did not cook as this was a true vacation but it appeared very well stocked). The Ice Maker was more than efficient (they set record heat while we were there) and the fresh white curtains were obviously new. The...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank GraftonGrandma2
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 5 April 2017

Don't rent UNIT 40! We stayed in this 2 BR condo with our kids for Spring Break. We got the last unit available and quickly learned why. Unit #40 is very outdated and in need of much TLC. Specific issues included broken furniture and window treatments, lamps that didn't work, strange pleated vinyl and metal shower curtains in both bathrooms...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank candginIL
SEASHELLS S, Manager at Sea Shells of Sanibel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of Unit 40. We apologize that the unit was not more welcoming. We have addressed several things that we were able to, including repairing the blinds, removing the broken chair, and cleaning up the closets. We were happy to take care of all things that we had control over. We have forwarded the concerns to...

Cleveland, Ohio
Reviewed 29 March 2017

I have stayed at Sea Shells of Sanibel for the last four years. Condos have all been nice, we've stayed in a few different ones. The front office is very accommodating. We have arrived early a few times (before check in) and if your unit is clean they will let you in. If not, they are happy to let you...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Essha3
SEASHELLS S, Manager at Sea Shells of Sanibel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are especially glad to hear that we made your stay better. We love that you have stayed with us many times and we look forward to your return!

Reviewed 26 March 2017 via mobile

Highly recommend this location. Very easy beach access. All the amenities, clean unit, well stocked with basic essentials. Staff very friendly and helpful. Also like that you can book for less than 1 week if needed.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank t_zick2
SEASHELLS S, Manager at Sea Shells of Sanibel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review Unit 9. We are glad to hear that our property had what you needed to make your stay more pleasant and that we were able to assist you with any needs. We hope to see you again soon!

Green Lake, Wisconsin
Reviewed 16 March 2017

We stayed for one week in Unit #15. The location is great, and the recent updates were well done. The pluses are location, value, quiet, use of laundry, and pool. The beach is great as were the beach chairs and cart. Onsite managers were friendly and efficient. The minuses; as noted in other reviews no place to eat other than...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank greenlaker2015
SEASHELLS S, Manager at Sea Shells of Sanibel, responded to this review

Thank you for talking the time to review unit #15. We are happy to hear that you had a mostly great stay. We appreciate your feedback, and will forward the information to the owners so that they may make any changes to improve future stays, one of which we hope is you!

Austin, Minnesota
Reviewed 16 February 2017

Seashells on Sanibel is a lovely vacation rental. Recently redecorated, it is still a moderate price. We had #27 which is on second floor facing west. I'm retired and usually stay at upscale (more expensive) hotels, so I was very pleasantly surprised at the newly tiled floors in soft ocean beach colors. With those light greens and blues extending into...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JudiAustin_Minnesota
SEASHELLS S, Manager at Sea Shells of Sanibel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review unit #27. We are delighted to hear that you had such a wonderful stay! We hope that you will stay with us again soon!

Ho Ho Kus, New Jersey
Reviewed 14 February 2017

The Sea Shells facility was cleverly designed to provide a reasonable degree of privacy and parking ease. Most of their neighbors are typical 3 story 'Cookie Cutter" type facilities with little to distinguish between them. Our unit, #2 was at the West Gulf side of the complex and offered easy access to main road and the beach. The unit was...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank carandken
SEASHELLS S, Manager at Sea Shells of Sanibel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of unit #2. We are sorry to hear that the unit did not meet all of your expectations. We will forward this information to the owner so that they may make any necessary improvements.

Reviewed 30 November 2016 via mobile

This place is absolutely amazing! Great rooms that have plenty of space for the entire family. Plenty of food and attractions all around. Will be back coming back here again and again. Short walk to the most beautiful beaches, where you can get shells galore.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Zac S
SEASHELLS S, Manager at Sea Shells of Sanibel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to review us! We love to hear that you and your family had such a wonderful time and we are happy to know that we have gained a repeat guest!

Billings, Montana
Reviewed 29 October 2016

We stayed in #39, and booked through VRBO for a week in Oct. 2016. Our unit was at the back of the complex, near the tennis courts, which made for a little longer walk to the beach, but not a problem. Our parking spot was right in front of the unit and was very convenient. Our place was a two...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Dan_D_12719
SEASHELLS S, Manager at Sea Shells of Sanibel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of unit 39 and of the property. We are glad to hear that you and your family were very pleased with everything that our rentals have to offer. We hope that you will stay with us again soon!

89 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (21)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (68)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Other (42)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sanibel Island hotels
3.8 km away
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
#7 of 19 in Sanibel Island
2,185 reviews
6.5 km away
Seaside Inn
Seaside Inn
#13 of 19 in Sanibel Island
661 reviews
4.4 km away
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
#16 of 19 in Sanibel Island
1,244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
West Wind Inn
West Wind Inn
#6 of 19 in Sanibel Island
1,665 reviews
5.4 km away
Sanibel Inn
Sanibel Inn
#8 of 19 in Sanibel Island
1,271 reviews
0.2 km away
Shalimar Cottages and Motel
Shalimar Cottages and Motel
#17 of 19 in Sanibel Island
325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Sea Shells of Sanibel

Address: 2840 W Gulf Dr, Sanibel Island, FL 33957-5719
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sanibel Island
Price Range: €119 - €270 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sea Shells of Sanibel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sea Shells of Sanibel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Shells Of Sanibel Hotel Sanibel Island
Sea Shells Of Sanibel Sanibel Island, Florida
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Sea Shells of Sanibel staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Sea Shells of Sanibel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Do your research on the unit you choose. Ask for current photos.”
candginIL, 5 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Second floor rooms have better views.”
greenlaker2015, 16 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Don't choose Unit #2 unless suggested changes are made.”
carandken, 14 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Our unit was #39, booked through VRBO.”
Dan_D_12719, 28 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Read reviews and ask questions!”
MOTravelers911, 2 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Check these sites for availability
Booking.com
Hotwire.com
Priceline
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates