We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Holiday Inn Sanibel Island

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Sanibel Island
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,185 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,052: English reviews
NJ
Reviewed yesterday NEW

The hotel is located near Periwinkle and all the shops/restaurants ... and yet right on the beach. Yes, it is "dated" but it's fine. Move the Keurig off of the bathroom sink vanity and put it on the small dining table. Re-arrange it! Our refrig worked fine. Coffee was plentiful and of an excellent quality. We were told the facility...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 2-NJ-Zs
NJ
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

hotel itself was ok, a bit dated..i was however shocked i had to pay $25 for "resort fee"...I am spire elite, and was not even informed of this fee at all until i received the charge on my Chase statement...this is not good...i am hoping the management will contact me to discuss this issue

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SpagirlNj
Minnesota
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We stayed at the Holiday Inn in January, so rate was a bit lower than during high season. We loved the property itself...just a short walk to the beach. They provide chairs to sit in. Loved walking on the beach at night, too. People were using their cell phones for light, which wasn't really necessary and sort of annoying. Sanibel...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MariaMag
Ashland, Ohio
Reviewed 1 week ago

I can't say enough about how pleasant my stay was this past week particularly after reading some recent skeptical reviews about the property. All were unfounded, I am pleased to report. Granted that this is not a new hotel by any means, but it is truly well-maintained and the grounds are manicured quite nicely. The lobby area is decorated in...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank BuckeyePaige
Sharon T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sanibel Island, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review and especially in giving kudos to some of our staff. They will be thrilled that you took the time to single them out and remember their names. Yes, we are working on reopening the restaurant in the very near future and feel you will also be pleased with our menu items. Thank you for...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Colorful, fun, clean hotel with all the amenities!! Nice rooms with comfy beds that promote A very good nights sleep. Great bold coffee with pastries in the morning. The best of all is The beach in the back yard! Great shelling and gorgeous sunrises and sunsets ... did I mention tons of gorgeous shells and SAND DOLLARS GALORE !!! remember...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ady A
Sharon T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sanibel Island, responded to this review

Your five star rating is our reward! Hope to see you again soon and thank you for sharing with readers the importance of distinguishing which shells must remain in the water.

Elkridge, United States
Reviewed 1 week ago

The location on the beach is fantastic. Our room was spotless and bed, pillows and towels were very good, sheets were decent. The rest of the room was low budget- light fixtures, furniture. Refrigerator barely cooled. Keurig was provided but at bathroom sink with coffees and cups on cheap, stained plastic tray between sinks.Only one tiny sized shampoo and lotion....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Suzann F
Sharon T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sanibel Island, responded to this review

Thank you!

Orland, Indiana
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

It's a happy medium! I heard while we were there that they are going to be doing a revamp, if that's true, it will no doubt make it a 4 or maybe even a 5. I liked the place overall. The one thing I would do for sure is make the pool bar better and the rooms could be a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BrandonMase
Sharon T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sanibel Island, responded to this review

We are continually making improvements and know you will see them each time you return. Thank you for your comments.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

wifi spotty. Room was oddly laid out. Bathroom was big but poorly designed...or renovated, whatever. Water pressure was bad, well not at first, blasts you then really drops off. Pillows were uncomfortable. The coffe was good the first day, they didn't replace it so none the second day. The "breakfast" provided, I'm not sure why they even bothered. Beach was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Adam p
Sharon T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sanibel Island, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments and we will work hard to correct the areas you mentioned so that we can gain a higher rating from you.

Los Angeles, California
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is a very old Holiday Inn. There are only two levels. There is no elevator so be aware that you have to carry everything up stairs. They will help you at the desk but you have to ask. It is overpriced because of the location. When we were there they were remodeling the dining area so the only thing...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank janedoe32
Sharon T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sanibel Island, responded to this review

Thank you

Westborough, United States
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were pleasantly surprised how great this property was.The hotel staff was very friendly and the property was very clean and well maintained. Our guest room was comfortable, clean and well outfitted with wifi, microwave, fridge,and K-Cup coffee maker. The beach was no more than 100 footsteps from our room. Hotel offered a complimentary Grab 'N Go breakfast in the...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Arthur G
Sharon T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sanibel Island, responded to this review

Your comments are appreciated and shared with the staff. Thank you.

1,011 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (536)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (140)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (128)
Viewed
Room/Suite (37)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
View from Room (21)
Viewed
Other (197)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (449)
Viewed
Amenities (55)
Viewed
Beach (44)
Viewed
Pool (76)
Viewed
Poolside Double Room (67)
Viewed
Poolside King Room (72)
Viewed
Dining (45)
Viewed
The Hotel (90)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (26)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sanibel Island hotels
0.7 km away
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
#7 of 19 in Sanibel Island
1,931 reviews
2.1 km away
Seaside Inn
Seaside Inn
#12 of 19 in Sanibel Island
635 reviews
1.1 km away
Song of the Sea
Song of the Sea
#11 of 19 in Sanibel Island
653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 km away
West Wind Inn
West Wind Inn
#6 of 19 in Sanibel Island
1,520 reviews
1.0 km away
Sanibel Inn
Sanibel Inn
#9 of 19 in Sanibel Island
1,191 reviews
5.5 km away
Sunset Beach Inn
Sunset Beach Inn
#16 of 19 in Sanibel Island
664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We cordially invite you to relax and enjoy our tropical island beach paradise at the Holiday Inn Beach Resort Hotel on Sanibel Island.The experience begins the moment you cross the Sanibel Causeway just west of Fort Myers, Florida and travel over the azure waters of the beautiful Gulf of Mexico. You'll feel the stress and fast pace of every-day life slip away.The Holiday Inn Beach Resort Hotel on Sanibel Island is located on one of the most beautiful sanctuary islands in the world with the warm waters of the Gulf of Mexico as our own back yard. Sanibel Island is renowned for its natural beauty and habitat, miles of unspoiled beaches, world famous shell collecting, an array of activities, water sports, fishing and exceptional restaurants. Whether your visit brings you to our beachfront hotel for business or for pleasure, you will enjoy our charmingly quaint resort hotel surrounded by lush tropical landscape, pristine beach, ponds with waterfalls, outdoor pool with expansive sun deck, tennis courts and friendly staff who are eager to assist you.Plan your well deserved vacation or romantic getaway on Sanibel Island now. We specialize in leisure vacations, small meetings, retreats, corporate incentive travel and beach side weddings. We look forward to your visit. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Sanibel Island

Address: 1231 Middle Gulf Dr., Sanibel Island, FL 33957-6729
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sanibel Island
Price Range: €187 - €475 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Sanibel Island 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and IHG so you can book your Holiday Inn Sanibel Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Sanibel Island Hotel Sanibel Island
Sanibel Island Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Sanibel Island Florida
Hotel Style:
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Sanibel Island
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Holiday Inn Sanibel Island staff and other travellers.
24 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (24)

Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn Sanibel Island staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The windows do not open.”
 of 5 bubbles 2-NJ-Zs, 23 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Room 250 faces the beach.”
 of 5 bubbles MariaMag, 20 Jan 2017 | Read review
“There are about 12-14 rooms facing the pool that definitely have the best views.”
 of 5 bubbles BuckeyePaige, 15 Jan 2017 | Read review
“The walls are thin- you will hear your neighbors.”
 of 5 bubbles suzannf2013, 11 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Quieter rooms on the second floor.”
 of 5 bubbles ARTG724, 3 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay