We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Sundial Beach Resort & Spa

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,931 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,866: English reviews
Phoenix, Arizona
Reviewed 1 week ago

My girlfriend and I stayed for 5 days over the New years week and we had a beach front view room that was amazing! Joshua the front desk manager was super and also was his staff! We will be returning! thank you so much for the warmth that we felt and your amazing staff josh! Shawn and Terri phoenix ,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank smfreric
PStarling, General Manager at Sundial Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear smfreric, Thank you so much for the amazing review! We are thrilled to hear you had such a great stay with us! Josh and the Front Desk team are certainly service superstars, thank you for recognizing their commitment to taking care of our guests! We can't wait to see you again soon for another amazing getaway! Phillip Starling General...

Portland, Oregon
Reviewed 1 week ago

I was looking for a hotel on Sanibel. I attempted to call reservations and no-one answered. I call the front desk and they put me through to a booking agency which couldn't answer basic questions about the property. Knowing that each of the Sundial's units are individually owned, I wanted information on the unit we would be assigned. No such...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Elizabethanne1961
PStarling, General Manager at Sundial Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Elizabethanne1961, Thank you for bringing your experience with the reservations process to our attention. Please contact Marina Bloetz, our Assistant Director of Services, at 239.395.7235 at your earliest convenience to further discuss. We certainly apologize for the frustration and look forward to speaking to you soon. Phillip Starling General Manager

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I have stayed at the sundial so many times i have lost count . I love this place so much i always come back with my family. We usually stay at the beachfront apartments and i have to say some are great and other are ok. The last one we stayed in was beautiful but some need renovations. The staff...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jen H
PStarling, General Manager at Sundial Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Jen H, Thank you so much for taking the time to review your most recent stay with us! We would greatly appreciate you contacting Kevin Saborio, our Executive Housekeeper, at 239.395.6033 to discuss the details of your stay so we may address the issues you encountered with our team. We look forward to seeing you next month for your...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Sundial manages rooms that are each owned by other people. This means that the pictures on the website are pointless!! You may think, like I did, that you will be staying in a luxury room as pictured, but you could end up with anything. The owners of each room furnish and decorate as they please. Our room was a far...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gertiem66
PStarling, General Manager at Sundial Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear gertiem66, Thank you for bringing your experience to our attention. We would like to sincerely apologize for the issues you encountered and would greatly you appreciate contacting us to further discuss your stay. Please call our Front Desk at 239.472.4151 and ask for Marina Bloetz, our Assistant Director of Services. We look forward to hearing from you at your...

Montreal, Canada
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We've been coming to Sanibel Island for over 20 years, and the Sundial of Sanibel resort is the place to stay. Our Gulf view room was a nice size, plenty of space and nicely decorated. In all of our years travelling to Sanibel, Joshua Drummey-the front desk supervisor, ensured that our stay was the best we've ever had. Extremely helpful,...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank sgruman
PStarling, General Manager at Sundial Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear sgruman, Thank you for the five star review and for continuing to choose Sundial for your Sanibel vacations! We are thrilled to hear Joshua took such great care of you, and that he made this stay your best yet! He is a service superstar and a great asset to our team. We can't wait to see you again soon...

Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We just returned from Sanibel Island and our wonderful 4 night stay at Sundial. We spent a lot of $ to be able to afford Sundial and had very high expectations. We were not disappointed! The unit we were assigned through the office was amazing! K402 is a beautiful 2 bedroom unit with tons of newer upgrades! What an amazing...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank KT40
PStarling, General Manager at Sundial Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear KT40, Thank you for the great review! K402 is an absolutely beautiful unit that was just renovated this past summer, so glad you enjoyed! Our various packages that we offer come with many perks as you said, we try to include as much in your stay as possible in extras. We can't wait to see you again soon for...

Oakville, Canada
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Spent my 50th birthday at the beach. Resort was accommodating. Friendly people and had lunch at the bar. Kevin the bartender, was friendly and made all for of us welcome. Kevin has been in the business for a while and recommended things to do at Sanibel. Miami vice drink, was great. Recommend the drink. Grouper on a bun to die...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank only1sinatra
PStarling, General Manager at Sundial Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear only1sinatra, Thank you for the five star review and Happy Birthday from the Sundial Team! We are glad to hear our team was so accommodating and friendly, especially Kevin. He is certainly one of our service superstars! We hope to see you again for more fun in the sun! Phillip Starling General Manager

Jacksonville, Florida
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The resort is centrally located in the middle of the island. The staff are always super friendly and attentive especially Emily who helped us get checked in and made sure our stay was top notch. We have been here many times and have always enjoyed our visits thoroughly. Thank you

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jansen747
PStarling, General Manager at Sundial Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear jansen747, Thank you for the five star review! We are so glad our team was so friendly and attentive, especially Emily! We hope to see you again soon. Phillip Starling General Manager

St. Petersburg, Florida
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed in a two bedroom condo and were upgraded to a beach view. The condo was spacious, very clean and stocked with everything we needed. The resort wasn't too busy and it was great being able to go between the pool and the beach so easily. We also found the little shop at the resort to be reasonably priced...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank bbano55
PStarling, General Manager at Sundial Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear bbano55, Thank you for the great review! We are glad to hear you enjoyed the spacious condo with all the items you could need! We do apologize for the noise from the unit above, on your next visit please call our Front Desk if you experience this as we have someone here 24 hours a day at the desk...

A TripAdvisor Member
Level Contributor
7 reviews
2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

My girlfriend and I visited Sundial Beach Resort for a quick two night getaway. Although the resort was very nice, I do have a couple of small complaints. First, the main pool. If you don't get there early you won't have a place to sit. Second, the service could have been better. We had wash cloths the first night and...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank A TripAdvisor Member
PStarling, General Manager at Sundial Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your couple's getaway! We would greatly appreciate you contacting Kevin Saborio, our Executive Housekeeper, at 239.395.6033 at your earliest convenience to get more details from your stay. We sincerely apologize for this service issue, and agree it certainly should have been taken care of promptly. We thank you for still recommending our...

1,130 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (439)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (59)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (95)
Viewed
View from Room (32)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (57)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (8)
Viewed
Other (171)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (661)
Viewed
Amenities (184)
Viewed
Beach (41)
Viewed
One Bedroom Coastal Apartment (114)
Viewed
Pool (32)
Viewed
Dining (48)
Viewed
The Hotel (55)
Viewed
Three Bedroom Coastal Apartment (187)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (30)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sanibel Island
2.8 km away
Seaside Inn
Seaside Inn
#12 of 19 in Sanibel Island
635 reviews
0.7 km away
Holiday Inn Sanibel Island
Holiday Inn Sanibel Island
#16 of 19 in Sanibel Island
1,184 reviews
16.2 km away
Tween Waters Inn Island Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 km away
West Wind Inn
West Wind Inn
#5 of 19 in Sanibel Island
1,519 reviews
1.7 km away
Sanibel Inn
Sanibel Inn
#9 of 19 in Sanibel Island
1,190 reviews
1.9 km away
Sanibel Moorings
Sanibel Moorings
#1 of 19 in Sanibel Island
638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Sanibel Island's most luxurious resort has completed a multi-million dollar renovation. Voted "BEST FULL SERVICE RESORT ON THE ISLANDS" and "BEST STAYCATION IN SOUTHWEST FLORIDA" for four years in a row, Sundial Beach Resort & Spa is the centerpiece of this unique barrier island off the southwest coast of Florida. Sanibel is two-thirds nature preserve providing visitors with an experience of Florida the way it used to be. Sanibel Island is a natural playground where you can feel the white sand between your toes, take a refreshing swim in the blue-green waters of the Gulf of Mexico or one of Sundial's pools and bike the miles of paved paths around the island. The Resort offers a wide array of activities and amenities for all ages including swimming in 5 heated pools, HydroGrid tennis courts, cabanas, kayaks, paddle boards, bike tours, golf, organized activities, a marketplace, spa and sea school. One,two and three bedroom residences feature options for views with the conveniences of home in a tranquil, tropical setting. These Residences offer a full kitchen with housewares, living/dining area, full baths and ample space that is ideal for couples or larger families. Best of all, Sanibel's world-renowned, pristine shell-dotted beaches are just steps away. Voted Best Waterfront Dining in Southwest Florida, the resort's award winning restaurants offer indoor and outdoor dining options and delicious menu selections. Look forward to an authentic experience as your dinner is artfully prepared right before your eyes at Shima Japanese Steakhouse & Sushi Bar, the area's only Japanese steakhouse. Sea Breeze Cafe offers casual dining and local, fresh ingredients with a true Sanibel Island tropical flair over looking the Gulf of Mexico. Sundial's tiki-style poolside eatery, Turtle's Pool & Beach Bar, serves up delicious signature drinks at the bar and family-friendly patio. Slice of Paradice provides the perfect poolside venue for tasty treats such as pizza, ice-cream, hotdogs and salads- perfect for beach-goers and sunset strollers. A daily resort fee includes the use of beach umbrellas and chairs, beach towels, kayaks, paddleboards, bicycles, beach volleyball, fitness center, wifi, organized activities and tennis court access. In addition to being voted Best Full Service Resort and Best Staycation, the resort has been regionally recognized for Best Event Facilities, Best Chef, Best Server, Best Happy Hour, Best New Restaurant, Best Sushi, Best Tiki Bar, Best Waterfront Dining and Best Tennis on the Islands. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sundial Beach Resort & Spa

Address: 1451 Middle Gulf Drive, Sanibel Island, FL 33957
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sanibel Island
Price Range: €245 - €481 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sundial Beach Resort & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 190
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sundial Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sundial Beach & Golf Hotel Sanibel Island
Sundial Beach And Golf Resort
Sundial Beach Hotel
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa Sanibel Island, Florida
Sundial Beach Sanibel Island
Sundial Sanibel Island
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Sanibel Island
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Sundial Beach Resort & Spa staff and other travellers.
71 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (71)

Questions? Get answers from Sundial Beach Resort & Spa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Some Rooms are condos so individually owned; each will be furnished differently There are four floors in each building”
 of 5 bubbles Dmp136, 19 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Higher floors are helpful to avoid the sounds of people dragging chairs across the floors.”
 of 5 bubbles 444bethd, 19 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Rooms on the front building facing the beach must be nice. Avoid ground floor apartments.”
 of 5 bubbles Sergiocrandon, 18 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Recommend ocean or beach view”
 of 5 bubbles 288patriciah, 12 Jan 2017 | Read review
“ask for a gulf view room!”
 of 5 bubbles smfreric, 12 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay