We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Magnuson Hotel Historic St. Augustine

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Magnuson Hotel Historic St. Augustine
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

415 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 380: English reviews
Start your review of Magnuson Hotel Historic St. Augustine
 Click to rate
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

While I would call it a budget hotel it was clean and comfortable and newly renovated(some areas were still being renovated). They had 24 check in which was great as we didn't arrive until 11.30pm. There was free parking and while I would describe it as being just outside the old town it was certainly possible to walk from it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank HoppyJH
MagnusonStaugustine, Manager at Magnuson Hotel Historic St. Augustine, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and we are convinced that, when the hotel is totally renovated, we have a great place for our future guest. As I do not know which room you stayed in, I can guarantee that all our AC units are replaced as we speak. We are looking forward to welcome you again in the future...

Israel
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Liked the fridge in the room, the room was quite clean, the view is very beautiful but windows were dirty as hell. :) Also didn't like the disposable tableware at the breakfast. The price was very high for this level of the hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ilya P
MagnusonStaugustine, Manager at Magnuson Hotel Historic St. Augustine, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. After hurricane Matthew, we are going through a 100% renovation. The reason for the window being cloudy is that air got in between the double windows. In the last stage of our renovation, all the windows will be replaced, however, we apologize for not explaining this to you upon your arrival. At all...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Between the construction in the motel and the train that runs behind it...oh and when the A/C comes on on it sounds like a plane taking off...it was fine. On the plus side, you don't spend a lot of time in the room when you visit St. Augustine. Another plus side it was $80 a night. Wouldn't do it again...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nikki O
MagnusonStaugustine, Manager at Magnuson Hotel Historic St. Augustine, responded to this review

Dear Guest, we are sorry to read that you had a bad experience in our hotel. We are always try our best to accommodate our guests. We would have been happy to change you to an other room and make your stay as pleasant as possible. You are right, after hurricane Matthew, we are renovating the hotel. (including replacing all...

Incline Village, Nevada
Reviewed 1 week ago

It was my second time staying at Magnuson. The price is right and the staff is so friendly. Quiet and the beds are comfortable. The General Manager name was John. Really great guy!! The breakfast is good also. I'll definitely stay there again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DarinTalbot
Miami, Florida
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had a great stay at the Magnuson! Very accommodating for families and the service was magnificent. It is close to historic St. Augustine area. Great breakfast served every morning from 6:30-9:30. The staff was also pleasant with my children, bringing extra towels and even waffles in the morning! Convenience with children is key, the staff were willing to assist...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank zocho2017
Stafford
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We have been on a driving tour of the southern states and this is the worst hotel we have ever stayed in. It is a building site. The room is of a very poor standard. The staircase and passage ways are covered in paint and cement. Our car was covered in flakes of cement and paint. The staff were not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JohnstonStafford
MagnusonStaugustine, General Manager at Magnuson Hotel Historic St. Augustine, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We apologize for your bad experience. Our staff not interested in your complains is news to me, as we always try our best to let our guest leave with a sense of satisfaction ..... You are correct, after Hurricane Matthew, we are undergoing a full renovation and are very confident that, upon completion, we will have a fantastic...

seneca, United States
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

There is a train track right behind the hotel. Train came through at: 9:10 pm 10:49 pm 11:15 pm 3:00 am 7:00 am The door to the room had a huge opening all the way around. light came through. the breakfast wasn't very good. they ran out of everything and was slow to replace. the front desk people were nice.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Denise B
Savannah, Georgia
Reviewed 20 March 2017 via mobile

Reasonable rates for room. Clean and walking distance to Ripleys and St George Streer. St. Augustine has some really over priced, old, and nasty rooms. This hotle was the first I've been to where the value equated the rate. Clean tub, toilet, bedding. Comfortable bed and pillows. We did not eat breakfast because we had early tours.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank k d
Naples, Florida
Reviewed 19 March 2017 via mobile

The people who run this hotel are very friendly and cordial. They could not have been nicer. Sadly, it appears they are doing their best to help you ignore this disaster... This hotel is located adjacent to a freight rail line. It's about 50 feet away from the property. The trains roar through at any time. In fact, at check...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank naplesfoodlover1955
Lake Mary, Florida, United States
Reviewed 2 March 2017

Newly renovated facility that is not too far from the old fort and historic district. It was a short walk through some nice older neighborhoods right up to the waterfront. Breakfast was hot and good and one of the owners (I think) was there making waffles for everyone and serving people. A rare level of service. The only negative was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Charles B

108 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (85)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (51)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (23)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Augustine hotels
0.2 km away
Days Inn St Augustine/Historic Downtown
0.4 km away
Howard Johnson Inn - Historic ST. Augustine FL
0.6 km away
Comfort Suites Downtown
Comfort Suites Downtown
#46 of 78 in St. Augustine
404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
BEST WESTERN Spanish Quarter Inn
BEST WESTERN Spanish Quarter Inn
#23 of 78 in St. Augustine
691 reviews
0.2 km away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites St. Augustine/Historical District
1.0 km away
No photo provided
Merida Inn & Suites
#57 of 78 in St. Augustine
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Magnuson Hotel Historic St. Augustine is located in scenic downtown St. Augustine, overlooking the beautiful San Sebastian River and Flagler Era railroad to the west. Leave your car and walk to area restaurants and shops, plus the town trolley and train stops are a 10 minute walk from the Magnuson Hotel Historic St. Augustine. You will be minutes from shopping at the Belz Outlet Mall, gator viewing at the Alligator Farm Zoological Park, and the fast paced world of racing at the Daytona International Speedway are all near the Magnuson Hotel Historic St. Augustine. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Magnuson Hotel Historic St. Augustine

Address: 1111 North Ponce de Leon Boulevard, St. Augustine, FL 32084 (Formerly Quality Inn Historic)
Region: United States > Florida > St. Augustine
Price Range: €91 - €196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Magnuson Hotel Historic St. Augustine 2*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Magnuson Hotel Historic St. Augustine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Historic Hotel Saint Augustine
Quality Inn Saint Augustine
Saint Augustine Quality Inn
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Magnuson Hotel Historic St. Augustine staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Falkirk, United Kingdom

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Magnuson Hotel Historic St. Augustine staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a renovated room away from the busy road”
HoppyJH, 24 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Rooms towards the front Near the pool are the best.”
DarinTalbot, 13 Apr 2017 | Read review
“don't get on the back.. train comes through.”
  • notice the railroad tracks?
deniseb275, 28 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Select a room on the street side.”
charlesb878, 2 Mar 2017 | Read review
“we have stayed in the suite which was fantastic but also the regular room is cool too.”
jackchazen, 12 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5