We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Magnuson Hotel Historic St. Augustine

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Magnuson Hotel Historic St. Augustine
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

405 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 370: English reviews
North Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Reviewed 1 week ago

I travel constantly for business, I have stayed everywhere in St Augustine. This hotels location is excellent, the service is sweet, the movies are free, so is the breakfast, its next to the welcome center w a trolley that takes you everywhere in town, you also get free attraction tickets for checking in. My kids are 8 and 10 and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jackchazen
Ottawa, Canada
Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel would have rated a terrible, however when we arrived the staff was fairly friendly. After our initial moment everything seemed to go down hill. The room was very damp and musty, it also seemed like it hadn't had a deep cleaning in a long time. The location is a little bit out of town, in that you can...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CandyCritic
Ericka K, Guest Relations Manager at Magnuson Hotel Historic St. Augustine, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We hoping that we will eventually be able to earn a 5 star ratings from you as our renovation complete. We sincerely apologize for your experience however I do hope that you will give us another opportunity to show you our usual exceptional service and clean rooms.

Ft L Lauderdale, Florida, USA
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The hotel's rooms are on the outside. We were greeted cheerfully. The lobby was very nice. The rooms had been recently redecorated. Tile floors. The walls were painted several calm colors & very creative. The curtain over the window was not fancy, but quite clean. The bathroom was really nice. No tub, but a step in tiled shower with a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank linedancer6
Ericka K, Guest Relations Manager at Magnuson Hotel Historic St. Augustine, responded to this review

Thank you so much for sharing your experience at our Hotel. We appreciate your recognition of the great team members and amenities. Please come to see us again!

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The inside lobby isn't very fancy but the front staff, Gerry, was so nice and helpful. The rooms are really clean and has all your basic needs. The price is affordable for this area and you're just a few miles from the center of it all. I would stay here again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Babyblue1972
Ericka K, Guest Relations Manager at Magnuson Hotel Historic St. Augustine, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing our Magnuson Hotel! We appreciate your comment and recognition of our team members. Looking forward to see you on your next visit to St. Augustine.

Connecticut
Reviewed 10 January 2017

Hotel is under construction from the Hurricane, some of the rooms have been updated with tile floors no carpet. As the other reviewers had stated there are train tracks right behind the hotel so if your a light sleeper ask for a front room or the trains will wake you up during the night all night long. Wonder staff especially...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lovelylady036
Ericka K, Guest Relations Manager at Magnuson Hotel Historic St. Augustine, responded to this review

Thank you for the nice comments! As you said we are remodeling, will be tile floor, brand new furniture, bath room design and amenities in all our rooms. Please tell your friend about us and come to visit again!

Reviewed 3 January 2017

We should've known this hotel (more like a MOTEL) was bad, when the clerk locked the lobby and had us check in via a window (like a gas station). The room was clean, but the room was dated. The shower had no curtain. The bed were rock hard. The a/c took forever to cool. The other dogs were noisy and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CAcosta63
Ericka K, Guest Relations Manager at Magnuson Hotel Historic St. Augustine, responded to this review

Thank you for your stay and comments. We are apologize you were so disappointed. We always want to make sure that our guests feel that our hotel is the best choice for their stay in Saint Augustine. Please give us another chance after our renovation is complete. Looking forward to see you again!

Largo
Reviewed 24 December 2016

Arrived Dec. 8 in the evening. The staff was quick with check-in and gave us directions to our room and suggestions for nearby restaurants. Room was a good size and clean throughout. Nice tile floors, a coffee maker, microwave, refrigerator, tv and desk area. The hotel was still under renovation but the ongoing work did not interfere with our stay....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kim H
Jacksonville, Florida
Reviewed 19 December 2016

Was a bit hesitant when I booked the room based on some reviews but turned out I had nothing to worry about! Stayed the weekend of 12-16. Upon arrival asked if room they had us in was a renovated room. Turned out was not but had no problems changing to one that was. Young lady working front desk did let...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chantal M
Orlando, Florida
Reviewed 18 December 2016

I have stayed at this hotel, the room was super moldy, musty, the AC barely worked, the hotel was undergoing alot of renovations which usually means something good, but at the same time it was very bad and noisy. The location is good, the FDCs are super nice and professional, the hotel style is nice, the price is fine but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank me_voila02
Cape Coral, Florida
Reviewed 4 December 2016 via mobile

This motel remains under renovation. We had an old room but it was clean and comfortable for the two nights we needed it. Cable was cut so no TV the first night. They gave us a DVD to watch. The free breakfast was good. The facility was able to handle our group of over 150 people. I understand that the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kathyjeanrn

86 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (76)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (45)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint Augustine hotels
0.2 km away
Days Inn St Augustine/Historic Downtown
Days Inn St Augustine/Historic D...
#68 of 79 in Saint Augustine
859 reviews
0.4 km away
Howard Johnson Inn - Historic ST. Augustine FL
Howard Johnson Inn - Historic ST...
#55 of 79 in Saint Augustine
1,212 reviews
0.7 km away
BEST WESTERN Spanish Quarter Inn
BEST WESTERN Spanish Quarter Inn
#23 of 79 in Saint Augustine
661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Comfort Suites Downtown
Comfort Suites Downtown
#43 of 79 in Saint Augustine
394 reviews
0.2 km away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites St. Augustine/Historical District
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites St. A...
#26 of 79 in Saint Augustine
725 reviews
1.3 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, St. Augustine Downtown Historic District
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson,...
#39 of 79 in Saint Augustine
739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Magnuson Hotel Historic St. Augustine is located in scenic downtown St. Augustine, overlooking the beautiful San Sebastian River to the west. Leave your car and walk to area restaurants and shops, plus the town trolley and train stops are a 10 minute walk from the Magnuson Hotel Historic St. Augustine. You will be minutes from shopping at the Belz Outlet Mall, gator viewing at the Alligator Farm Zoological Park, and the fast paced world of racing at the Daytona International Speedway are all near the Magnuson Hotel Historic St. Augustine. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Magnuson Hotel Historic St. Augustine

Address: 1111 North Ponce de Leon Boulevard, Saint Augustine, FL 32084 (Formerly Quality Inn Historic)
Region: United States > Florida > Saint Augustine
Price Range: €96 - €226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Magnuson Hotel Historic St. Augustine 2*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Magnuson Hotel Historic St. Augustine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Historic Hotel Saint Augustine
Quality Inn Saint Augustine
Saint Augustine Quality Inn
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Magnuson Hotel Historic St. Augustine staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Falkirk, United Kingdom

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Magnuson Hotel Historic St. Augustine staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“we have stayed in the suite which was fantastic but also the regular room is cool too.”
 of 5 bubbles jackchazen, 12 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Rooms are quitter in front part of hotel”
 of 5 bubbles Lovelylady036, 10 Jan 2017 | Read review
“next to train, dingy, shady staff & location”
 of 5 bubbles CAcosta63, 3 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Ask for renovated room.”
 of 5 bubbles 111chantalm, 19 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Choose the front if you don't like the trains going by out back. Also, choose away from wherever the renovation is being done.”
 of 5 bubbles ga5150, 26 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5