We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Wyvern Hotel Punta Gorda

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Wyvern Hotel Punta Gorda
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

553 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 544: English reviews
Venice, Florida
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We stay at The Wyvern several times a year for little getaways so we can enjoy downtown PG. The rooms are clean and comfortable and the large bathrooms are amazing for a hotel at this price. Only complaint is that the last two visits the windows on the outside are filthy with like mildew which ruins the nice view of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank guggleplex
Saratoga Springs, New York
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

Hotel is very clean and staff is very friendly. Strange lighting switches in room! Convenient to downtown amenities. Bar and restaurant. Strangest thing is no continental or any complimentary breakfast other than coffee! With these prices you'd think they'd at least offer a platter of bagels and/or sweet rolls! Disappointing start to a tough day!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mark B
Summer H, Director of Sales at The Wyvern Hotel Punta Gorda, responded to this review

Dear Mark B, Thank you for your recent visit to our hotel. We appreciate the feedback and definitely take everything you say into consideration. Our guest rooms are all controlled by a Master Switch when you first enter the guest room, which helps with saving energy in each of the rooms. The Curve Restaurant does serve breakfast daily during the...

Venice, Florida
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We had a great experience with 8 of our close friends on the rooftop. We reserved a cabana for Valentines Day and it was great, we had a nice little corner of the deck, great tappas food and drinks and the best service ever. Special mention for our waitress DANA she was outstanding. We were also impressed with Harrison who...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Barb V
Summer H, Director of Sales at The Wyvern Hotel Punta Gorda, responded to this review

Dear Barb V, Thank you for your recent review of our Perch 360 and the Cabana experience. It's great to hear Dana, Mary Anne and Harrison took great care of you. We can't wait to have you back again soon. Sincerely, Summer Holman

Punta Gorda, Florida
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Had dinner with friends, served in a private cabana style enclosure. Comfortable and cozy along with perfect view of the sunset and city. Our server, Dana, was very pleasant and professional. This was a surprise Valentine gathering for our wives and Dana helped make it special. Food was great and reasonably priced. We would definately bo back again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank algon2017
Summer H, Director of Sales at The Wyvern Hotel Punta Gorda, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing to have Valentine's Dinner with us at Perch 360. We are glad to hear you and your wives enjoyed the evening. We also appreciate the kind words about Dana, so happy she took such great care of you during your visit. Sincerely, Summer Holman

Worcester, Massachusetts
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Over the years I have loved staying at the Wyvern. Wonder if they have new management because I had a different experience this time. Toiletries used to be so nice, now minimal. Drinks at rooftop bar very expensive and martini glasses less than half full. Asked for extra dressing for my salad because was served about an ounce. They charge...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tweety12342015
Summer H, Director of Sales at The Wyvern Hotel Punta Gorda, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your loyalty in staying with us over the years. We appreciate your feedback both good and bad and definitely take everything you have to say in consideration. We did recently upgrade our in room toiletries, and are sad to hear you did not enjoy them. We are open to having you speak with our General...

Sundridge, Canada
Reviewed 1 week ago NEWvia mobile

Had a fabulous evening with a great server Dana. She provided excellent service and she has a very positive attitude. The food was perfectly prepared and the portions satisfying. The whole experience with Dana was a 10. Thank you.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Patricia M
Summer H, Director of Sales at The Wyvern Hotel Punta Gorda, responded to this review

Dear Patricia M, Thank you for your kind words regarding your experience including your server Dana. We are very happy you enjoyed your evening and do hope to see you again in the near future. Sincerely, Summer Holman

Punta Gorda, Florida
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We had an awesome experience thanks to our server Dana. We were celebrating with friends in the cabana. It was a surprise organized by our husband's and Dana led us to our cabana not letting on that our husbands were waiting there. She was amazing. The drinks were brought in a timely fashion and the new menu was excellent!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank scgrant39
Summer H, Director of Sales at The Wyvern Hotel Punta Gorda, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing to spend your Valentine's evening with us. It's great to hear you had a wonderful evening and surprise. Thank you for your kind words about Dana, she is a great part of our staff! Regards, Summer Holman

Portland, Oregon
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This is my first review and I am enraged! Just left the Wyvern after a 10 day stay while I moved my 90 plus year old parents into an assisted living facility. Had many of the problems other reviewers have mentioned, mostly associated with uncaring and poorly trained staff. Then I read one review that mentioned a charge for incidentals...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Bill M
Summer H, Director of Sales at The Wyvern Hotel Punta Gorda, responded to this review

Dear Bill, Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us. I do apologize that you had complaints while staying with us, as this is not what we like to hear. We do charge a $50 a night incidental charge that is released at the end of your stay, but do believe our management staff took care of...

Vancouver, Washington
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

A simple request made at 6:30 a.m. in person to have room cleaned by noon was impossible for this ill run hotel to accomplish. Someone, however, did enter my room before noon and took the $2 that I left for housecleaning -- but left room unmade and untouched. I consider it THEFT, to enter the room, grab the money and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank llynnm
Summer H, Director of Sales at The Wyvern Hotel Punta Gorda, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Our apologies if we did not get to your room at the time you requested to be cleaned. We would love to speak with you in depth more about the situation if you could please contact the General Manager- Zack Oxley at 941-639-7700 or zoxley@hotelequities.com. Thank you, Summer Holman

milwaukee, wi
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

To say we were impressed with this hotel would be an understatement. This is a luxury hotel (as far as I'm concerned). The room was amazing, the pool on the roof was nice also. Wish we would have stayed there a couple more nights. We parked in back of the hotel which was well lit and seemed secure.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank prowler1
Summer H, Director of Sales at The Wyvern Hotel Punta Gorda, responded to this review

Dear Prowler1, Thank you for your amazing words about our hotel. We appreciate you staying with us and the great feedback. We hope to see you again in the near future so you can experience everything we have to offer. Sincerely, Summer Holman

196 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (165)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (40)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (28)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Other (57)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (31)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Punta Gorda
0.3 km away
Four Points By Sheraton Punta Gorda Harborside
0.4 km away
PG Waterfront Hotel & Suites
PG Waterfront Hotel & Suites
#3 of 7 in Punta Gorda
460 reviews
5.1 km away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Port Charlotte
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 km away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Port Charlotte
9.3 km away
Hampton Inn Port Charlotte / Punta Gorda
9.1 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Port Charlotte
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Conference Facilities
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The newest addition to the Punta Gorda area is simply breathtaking — The Wyvern Hotel is proud to welcome guests who appreciate luxury without pretense. Our 63 room boutique hotel is impeccably appointed with every comfort you could desire for an ideal getaway to this remarkable location on Southwest Florida’s Gulf Coast. Our meeting and event space is ideal for everything from romantic wedding receptions to corporate gatherings of all types, uniquely paired with our in-house LuLu Restaurant & Sky Bar. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Wyvern Hotel Punta Gorda

Address: 101 E Retta Esplanade, Punta Gorda, FL 33950-3637
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Punta Gorda
Price Range: €127 - €344 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Wyvern Hotel Punta Gorda 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Wyvern Hotel Punta Gorda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyvern Hotel Punta Gorda
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Wyvern Hotel Punta Gorda staff and other travellers.
13 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (13)

Questions? Get answers from The Wyvern Hotel Punta Gorda staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The top floor can be a bit loud at times from the roof, we like the 4th floor.”
 of 5 bubbles guggleplex, 17 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Rooms are nice, don't worry. 6th floor room had some evening noise from the pool bar area, but wasn't too loud.”
 of 5 bubbles prowler1, 1 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Harbor facing rooms may be quieter on weekends. 2nd floor rooms are pet-friendly.”
 of 5 bubbles DebOnTheRoad, 19 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Choose rooms on the north side, if possible.”
 of 5 bubbles KNOS128, 19 Jan 2017 | Read review
“rooms on the south side are quieter and have river view”
 of 5 bubbles trudyEdmonton, 10 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5