We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Wyvern Hotel Punta Gorda

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
The Wyvern Hotel Punta Gorda
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

539 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 530: English reviews
Peterborough, New Hampshire
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

What a great place to land after a long day of travel. The room was well thought out with little things like outlets where you want them, and room to set up the ironing board. The bathroom was huge with a spacious vanity, and everything was very clean. Yes, there is a restaurant across the parking lot that features live...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank DebOnTheRoad
Arvada, Colorado
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I stayed at the Wyvern for two nights in early January 2017. When I arrived, there were two wedding receptions going on and there was no parking available. I had to park across the street in a city boat trailer lot that must be empty by 5AM. Not the biggest deal, but I was tired and nearly fell asleep before...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank KNOS128
Milwaukee, WI
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

Room was clean, nice view of the water! Views from rooftop were lovely! Get a room on the highest floor, facing the water! Front desk were very helpful! Use the free bikes! Take a hike along the waterfront! Music every nite at hurricane Charlie

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank MissWisconsin
Hanover, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

I stayed at the hotel two weekends in a row, needed to be near the airport. Enjoyed the stay but there are a few things I didn't like during my stays. I could hear everything that was happening outside, hallways and other rooms. At one point I heard a persons flip flops in the hallway. Very thin walls. Also the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank koop717
ZackOxleyGM, General Manager at The Wyvern Hotel Punta Gorda, responded to this review

koop717, Thank you for letting us know how we are doing. I would like to apologize for the lack of comfort you experienced while in the room. The mattress pad has been changed to our typical, plush, quilted top. We have transitioned to these items and have received incredible feedback from our guests. We take a great deal of pride...

Boca Raton, Florida
Reviewed 1 week ago

Very nice surprise to find this hotel, it is clean and contemporary with nice large rooms and huge bathrooms. Bedding is good too. Good parking area and great restaurant with a short but diverse menu. View from top pool floor is fantastic. Very pleasant staff. Good coffee and newspaper station in the lobby during all morning.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gerry u
Cleveland, Georgia
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We always choose the Wyvern while in town for business. I read the reviews of others, and completely disagree about noise levels on city side versus bay side. We were in 401 and the noise from the bridge traffic is awful. Traffic speed changes, and have you hearing every truck and especially motorcycles all night. Don't even think about getting...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tbird42004
edmonton
Reviewed 1 week ago

Invite friends to join you at the recently renovated roof top dining at the Wyvern Hotel in Punta Gorda. The menu has been updated and the contemporary seating now includes spectacular tables with glass pebble fire pits to keep cozy. even on cooler nights. People can relax to good music and enjoy the no-smoking policy that keeps the air clear...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank trudyEdmonton
Zack O, General Manager at The Wyvern Hotel Punta Gorda, responded to this review

TrudyEdmonton, Thank you for letting us know how we are doing! We are thrilled with the way the launch of Perch 360 (rooftop restaurant) has gone. There has been tremendous response to the aesthetics, no-smoking policy, the food, craft cocktails, and expanded wine selection. We truly feel like we have everything we need to make us the best restaurant in...

Manasquan, New Jersey
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stayed just one night, having made the reservation earlier that day. The Sheraton was sold out so we tried the Wyvern instead. SO glad we did! The staff were so friendly and helpful. We were able to switch our room before we even left the desk when we learned that pets are allowed in second floor rooms (allergies!). We...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GoFishGirl
Zack O, General Manager at The Wyvern Hotel Punta Gorda, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the rave review! We take an immense amount of pride in providing our guests with clean, comfortable accommodations and enjoyable interactions with our team. I can personally attest to how much fun our staff has while working and it shows in the empathy, and overall warmth they provide our visitors. Please be sure to come...

Herminie (Pittsburgh), PA
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Shower was great. Lighting in bathroom is poor. Need better lighting around mirror. Bedding and pillows were comfortable, but the plastic mattress cover was horrible. Was very noisy and made for a hot sleeping experience. Consider different ones - please!!! Lighting on side parking lot is terribly needed as well as the corner of hotel on parking lot side. You...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gabbylander
Zack O, General Manager at The Wyvern Hotel Punta Gorda, responded to this review

gabbylander, Thank you for providing some feedback to us. We completely agree and that is why we have changed our restaurant hours! Moving forward there is food and beverage available from 11AM until the pool closes at 8PM. We are open at our rooftop restaurant (Perch 360) from 11AM until 11PM on weekdays (Food served until 9PM) and 11AM until...

Nashville, Tennessee
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This is a nice property. We thought bedding was comfortable and price was commensurate with the experience. The pool is cold and small so do not base your trip on that aspect. Good location and quiet.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tony M
Summer H, Director of Sales at The Wyvern Hotel Punta Gorda, responded to this review

Dear Tony M, Thank you for your recent comments on your stay with us. We appreciate the feedback and hope you had a wonderful time. I'm sorry to hear that you felt the Pool was cold, we have the pool heater set on 84 this time of year. However, we do hope to see you again in the near future!...

186 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (164)
Viewed
Bathroom (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (40)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (28)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Other (57)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Punta Gorda
0.3 km away
Four Points By Sheraton Punta Gorda Harborside
0.4 km away
PG Waterfront Hotel & Suites
PG Waterfront Hotel & Suites
#3 of 7 in Punta Gorda
455 reviews
5.1 km away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Port Charlotte
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 km away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Port Charlotte
9.3 km away
Hampton Inn Port Charlotte / Punta Gorda
9.1 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Port Charlotte
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Conference Facilities
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The newest addition to the Punta Gorda area is simply breathtaking — The Wyvern Hotel is proud to welcome guests who appreciate luxury without pretense. Our 63 room boutique hotel is impeccably appointed with every comfort you could desire for an ideal getaway to this remarkable location on Southwest Florida’s Gulf Coast. Our meeting and event space is ideal for everything from romantic wedding receptions to corporate gatherings of all types, uniquely paired with our in-house LuLu Restaurant & Sky Bar. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Wyvern Hotel Punta Gorda

Address: 101 E Retta Esplanade, Punta Gorda, FL 33950-3637
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Punta Gorda
Price Range: €125 - €314 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Wyvern Hotel Punta Gorda 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Wyvern Hotel Punta Gorda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyvern Hotel Punta Gorda
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Wyvern Hotel Punta Gorda staff and other travellers.
13 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (13)

Questions? Get answers from The Wyvern Hotel Punta Gorda staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Harbor facing rooms may be quieter on weekends. 2nd floor rooms are pet-friendly.”
 of 5 bubbles DebOnTheRoad, 19 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Choose rooms on the north side, if possible.”
 of 5 bubbles KNOS128, 19 Jan 2017 | Read review
“rooms on the south side are quieter and have river view”
 of 5 bubbles trudyEdmonton, 10 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Ask for one with harbor view.”
 of 5 bubbles gabbylander, 4 Jan 2017 | Read review
“facind the water and bridge or post office - anything away from the Mexican restaurant or tamiani trail”
 of 5 bubbles dzpups, 16 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay