We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Herlong Mansion Bed and Breakfast Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Micanopy
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Herlong Mansion Bed and Breakfast Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

245 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 243: English reviews
Start your review of Herlong Mansion Bed and Breakfast Inn
 Click to rate
Inverness, Florida
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was the second part of a birthday surprise that I found online when I asked what to do in Micanopy, FL. It is located right on the Main St. in a town that is the oldest community in FL that is not on the water. It has lots of old moss covered trees and a laid back atmosphere. If...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank glendaraw2014
Brooklyn, New York
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My family had the pleasure of staying at the Herlong over Christmas, visiting family in the area. On balance, I was impressed with beautiful home and lovely town. Being right in town was great, and the owner was delightful. We had the house nearly to ourselves, and rather than take a day off, she came to make sure we were...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Erik S
Chicopee, Massachusetts
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I stayed at this B&B recently for only one night (thankfully). While the actual house is lovely and the grounds are impressive from the outside, I was very disappointed at the apparent stinginess with which this B&B is run, as compared to the tens of B&B's I've stayed in the past across the county. Considered a "late checkin" at 5:30,...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Care2727
KiKiManhattan, Owner at Herlong Mansion Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this review

I am so terribly sorry you did not enjoy your little stay at the Herlong. I'm sorry you felt the cost was too expensive but I must tell you the rates have been the same for 20 years- and have not gone up at all. The $149.00 for your room with 2 double beds with clawfoot tub, shower private bathroom...

Atlanta
Reviewed 22 February 2017

While I would have liked a bigger and more varied breakfast the setting itself is wonderful. This is a big home, well decorated with well maintained grounds. Its in the middle of the small town of Micanopy so its a great basecamp for visits to close by state parks or the Majorie Rawlings home of Cross Creek or strolls around...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SkipJAtlanta
KiKiManhattan, Owner at Herlong Mansion Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for all the compliments- I am so flattered to hear you enjoyed the breakfast so much that you wanted more...and that you found the Decor and Grounds beautifully maintained and the Porch Splendid. We appreciate your letting us know that you found us attentive and helpful and we hope you will come again.

Hebron, Connecticut
Reviewed 9 February 2017

I stayed at the Herlong during a recent visit to the area looking at real estate. The Inn and grounds are beautiful and well-kept. My room was clean, comfortable, and very quiet. Breakfast was delicious and hearty and always included fresh fruit. Carolyn, the owner is a lovely woman and I enjoyed chatting with her over coffee. During my stay,...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank tbm228
KiKiManhattan, Owner at Herlong Mansion Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this review

What a delightful time I had meeting you...we had so much in common. Those tornado warnings can be pretty alarming but you're correct- the Herlong is about the Safest place I know, she is built like a Fortress. I love hearing that you enjoyed your breakfasts and your room was clean, quiet and comfortable. I certainly look forward to your...

Miramar, Florida
Reviewed 8 February 2017

The property was enchanting and the rooms were comfortable and clean. It was an unplanned stop which turned into a multi-night stay. Caroline was helpful and inviting especially as my friend was sick and needed medical attention. Route into Gainesville which lead to the Strand Medical Center - prompt and professional service.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank stephanieB6503IJ
KiKiManhattan, Owner at Herlong Mansion Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write such a positive review- it sure was Terrible one of you fell ill during your trip but I was only too happy to take care of you and I am pleased to hear everything turned out alright.

Reviewed 27 January 2017

It was rainy; the NFL playoffs were on tv; and my wife planned a short getaway to Micanopy. After a two hour drive, we arrived at this stately old house with huge Corinthian columns across the front porch. The arts and craft wood inside was warm and inviting. We were greeted at the covered side door by a friendly lady...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John M
KiKiManhattan, Owner at Herlong Mansion Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this review

I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay and that you found your Herlong Experience to be Friendly and Warm. Thank you for coming to visit us and we are glad you could watch your NFL Football on the flat screen TV in the Music Room. We hope you come again.

East Lansing, Michigan
Reviewed 18 January 2017 via mobile

My sister and I had an unplanned, last minute trip to Micanopy to help a family member. Carolyn at the Herlong got us set up with a wonderful room in no time. The place is magnificent, breakfast is delicious, and we were very well-taken care of. We've stayed here numerous times and plan to return again and again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Magsy B
KiKiManhattan, Owner at Herlong Mansion Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this review

I'm so happy everything worked out and I could accommodate you both for the three nights you needed. We enjoyed hosting you both and it was a particular pleasure having your mother visit for breakfast and Play Time With Pekoe...I know little Pekoe certainly enjoyed the attention. We look forward to your next visit as always. Thank you for taking...

Reviewed 25 December 2016 via mobile

I was so excited to stay at the Herlong Mansion with my mother and sisters earlier this month ~ but I was disappointed. The breakfasts (half of the B & B experience) we were served were just not good at all. I'm not a picky person ... but I couldn't eat the French toast because it was burned, dry &...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Debbie S
KiKiManhattan, Owner at Herlong Mansion Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this review

I'm so pleased to hear you enjoyed my hospitality but am very perplexed by your other statements. I have actually never been to a Flea Market and all our antiques are of fine quality and were most definitely not purchased at an 80's flea market. To my knowledge we have never burned our food and then served it - the...

Reviewed 6 November 2016 via mobile

My wife and I came here for our anniversary we were very pleased with the kind staff and the lovely scenery this historic Inn was once a mansion and now is a magical getaway we really enjoyed our experience and would absolutely recommend this to anyone else not recommended for small children as this is a historic site

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Samuel D
KiKiManhattan, Owner at Herlong Mansion Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing to celebrate your Anniversary with us at the Herlong- We so enjoyed meeting you two. I loved reading that you had a magical getaway and we hope you will come again. Thank you for your review.

161 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (92)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (25)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Other (50)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (69)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (6)
Viewed
Other (54)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Micanopy
14.3 km away
Wyndham Garden Gainesville
Wyndham Garden Gainesville
#25 of 45 in Gainesville
1,285 reviews
16.2 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gainesville
15.1 km away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Gainesville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.1 km away
WoodSpring Suites Gainesville I-75
13.7 km away
Howard Johnson Express Inn Gainesville FL
16.2 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Gainesville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Herlong Mansion Historic Inn and Gardens is an Award Winning Bed and Breakfast and a member of Small Elegant Hotels Worldwide. Surrounded by ancient Magnolia trees and Oaks dripping with Spanish moss this Old World setting offers a peaceful sanctuary along with the Wide Verandas with porch swings and old fashioned rocking chairs. Southern Style Breakfasts and Southern Hospitality at its friendliest. Complimentary refreshments available at all times with Wine and Cookies in the evening. AAA rating 3 Diamonds and 4 Diamonds for bedding and furnishings ... more   less 

Additional Information about Herlong Mansion Bed and Breakfast Inn

Address: 402 NE Cholokka Blvd, Micanopy, FL 32667-4107
Region: United States > Florida > Micanopy
Price Range: €73 - €165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Herlong Mansion b&b Inn
Herlong Mansion Hotel Micanopy
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Herlong Mansion Bed and Breakfast Inn staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Miami, Florida
Fort Lauderdale, Florida, United States

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Herlong Mansion Bed and Breakfast Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I had to pick a room that would sleep 3 of us, on the third floor but it was very quiet at night and the bedding was wonderfully comfy.”
glendaraw2014, 8 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Wisteria does not have windows--it's a lovely room, but if that sort of thing matters note it. Only room without windows, I think.”
BKnyES, 8 Apr 2017 | Read review
“All the rooms were charming and had so many different features. Inquire”
stephanieB6503IJ, 8 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Micanopy is a quaint small Southern town with more than its share of shops and restaurants”
johnmC6362DE, 27 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Facing the front of the Hotel towards the street best option.”
LarryandMaureen, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5