We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Ocean Blue Hostel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Ocean Blue Hostel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

277 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Ocean Blue Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 138: English reviews
Georgia
Reviewed 10 December 2013

The Deco Walk Hostel is directly across Ocean Drive from the beach-located SCOPE tent. At $50 per night, I expected it would be booked to the gills. It wasn't. I reserved a spot in a 6-bed all-women room, and only one other adult woman was there. It's been awhile since I stayed in a hostel, and this was my first...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Art_Prof_GA
Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Now I'm not sure if we were simply unlucky but it was one negative after another during our stay. We were a group of 4 girls travelling together but because our dates were sightly different we booked as two groups. Upon booking, our single booker called the hostel to explain our situation and ask if she could be put in...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Natasha S
Bowie, Maryland
Reviewed 19 November 2013

There was a crew installing lights in the ceiling when we got to the main reception area, it was also very crowded. We waited 30 min. to be checked in and it took f o r e v e r. A girl with glasses and different colored hair seemed to be doing “something” on her lap top, but didn’t look...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank boo2U
mikeo856, Manager at Ocean Blue Hostel, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to write this review. We're glad you enjoyed some of our great amenities. Safe travels!

Everywhere
Reviewed 19 November 2013

If you can ask for a bottom bunk, do it. It was a bit difficult to go back and forth on the top top bunk honestly. Bring a lock to lock up your purses or valuable belongings just incase. A lot of people from outside the US were here. I went to Miami solo and a lot of people my...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Chantel M
mikeo856, Manager at Ocean Blue Hostel, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to write this review. We're glad you enjoyed some of our great amenities. Safe travels!

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Overall, this hostel was good for our 2 day stay in miami beach.Great location - right across from the beach, smack dab on ocean drive. Dorms were clean, staff was friendly. Can't say much about the breakfasts because they had no cups left when I tried to get coffee and most of the food was done.I must say that with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jrsmile
mikeo856, Manager at Ocean Blue Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for the review and feedback. We hope to see you again soon. Safe travels!

Paris, France
Reviewed 14 October 2013

I have now stayed at this hostel twice during August and October, 2013. The location cannot be beaten, its right opposite the beach and just outside the hostel are bars, restaurants etc. Also very convenient to get to and from the airport by bus. The top deck/bar area is fantastic, the place is clean, and the staff very helpful. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank callmeshorty
mikeo856, Manager at Ocean Blue Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for the rating! We appreciate the feedback and thank you or taking the time to write it up! Safe travels!

Melbourne
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Being a first time solo female traveler, I was a little nervous but soon felt like home with friends at Deco Walk. The location is unbeatable (right across the road from the beach and next too places to eat and some very fun bars and clubs) and every single staff member is a pleasure to be around. The beds, common...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ash_2011
mikeo856, Manager at Ocean Blue Hostel, responded to this review

Hey thanks for the review! We appreciate you solo travelers and glad you had a great time - that's why we are here! Hope to see you back soon!

Lima, Peru
Reviewed 9 September 2013

a really cheap way to enjoy Miami, not the best backpacker around, but safe in all details. has a good location close to the main areas. just remember not to take alcohol into your room, staff will complain to you about it.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Danielmm15
mikeo856, Manager at Ocean Blue Hostel, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to submit a review. Hope to see you again soon. Safe travels!

UK
Reviewed 6 September 2013

I spent weeks counting down down the days to hitting up miami. I simply couldn't wait to get to deco walk, and yell from the rooftop lmfao's famous words. How lucky were we to find a hostel promising to have it all?! Ocean views, dinner and continental breakfast, rooftop parties... the fun never ends at deco walk. When we arrived...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank livlovesdecowalk
mikeo856, Manager at Ocean Blue Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for the 5 star rating! We really appreciate it. Glad to hear you had a blast! Hope to see you again soon.

Australia
Reviewed 5 September 2013

When looking to book a hostel in Miami, Deco Walk seemed like the obvious choice! Boasting Ocean front views and two meals included, for such a small price. How could we say no? After weeks of letting the excitement build we had very high expectations, and boy were they met! Our first night involved being led down through a lovely...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Alyssa I
mikeo856, Manager at Ocean Blue Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for the 5 star rating! We really appreciate it. Glad to hear you had a blast! Thanks for the compliments regarding our staff :)

143 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (107)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (22)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (52)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (36)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
0.0 km away
Hotel Breakwater South Beach
Hotel Breakwater South Beach
#93 of 205 in Miami Beach
1,603 reviews
0.1 km away
Pelican Hotel
Pelican Hotel
#28 of 205 in Miami Beach
1,102 reviews
0.1 km away
Room Mate Waldorf Towers
Room Mate Waldorf Towers
#48 of 205 in Miami Beach
983 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Avalon Hotel
Avalon Hotel
#91 of 205 in Miami Beach
811 reviews
0.4 km away
Leslie Hotel
Leslie Hotel
#36 of 205 in Miami Beach
488 reviews
0.2 km away
Posh South Beach Hostel
Posh South Beach Hostel
#1 of 82 in Miami Beach
517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Beachfront
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The only Oceanfront Hostel and Beach Club on Miami Beach & south beach, with a Rooftop Lounge with a bar where you can meet other travelers open until 4 am! complete with a TV, outdoor furniture, on a sun-bathing deck on ocean drive, where something Fun is always happening, If we were any closer to the beach, we would be in the ocean! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Ocean Blue Hostel

Address: 928 Ocean Dr, 2nd Floor, Miami Beach, FL 33139-5013 (Formerly Deco Walk Hostel | Beach Club)
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Price Range: €30 - €87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Ocean Blue Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Expedia and Orbitz so you can book your Ocean Blue Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deco Walk Miami Beach
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Ocean Blue Hostel staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Ocean Blue Hostel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Do not get a 12 bed room, opt for a room with fewer people. Also try get a room further back if you want quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles 48ryans, 25 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Room 9 was big!”
 of 5 bubbles 958karab, 4 Jan 2016 | Read review
“take a small room instead of the "factory" rooms of 12 beds”
 of 5 bubbles memsogan, 20 May 2015 | Read review
“beautiful view from your room, supportive staff”
 of 5 bubbles ran146, 7 May 2015 | Read review
“Las habitaciones que dicen ser de 6 son de 12 personas en realidad, con un solo baño. Ten cuidado!”
 of 5 bubbles Andreadukus, 20 Apr 2015 | Read review
5 of 5